We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super buffet”
Review of Waterside Cafe

Waterside Cafe
Ranked #252 of 4,185 Restaurants in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Waterside Cafe is Kolkata’s favourite 24-hour cafe offering the best multi-cuisine buffets in Kolkata and bagging many awards like the Signature Telegraph food guide award or the Kingfisher Explocity Great food guide award! Signature Dishes Elaborate Buffets (international & national)- Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner and Special Sunday brunch AWARDS 2012-Times of India Food & Nightlife Award –Best All-Day Dining 2012-The Kingfisher Explocity Great Food Guide – Kolkata ; Waterside Cafe to be crowned as one of the city’s best restaurants and been awarded for a special dish. 2013 Signature Telegraph Food Guide Award- Award of Excellence for Coffee shops in the city- 2014 Times of India Food & Nightlife Award – Best 24 Hour Dining in Kolkata- Fine Dine- Waterside Cafe 2014 Zomato Users Choice Award –Sunday Brunch at Waterside Cafe 2016 Times Food & Nightlife Award – Best 24 hour dining
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Super buffet”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

One of the best Sunday brunches I have had anywhere in the world. Very international. Super mezzes, fantastic desserts. Helpful staff. super ambience. Recommended for a leisurely Sunday lunch.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kanad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    18
    10
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
175 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Great Buffet”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

One of the best buffet I have ever seen. Great options which vary from Indian to Italian to Chinese to continental.

The bakery is one of the best ones and is a must.

Do try this place if you visit Hyatt regency in kolkata.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank MananShamihoke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Lush, Plush, and Pleasant”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

I'm a farmer boy from out in the village. So, it isn't hard to impress me. I was impressed. Awed. I do travel a little, but don't get the chance to experience 5 star atmosphere. Upon a friends invitation, we met here for lunch. Ambience was good. The relaxed atmosphere was pleasant. The food, faultless. The staff, efficient, courteous, friendly, and not "clingy", nor overwhelmingly helpful. We enjoyed our meal, lingering over some of the best coffee I've had in awhile, and enjoyed a most relaxing couple hours over pleasant conversation, calming ambience.
Thanks for the refreshing experience!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KolkataPilgrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
75 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Weekend dinner with family”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Good ambiance as always. Service is also nice.

The spread is average to good..... not very imaginative or innovative.

Being at Kolkata, expecting a fish delicacy is natural, but that was not to be.

The desserts were nice except the crepe.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank smitra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata
Level Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Dining Experience is terrible in Hyatt Regency, Kolkata”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Kolkata is well known for its arts, culture & authenticity of mouthwatering food. Even some says Kolkata's foods are most authentic than the origin of the food.
Being enthusiastic and having good taste bud on June 23, 2013 I visited The Waterside Cafe of Hyatt Regency of Kolkata - a 5 star venture in Kolkata and the experience was terrible -
1. Food quality is not at per of Hyatt quality - many good Kolkata restaurant like Aaheli, Arsalan even some street food joint will give you best quality.
2. Food is neither mouth - watering even nor like home made. Nothing like Hyatt special.
3. Service is usual - very formal & straight no passion.
4. Finally, we will find better hygiene standard in some other low price restaurant as flies have free admittance in this place.

Being a travel professional I will not recommend this place to a 5 star or privileged guest.

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gautampodder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Waterside Cafe also viewed

Kolkata (Calcutta), Kolkata District
Kolkata (Calcutta), Kolkata District
 
Kolkata (Calcutta), Kolkata District
Kolkata (Calcutta), Kolkata District
 

Been to Waterside Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing