We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My Secret Garden”

South Park Street Cemetery
Book In Advance
More Info
$432.00*
and up
Private Full-Day Kolkata Tour
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“My Secret Garden”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012 via mobile

Once you step into the gate of the cemetary you will be completely blown away. Its unlike any I have ever seen. Beautifully shaded and overgrown, it is a wonderful place to look back in time, relax, or just walk around. Its surprisingly quiet even on the bustling park street. One of my favorite places in Kolkata!

Helpful?
2 Thank natalie48734
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    221
    150
    34
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pulborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
233 reviews
98 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“very calming”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

I chose to go here as I had read up on it. It wasn't on my agenda initially but I am so glad I went here. I have never seen gravestones like these, truly amazing. My guide told me a story of one person and we found her grave, it was fantastic. The guy on the gate was very helpful and gracious. a truly brilliant place to see.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank jools011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
175 reviews
114 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“Peaceful, tranquil and full of history”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

Visiting a cemetery is not everyone's idea of fun while on holiday, but this is no ordinary cemetery. It is the final resting place of some of the pioneers of the British Empire, along with many more of their families, wives, children etc. The dangers posed to the health, and eventually the lives of these early British visitors by the tropical climate and various diseases and illnesses were very real indeed. As one walks around the peaceful well tended pathways under the canopy of ancient trees whose roots entwine the tombs and monuments, it is impossible to avoid feeling a sense of admiration for those who traveled far to the extremities of the Empire, either contributing to its creation, seeking an adventure, or simply to gain a better standard of living than their own village in Scotland or England could ever provide. Many died young, many died painfully, if not in battle, by some unknown tropical sickness. If the intention of the planners was to provide a permanently restful place for the dead, I suppose this has been a success, because it is a very peaceful place in a crowded city.

A simple guide book can be purchased at the entry which provides details of some of the tombs, and a brief intro to various colurful and important personalities buried here.
One mildly sour note though - the guard at the gate will in true 'babu' bureaucratic tradition ask you to enter your particulars in a battered little register in mind numbing detail. Does one really need to divulge all in order to enter a cemetery? A reminder that the British did not just leave their bones here, but some rather silly habits as well. A corner of a foreign field that is forever England, in more ways than one.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank worldtravelplus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
40 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Grandeur at its best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

One will be amazed to find a cemetery of this grandeur and magnitude in the heart of the city of Kolkata. The mere size of all the tombs just transforms to back to the 19th century, where you find the likes of Sir William Jones,Robert Kyd and many other great personalites of the gone by era laid to rest. It is a "Must See ", for all, whether local or a visitor to Kolkata.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank superduper123_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, Calif. USA
Level Contributor
60 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Escape the people and humanity of the city”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

A great place to sit and think about life and the struggles of the British living in Kolkata. A cool, quiet spot to pass some time. But bring mesquito repellant.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank steadicamdaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed South Park Street Cemetery also viewed

Kolkata (Calcutta), West Bengal
Kolkata (Calcutta), West Bengal
 
Kolkata (Calcutta), West Bengal
Kolkata (Calcutta), West Bengal
 

Been to South Park Street Cemetery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing