We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chinese flavor in Kolkata”
Review of The Flying Monk - CLOSED

The Flying Monk
Cuisines: Chinese, Japanese, Thai
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
359 reviews
206 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 272 helpful votes
“Chinese flavor in Kolkata”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Just opposite the Casa Fortuna hotel, this place serves oriental cuisine. Tailored to the taste of locals and foreigners, their food is good with well maintained environment.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank tsashi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    14
    7
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 6 Contributor
205 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“A simple little Gem”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

It does not proclaim to be an exclusive Chinese restaurant, its south east asian cuisine with a bit of an interesting twist. Some people, and i think most, will appreciate the twist and few may not. But if taste and newness is what interests you, then you are bound to like this little gem, off AJC Bose Road in Kolkata. Just as I, along with my cousin and niece did.
The interiors are simplistic and in the evening the lighting makes it a warm and welcoming place.

We start with Har Gau - the prawn dimsums, tasty and interesting, followed by Crispy Duck rolls - all of us simply loved it! Its served with 2 different sauces (sweet chilli and hoisin) and i would recommend to have them with a bit of both.
We are not great eaters, so for the main course we simply ordered the Malaysian style pan fried fish (recommended by their staff) and Japanese garlic rice. Simply excellent!

For desserts we ordered the date and walnut cigar - interesting concept but nothing great, and Trio Cream Brulee - as to why they want to call it "cream" and not "creme" is a mystery, unless ofcourse its typo! Or may be its because of the Bailey's?! We loved the vanilla and coffee one, not so much the kahlua (may be those who like the liqueur would be more appreciative of it)

We enjoyed the food so much that we decided to pack some for the folks at home, who decided not to join us. And i must say they loved the fried rice and chicken dish that we packed and took for them.

The service was not top notch - they only have a handful of trained order takers but they serve you with smile and it sort of makes up for the times that you wanted their attention for something. Overall a great experience.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kent19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Quite expensive for the fare”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Four of us went for lunch . We never ordered anything exceptional and the fare came to over Rs.3000/-. Considering the ambience of the restaurant and the quality of food and service, it was definitely high

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Margie9954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Overate Chinese Place”
Reviewed July 26, 2013

This place is Over rated.

Food quality was also not very good in comparison to other Chinese eateries. Food portions are also very small and pricewise very high.

Much hype has been create about Flying Monk, but nothing great either foodwise or tastewise

Not worth

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank TripHipHop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata, India
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The Flying Monk”
Reviewed May 3, 2013

Had my first meal at this newly opened place. It professes Oriental cuisine, and must admit the experience was very satisfying. Tried the Peking Duck, Bhetki Fish wrapped in Lotus leaf, Sweet Corn Soup, a Prawn item and Chicken noodles. The Cinnamon, Irish Bailey and Kahlua triad dessert was the only disappointment in our selection. All items in the menu were also reasonably priced. We were pleased to have fround this new outlet in the city.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pradipsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Flying Monk also viewed

Kolkata (Calcutta), Kolkata District
Kolkata (Calcutta), Kolkata District
 
Kolkata (Calcutta), Kolkata District
Kolkata (Calcutta), Kolkata District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing