We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid ... unless haggling is what you love in shopping”
Review of New Market

New Market
Book In Advance
More Info
$55.00*
and up
Morning Bazaar Walking Tour in Kolkata
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Pune, India
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Avoid ... unless haggling is what you love in shopping”
Reviewed May 4, 2013

I visited New Market after a long time ... last I visited was about 6 years ago. The market is still the same; old, narrow lanes, it was very humid and crowded, lots of vendors asking you to go visit their shops, lots of chaos. Also, to get a reasonable bargain, you need to be prepared to haggle. If this is not your cup of tea, stay away. I did not find practically anything that I could not potentially get in Pune / Mumbai (my home) shopping places.
Having said all this, my wife did enjoy shopping here. So I guess, the experience will vary based on your preferences and what satisfied you. We did get some good bargain in cotton clothes for our daughters.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank SameerSoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

567 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    228
    210
    95
    17
    17
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
89 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Very nice market”
Reviewed April 13, 2013

First of all its not an airconditioned market, so in the summers it can be very hot. One market where you can find all kinds of bargains. From awesum puffs and pastries at nauhamas bakery, which is in the market, to fruits and vegetables, to choclates and toys. Fabrics, dresses, sarees, things for kids, awesum junk jewellery at chamba lamba. Must visit in kolkata, quite close to park street.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank suruchisethia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Enough to make a T-Rex a vegan”
Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

Okay I went through early one morning after a walk and when the fish mangers were hustling. But amazing as it is there are various butchers of varying skill. My daily stroll - Goat entrails not far from headless chickens, two stalls down from skinned pig - yep, ii'd say stick to the afternoon bazaar. Not for the faint of stomach. Went back later and while the dead animals were all gone, the touts are a real pain. Can't shake them em no matter how fast you move -tours and goat gizzard.

Helpful?
1 Thank Jerome C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Numaligarh
Level Contributor
129 reviews
82 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Mainly for the middle class : There is bargain”
Reviewed January 20, 2013

New market is at the heart of Kolkata by the side of Jawaharlal Nehru Road and very near to Esplanede bus stop. Near by hotels are Oberoi Grand and Peerless Inn. Now the new market is extended also. The original building had some classic but the extended one is just RCC structure. There is bargain. The price of items is not at lowest. But there is heavy rush in the area. people eat, shop and make merry. While many people buy from the road side market itself many go for brand and go inside. Inside new market from flower to no veg items you can get. Small shops to big shops also you can get. It is famous. One should visit new market at least once. In tyhe near by Tantuz : Bengal Handloom clothes one can get hand loom items at reasonable rate. But be careful about the middleman . Donot go by them.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank zinia88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good place to shop”
Reviewed January 18, 2013

Good place for shopping. Best negotiators will gain the most as negotiating is must for getting best buy. People who are allergic to crowd may not enjoy this market as it is always crowded!!!!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 27muku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed New Market also viewed

Kolkata (Calcutta), Kolkata District
Kolkata (Calcutta), Kolkata District
 
Kolkata (Calcutta), Kolkata District
Kolkata (Calcutta), Kolkata District
 

Been to New Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing