We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place”
Review of Veda

Veda
Ranked #1,862 of 4,184 Restaurants in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Cuisines: Chinese, Indian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Kapurthala, India
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good place”
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Can be visited with friends, group treat etc. A little expensive, however, the taste is good. The service is decent.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank AnaAggarwal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    22
    19
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Delhi
Level Contributor
69 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Strictly a 1 time visit place”
Reviewed January 22, 2013

So I heard of this place and that it had great decor so I went with my friend on a recent visit to Kolkata and I must tell you that I was strictly dissapointed.

The decor was nothing out of the ordinary. It was fancy but not an interior designer's dream. The food was good but honestly did not live up to the expectations that I had built up in my head and for a restaurant that has come up in the same place where Kolkata's one-time favourite Skyroom used to be - it surely did not do justice just to the place.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ceipl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
upminster
Level Contributor
71 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Good food and decor”
Reviewed January 18, 2013

Enjoyed this very popular restaurant in Park Street. Dd not book but they managed to find us a table. The food was good and the decor impressive.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Expensive but yummy !!!!”
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Generally, I don't prefer Indian food much but on insistence, thought of checking out this new place on the foodie area of Park Street. The first thing that strikes u instantly is the internal decor !!!! It has a Persian touch with huge mirrors and king-size single sofas...dimly lit, it creates a mystic ambiance which awes u...Thats the magic of Rohit Bal !!!! The staff dress, menu everything has a touch of what VEDA is and has to offer...

Though we had booked earlier, we were made to stand for 10-15 minutes...but the treatment once we had our place was good..the staff was gentle, had a good knowledge of the offerings and was gracious enough to guide for some signature dishes...But its PRICEY !!! But I felt, the standard of food is almost at par with the price and premium they command

But one word of advice: NEVER GO THERE WITHOUT A PRIOR BOOKING...else u will come out disappointed !!!!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank The_Mukherjees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
129 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Style v/s Food”
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Since long we had heard about this Indian fine-dining restaurant and finally we happen to go with our friends. Its situated in the heart of Park Street and conveniently located with provision of parking too. The first thing you notice while entering is the low-lighting or say lack of lighting. We even had problem spotting the reservation-in-charge. Anyways that's a mere thing. Veda is from the same people who have Tapas in their hands.

We inquired about the reservations and asked if we can reserve and then roam a bit and come back but they straight-away said no and said 'Its first come first serve basis.' That was a bit weird seeing their book of reservations already filling up. Then we headed upwards and wanted to sit in the plush leather sofas which they did not allow. One of them said it was for five while the other said it was reserved. Remember we were the very first ones to reach the restaurant so we should have been given what we wanted given what they said downstairs for the first come first serve basis. Anyways we did not wanted to create a brouhaha tough my wife really got angry. Seemed they are a bit possessive and stern with the seating and reservation thing. They do whatever they like and care a damn of what people want. So one advice. Do not compromise on the seating which you want.

Coming to the atmosphere. It was cool. As expected of Rohit Bal it was decorated like royal consisting mainly of amazing mirrors. Fantastic decor, wonderful setting. What was less was lights. They were actually less. Might be that is the thing for fine-dining but i always like a bit of more light. Anyways that is secondary. All in all it was really amazing. Mr Rohit Bal did his bit in a big way. Even the wash-room was cool.

Now coming to what Mr.Agarwal would have looked after. The menu. It was big. For the Indian dishes yes it was good and had lots of new dishes and things to eat. Menu had bits of everything and it was well set.

The food. The food we four would say was average and nothing was that great. Do not try anything of paneer as it was the artificial one or the old one (I am a paneer lover and freak). One thing which we liked most was the Tomato-dhania Shorba and we simply savored it. It was just what our taste-buds needed. Quantity in all dishes was average.

Service was good. People were in all ways courteous.

Prices of almost everything was not on the expensive side. But it becomes expensive after adding almost 30% of taxes.

Its a one time try just in order to sit and relax the atmosphere and get awe-struck with the decor.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank YogeshGoel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Veda also viewed

Kolkata (Calcutta), Kolkata District
Kolkata (Calcutta), Kolkata District
 
Kolkata (Calcutta), Kolkata District
Kolkata (Calcutta), Kolkata District
 

Been to Veda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing