We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2 Tours, 2 Great Days”

Calcutta Photo Tours
Ranked #1 of 40 Tours in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Heritage, Cultural, Special Interest, Photography Tours.Explore Calcutta (Kolkata) like a local. Get under the skin of this awe-inspiring city. Learn and appreciate the heritage, culture & history even if you are not crazy about photography. And if photography makes you smile, THIS is the one to do! Calcutta's BEST special interest tour operator. Experience us to experience what all these wonderful people felt!
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“2 Tours, 2 Great Days”
Reviewed March 21, 2013

What is this metal pipe on the corner of the building? It is a canon from the 1800s. Why is it pointing out of the sidewalk? It was reused as a barrier to keep cars from hitting the building.

It's little facts like that that add flavor to any good walking tour of a city. This company provides those insights. The company's founder, Manjit Hoonjan, believes in the wonder of Calcutta, something that may be hard for foreigners to see through the obvious grit and grime. He has a commitment to sharing that wonder with his clients. Calcutta Photo Tours provides a way for foreigners to walk into corridors of the city that they might not feel comfortable straying into, and those walks come with stories that enlighten a traveler about the sights they are seeing.

The two tours I have taken -- each about 4 hours -- with this company were both excellent. I heartily recommend this to anyone visiting this city and seeking to know it better.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank StephenM22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

461 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    439
    16
    4
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Discover the hidden gems of this photogenic city”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Kolkata is just one of those cities where the pictures just sort of take themselves! So even if you are an armature photographer with nothing more than a simple point-and-shoot, you're bound to come away with not only some great photos to show your friends back home, but also a much better understanding of the city itself. You'll get a little bit of the history, a little bit of the culture, and most importantly a little bit of the flavors of Kolkata! The tour I went on does start a bit early in the morning for some people, but trust me -- that's a good thing! It not only makes for better photos due to the lighting, but also an easier tour with less crowds, and less heat! So crawl out of bed and jump on this opportunity!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank haveyouseenusla... d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“One does not simply walk into Kolkata...”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

...without Manjit Singh Hoonjan of Calcutta Photo Tours. :)

I've visited the city quite often over the years, and began exploring it in earnest about 10 years ago. There are those who know their corner of the Kolkata, and those who love Kolkata without knowing it. There are citizens of the city who bask in its historical glory, while others extoll the virtues of Kolkata as it (once again) comes of age. Manjit Singh Hoonjan loves every aspect of the city - old and new - enough to delve into the most minute of historical details, as well as to make friends with everyone along the tour's path.

You'll be guided through every part of Kolkata Manjit loves - all of it, in fact. You'll come away with an intimate peak into the city - and that's the only way to experience it. I highly recommend Calcutta Photo Tours!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank LynnGhoseCabrera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calcutta
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“TheatriCal. HistoriCal. AstronomiCal.”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Calcutta is a city of rare sights. With Manjit at the helm of the tour, it becomes a city of rare sites as well. In four hours, my entire concept of the city I reside in changed completely. Here is a man who is deeply passionate about the City of Joy, and that passion finds vivid expression in his planning of the photo tour.

The tours begin sharp on time at a pre-decided location. The journey happens on foot and we move from one locale to another, learning a little about the way of life as it is currently vis-a-vis how it used to be many, many years ago. With Manjit's detailed storytelling guiding the physical and mental journey, having a camera as well as a recorder is a good idea. He's extremely hands on, providing little tidbits of information and trivia on seemingly trivial matters, which somehow, become interwoven into the overall grand fabric of the experience. The fact that he guides the photographic angles, gives ideas and provides information about framing, lighting, aperture and white balance makes it a delight for both hobbyist photographers, professionals as well as rank amateurs who are acquainted only with the 'auto' mode.

The tours are highly personalized, accounting for walking strength, diet (yes, the lanes and bylanes are vegetarian friendly), safe (the people we met on the tour are friendly) and not on the oft trodden path.

To say it was refreshing would be a massive understatement. The entire Calcutta Photo Tours experience is something that I, as a longtime Calcuttan, will want to go for week after week after week.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Arkadeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calcutta, West Bengal, India
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Calcutta Walking tour with Manjit”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

His enthusiasm for the subject is amazing.. his knowledge of the places and intricacies is intriquing... the food stops are really good. He made me try stuff I would have never eaten otherwise and it was good. All the best on creating many more tours. A definite must do for tourists AND LOCALS!

I am a building buff... i.e. I stare at old buildings and marvel at them, but Manjit truly showed me some buildings I would have never known existed. Blast from the past! like being in a time machine.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank 11Sheetal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Calcutta Photo Tours also viewed

Kolkata (Calcutta), Kolkata District
Kolkata (Calcutta), Kolkata District
 
Kolkata (Calcutta), Kolkata District
Kolkata (Calcutta), Kolkata District
 

Been to Calcutta Photo Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing