We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very good hotel,awesome food.”
Review of The Peerless Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Peerless Inn
Ranked #15 of 224 Hotels in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Reviewed April 1, 2014

The hotel is located in the most commercial area of Kolkata, just beside Grand. Although not as grand as Grand, the hotel definitely is one of the best in Kokata. The rooms and service quality is fine. The food, especially, the breafast they serve is definitely not to be missed. Aahilia is the best out of all the restaurants inside the hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roy_sau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPIK, General Manager at The Peerless Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2014

Thank you for posting your review of The Peerless Inn, Kolkata. We are glad that you enjoyed a comfortable stay.

We much appreciate your valuable feedback on our hotel facilities and services, and hope to serve you again soon.

Yours sincerely,

Subhomoy De
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (777)
There are newer reviews for The Peerless Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

470 - 476 of 777 reviews

Reviewed March 21, 2014

Located at heart of the city ,at Esplaned Kolkata. this hotel is good.Offers buffet breakfast, staff are very friendly. Food at their Aheli restaurant serves authentic Bengali cuisine and really excellent, particularly Ilish machher paturi anf Dhokar dalna.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pkmahata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPIK, General Manager at The Peerless Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2014

Thank you for your positive comments. We are glad that the team made your stay comfortable. Your encouraging comments will help us do better.

We look forward to welcome you back soon.


Yours sincerely,

Subhomoy De
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2014

Copy of e-mail to the Customer services manager dated 25th February that still remains unanswered.

On the 22nd February, my wife and I travelled from Assam to Kolkata.

At the airport, I booked a prepaid taxi to travel to the New Kenilworth Hotel where I had a booking arranged through booking.com. I checked the pre-paid taxi form and it did show that we were due to travel to the Kenilworth Hotel and I told the taxi driver to take us there.

For some reason best known to the driver he took us to your establishment. At the reception, I presented my booking.com reservation to your staff who could obviously see the I had no reservation at your hotel but instead of telling me so, he proceeded to book me into your hotel. I must say I now feel a sense of betrayal and a lack of professional attitude by your staff.

Later on I questioned the name of the hotel and that your In-house magazine indicated this hotel to be part of the Sarovar group. I was told that indeed the hotel was now part of this group.

It was only when I checked out, a new member of staff at the reception finally told me that I was not at the Kenilworth Hotel. When I challenged why I was not told that I was at the wrong hotel, the original member of staff told me that he had found no booking for me and instead of telling me so just checked us in. I noted that the room rate charged was exactly as on my reservation confirmation with Kenilworth although on the web your charge rate is less. I was also given false
assurance that there will be no charge made by booking.com although I knew that they would be within their right to do so.

I am happy to note here that after receiving a copy of the above e-mail, The New Kenilworth Hotel and Booking.com acted above the call of their duty and wrote off the cancellation fee. A lesson that the Sarovar group should take on board and teach their staff how to treat customers.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Waltonian4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2014

Located at heart of the city , this hotel is good but slightly expensive. Needs maintenance.Offers buffet breakfast, staff are very friendly. Food at their Aheli restaurant serves authentic Bengali cuisine but expensive. I visited there during rainy season and they were serving special Khichuri. The veg Khichuri was for Rs.800/- served along with beguni (brinjal pakoda) and aloo bhaja (crispy potato fries).

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ranreev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPIK, General Manager at The Peerless Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2014

Thank you for posting your review of The Peerless Inn, Kolkata We are glad that you enjoyed a comfortable stay.

We much appreciate your valuable feedback on our hotel facilities and services, and hope to serve you again soon.

Yours sincerely,

Subhomoy De
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2014

I had been staying at this hotel on a business trip to Kolkata. The only good thing of the hotel was the location. The Bed was not comfortable. The toiletories in the bathroom were near not there at all. Also the main thing that other than the room charges, everything was very very costly be it food or anything. No extra Sealed bottled water in the room, if wanted then chargeable and charges costlier than a 5 star hotel. In total no value for money.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ashwanikx36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPIK, General Manager at The Peerless Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2014

Thank you, for your recent stay at The Peerless Inn, Kolkata and for your valuable feedback on Tripadvisor.

We have noted the concerns that you have highlighted and are working towards improving the same.

We look forward to welcoming you back at The Peerless Inn, Kolkata

Yours sincerely,

Subhomoy De
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2014

Stayed in this property in January 2014, had a wonderful experience .. the rooms were good and the service quality was excellent. Wi-Fi facilty works good and more over the ambience is wonderful ... the buffet in the restaurant was good and was customized to an extent to suit our requirements ... good place for business meetings and located conveniently ... while I was there construction and renovation was being done ... but in no way it affected the quality of our stay ... i am sure once the renovation work is done .. it will be a great place for all travellers.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Abhimanyu1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPIK, General Manager at The Peerless Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2014

Thank you for posting your review of The Peerless Inn, Kolkata. We are glad that you enjoyed a comfortable stay.

We much appreciate your valuable feedback on our hotel facilities and services, and hope to serve you again soon.

Yours sincerely,

Subhomoy De
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014

I stayed in Jan 22nd & 23rd two nights. One of my fav. hotel as I started my career here. Rooms require renovation badly so the bathrooms. There was problem with A.C too.Warmth was missing in Front Office..Food can be improved.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ray2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPIK, General Manager at The Peerless Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2014

Thank you, for your recent stay at The Peerless Inn, Kolkata and for your valuable feedback on Tripadvisor.

We have noted the concerns that you have highlighted regarding Front Office, food and are working towards improving the same.

We look forward to welcoming you back at The Peerless Inn, Kolkata

Yours sincerely,

Subhomoy De
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kolkata (Calcutta) hotels
0.4 mi away
The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata
The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata
#1 of 224 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
1,668 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Park Kolkata
The Park Kolkata
#14 of 224 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
1,938 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Oberoi Grand
The Oberoi Grand
#2 of 224 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
2,109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sapphire Suites
Sapphire Suites
#54 of 224 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
186 reviews
1.2 mi away
Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata
Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata
#19 of 224 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
583 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Hindusthan International Kolkata
Hotel Hindusthan International K...
#38 of 224 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Peerless Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peerless Inn

Address: 12 J L Nehru Road, Kolkata (Calcutta) 700013, India
Location: India > West Bengal > Kolkata District > Kolkata (Calcutta)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Price Range: $70 - $148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Peerless Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 168 rooms and suites at The Peerless Inn hotel in Kolkata are spacious and come in five categories to meet the needs of various travellers and each category is unique in design and luxuriously appointed. The excellent services and facilities live up to the expectations of its brand name. State-of-the-art business facilities and conference rooms effortlessly meet any business or social occasion of any scale. Dining options are interesting and entertaining and include an authentic Bengali cuisine restaurant. A health club and great in-room amenities provide the much required post work respite. Central location at Chowringhee Savour authentic Bengali cuisine at Aaheli Efficient business facilities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Peerless Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peerless Inn Kolkata
The Peerless Inn India/Kolkata (Calcutta), Asia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing