We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, very comfortable”
Review of The Peerless Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Peerless Inn
Ranked #28 of 251 Hotels in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Reviewed November 28, 2010

We had a great stay at the Peerless in Kolkota. This is a great place to stay for a retreat from the hustle and bustle of the city. The rooms are clean, and have an in-room safe. The beds are soft, and they give you chocolates and fruit on arrival. Staff is very accomodating... By North American standards, the gym is very sparse.

The breakfast is quite amazing - fruit, yogurt, cereal, fresh bread, and various other Indain breakfast items. Oceanic Restaurant is quite delicious, but expensive, as is Ego Restaurant.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lizardo23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (743)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

636 - 642 of 743 reviews

Reviewed November 25, 2010

very nice hotel very clean. its in the central kolkata nearest metro station is esplanede. new market is behind it. it is surrounded by many historic places. edenn garden , victoria memorial , indian museum, british camera studioo, tipu masjid, gocerner house, gpo first post office is very near to it. from howrah almost every bus is comming to esplanade. so s no diffculties in in reaching .buses jnnurm ac buses are running from airport to esplanade non ac bus es r there also. the main thing is its location is gr8.the room service was out standing . the food is bengolii type. the staff are very good. all of the above my experience with the hotel is gr8

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chandan0076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2010

I stayed at Peerless Inn for 9 nights and was pretty satisfied with my stay. It is very close to the market and sights. There are always taxis available. It was a short drive to sites such as Victoria Memorial, Mother House, Maidan and walking distance to Park Street and the Indian Museum. The Bengali Restaurant is supposed to be the best of its kind. I love that they supply 2 bottles of water (1.5 liters) daily. For the negatives, I didn’t enjoy the breakfast buffet (not their fault – I am a meat-eater and they serve only chicken sausages and chicken salami – which I respect). Also, I found it odd that they charged for coffee and tea (minimal at 10 Rupees). Wi-fi was expensive at 2000 Rps for 24 hours. I was also irritated when a housekeeping staff rang my doorbell twice when I had a do not disturb sign. He was just going to ask if there was anything to clear. I thought that was not worth bothering me for. I complained, and the following day, I received a bouquet of pink roses from the housekeeping manager.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank temaie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2010

Convenient location, nice rooms, friendly and helpful staff.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arvidc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2010

I booked the room through the website which takes you through the Sarovar Hotels website. The rates you get through the online booking are about 55% less from the rack rates. The upgrade option to upgrade from a Superior Room to a Suite is something you should not miss out on once at the hotel. The Suite has windows opening towards the Esplanade and also gives you views of the Vijay Stambh (very fascinating at night when lighted up), the Vidyasagar Setu and the Victoria Memorial. The upgrade costs just Rs. 2000 per night and is really worth paying the price. The buffet breakfast is fantastic with a great spread for vegetarians too! Check in and check out is hassle free and there are no issues on pricing on the counter because of online bookings. The Esplanade Metro station is a 2 minute walk and Taxis are always available from the Hotel door. All in all a value proposition.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sanjay K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2010

I just want to warn fellow travelers not to expect any kind of service from the concierge/check-in staff. Have not had a worse service in my entire life. Staff at check-in was so incompetent, that they have not been able to circle the hotel in the map! We requested non smoking room. First room we got was the smoking room and was leaking from the ceiling, so carpet in the hallway was soaked. When we complained they moved us to another, AGAIN smoking room. After 2 hours we finally were moved to an appropriate room.The internet situation has NOT been improved for 3 years (review from 2007 had a same problem as I did in 2010), so NO internet in the rooms. Although rooms were decent, breakfast was very good as well as dinner food, it was highly frustrating to deal with completely useless staff on the daily bases. When we complained to the managers, both of them were just nodding their heads, no appologies, nothing, they just could not care less. Just not professional running of the hotel. Its a joke for the price.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jelena81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2010

Stayed at the hotel for 4 days with my family. Overall the stay was comfortable as they upgraded me to a suite. However, i was surprised to see carpets in the rooms. In today's times, carpets are a strict no no. Sometimes, the Hotel house keeping has to be reminded to keep tea/coffee sachets in the room. No complaints but they could be more prompt.
Aheli restaurant was good and the ambience and the attire of staff admirable. But again, an expensive place. Perphaps, because Bengali cuisine is not that common and as well known as Punjabi or south Indian, hence the exclusivity factor.
Nothing great about buffet breakfast at Oceanic. Though the display items are many, yet the taste is not there. Perhaps the south indian cook needs to deliver better. Normal fare of omlettes/egg fried, dosas, kidney beans etc. Fruits were not always fresh.
But again, the ambience is good.
Reception staff was good and the restaturant waiters were all very helpful.
Overall a good stay, heavy on the pocket. Of cousre, i will stay there again, if i visit Kolkata.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rajiv_Phantom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kolkata (Calcutta) hotels
0.4 mi away
The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata
The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata
#1 of 251 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
2,318 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sapphire Suites
Sapphire Suites
#66 of 251 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
192 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Park Kolkata
The Park Kolkata
#17 of 251 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
2,060 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata
Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata
#18 of 251 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
615 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Lindsay
The Lindsay
#46 of 251 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
293 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Oberoi Grand
The Oberoi Grand
#3 of 251 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
2,260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Peerless Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peerless Inn

Address: 12 J L Nehru Road, Kolkata (Calcutta) 700013, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > West Bengal > Kolkata District > Kolkata (Calcutta)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Luxury Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Price Range: $86 - $170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Peerless Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 168 rooms and suites at The Peerless Inn hotel in Kolkata are spacious and come in five categories to meet the needs of various travellers and each category is unique in design and luxuriously appointed. The excellent services and facilities live up to the expectations of its brand name. State-of-the-art business facilities and conference rooms effortlessly meet any business or social occasion of any scale. Dining options are interesting and entertaining and include an authentic Bengali cuisine restaurant. A health club and great in-room amenities provide the much required post work respite. Central location at Chowringhee Savour authentic Bengali cuisine at Aaheli Efficient business facilities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Peerless Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peerless Inn Kolkata
The Peerless Inn India/Kolkata (Calcutta), Asia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing