We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful!”

Victoria Memorial Hall
Book In Advance
More Info
$71.25*
and up
Private Tour: Kolkata Sightseeing Including Mother House, University of...
More Info
$49.00*
and up
Private Tour: Full-Day Kolkata City Tour of Victoria Memorial, Howrah Bridge...
More Info
$432.00*
and up
Private Full-Day Kolkata Tour
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Beautiful!”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

In my brief visit to Kolkata recently, I didnt get to enter this place but clicked some pictures from the entrance. What a beauty!

You need 2-3 hrs to visit this place...but highly recommended if you are visiting Kolkata for a vacation.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Maleka131313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,320 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,665
    1,265
    320
    51
    19
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“The Pride of Kolkata”
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Victoria memorial is a must visit place if you are tourist to kolkata and like sight seeing. This is huge place and will take at least 2 to 3 hrs in roaming within the campus.A wonderfull monument to watch and you could find the British heritage in side the palace. The campus has good gardening and trees falling down the pathway. A great place to spend quality time with friends, family and romantic couples.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank CHAK_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Beware for high fees for foreigners”
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Going to Kolkata and reading some guides, we read that this was one of the main attractions of the region. We decided to take a cab to the center, and eventually ended up at the Victoria Memorial. Although the place looks quite nice (especially the surroundings) the museum did not really impress me. But it is a nice place to walk around and spend an afternoon.

Note that you do need to pay to go in, and we were charged a large multiple of the regular fee for Indians visiting this place regularly. So don't be surprised if this happens to you as well.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Thijs L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good But Not The Best”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

The attraction was great and knowledgeable but one thing kept pricking me which was that all college or university students, sat in the garden and were making out.I had gone to visit this place with my family so I felt awkward when I saw that a couple covered their area with a mewspaper and were making out. Anyway, the inside museum was really good.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SayoniR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“Best place to visit..”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Best place to visit and enjoy your time in Kolkata with nature as well as with Historical Background..

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank soumenkarbnk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Victoria Memorial Hall also viewed

Kolkata (Calcutta), Kolkata District
Kolkata (Calcutta), Kolkata District
 
Kolkata (Calcutta), Kolkata District
Kolkata (Calcutta), Kolkata District
 

Been to Victoria Memorial Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing