We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For Tagore Bhaktas”

Jorasanko Thakur Bari
Certificate of Excellence
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
87 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“For Tagore Bhaktas”
Reviewed November 27, 2013

This place, the birth place of Rabindra Nath Tagore, is a MUST SEE for all Tagore Bhaktas. It may not be worthwhile for all, but for people who are aware of the great poet, should positively visit this place to augment their respect for Tagore.

This place is located at the northern part of Kolkata and can be reached from any corner of the city.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank SARBAJIT2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    67
    15
    5
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
West Bengal, India
Level Contributor
115 reviews
81 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Rabindranath Tagore's home”
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Much hyped because of the rich history of the place. However, the hospitality I got here was not so nice. The guards are rude. One time visited. If I got to take a friend to tour kolkata may be I won't bring him/her to this place as I would like to have my friend like kolkata rather than start to dislike it from the nascence.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank seeemoumita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
98 reviews
78 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 566 helpful votes
“Reminds history”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Thakur Bari is the birth place of Rabindrnath Tagore, the Nobel laureate. If you are a fan and follower of his poetry, paintings and other creations of the great man, you must visit this place in north Kolkata near Mahajati Sadan on CR Avenue. You can go back to time and feel the Tagore family is in there actually.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Abhijit G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“No honour for such a great man”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

I was very disappointed at Jorasanko House. My excitement suffered when I was told to hand in my camera, phone and shoes before I went into the building.

The rooms are bare, and the galleries with his and other paintings are incomplete with missing names of artists.

It is a beautiful property, but poorly kept and managed. There is no heart in the place. I could imagine the Tagore family, eating, drinking, reading, writing, cooking and the house filled with discussion, debate and laughter. I could imagine singing and poetry recital. But, there was no sense of this.

The outside is still beautiful. Such a pity.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Phooldevi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
53 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Cultural Immersion”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

If you are familiar with Bengali culture and the works of Nobel Laureate Rabindranath Tagore, then Thakur Bari is a "must see" during your time in Kolkata. Thakur Bari has been preserved meticulously. By seeing items of daily use, such as kitchen utensils and bedroom arrangements, you can feel a personal touch with the Renaissance era of Bengal. The displayed art work and photograph collections are simply invaluable; I marveled at one particular photograph of Einstein and Tagore. The museum is well-maintained and my overall impression was one of deep satisfaction when I left the premise, even though photography was not allowed inside the museum.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Traveler_Worldwide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jorasanko Thakur Bari also viewed

Kolkata (Calcutta), Kolkata District
Kolkata (Calcutta), Kolkata District
 
Kolkata (Calcutta), Kolkata District
Kolkata (Calcutta), Kolkata District
 

Been to Jorasanko Thakur Bari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing