We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peerless, Kolkata”
Review of The Peerless Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Peerless Inn
Ranked #15 of 224 Hotels in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Reviewed December 31, 2013

The hotel is not justify its tariff. Even breakfast is quite least spread. The Peerless Inn Kolkata is part of the leading multi brand hotel management company Sarovar Hotels Resorts , this 4 Star hotel is conveniently located close to both shopping and business areas of the city on Chowringhee Lane. Housing a total of 95 rooms, this place also offers a multi-gym. Some fine dining options include Aheli, for Bengali cuisine and Bichitra for multi-cuisine. To relax and unwind, there is Nishidin, 24 hrs coffee shop and Lahari Bar for cocktails and fresh fruit concoctions.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ekhan120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (775)
There are newer reviews for The Peerless Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

480 - 486 of 775 reviews

Reviewed December 30, 2013

Very comfortable Stay, The place had well connectivity. The staff was polite. I had booked this hotel through Cleartrip, never expected that this would be such a delight. I highly recommend this place.



  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
Thank KapilKDK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPIK, General Manager at The Peerless Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2014

Thank you for your positive comments. We are glad that the team made your stay comfortable. Your encouraging comments will help us do better.

We look forward to welcome you back soon.


Yours sincerely,

Subhomoy De
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

The condition of suite is quite dismal. Average amenties. Stayed for three nights in mid-November 2013. All FIRST-TIMER's; don't expect it be anywhere near 2/3 Star hotels of South East Asia (Thailand, Singapore, Malaysia, Indonesia, Vietnam)

Good location. Decent staff. Great breakfast buffet spread.

I took a 3-night package; which included complimentary pick-up AND drop-off to Airport (as per my itinerary).
I got the free PICK UP. But the front desk didn't provide me DROP-OFF. Quite un-professional in that way (as the staff cannot even check the confirmed itineraries of guests).

Overall - Average experience.

Room Tip: Make sure you confirm the itinerary (on pick up and dropp off) before arrival.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Panna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPIK, General Manager at The Peerless Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2014

Thank you for your valuable feedback. We have taken a note of your comments and will address and rectify the issues highlighted.

We hope to be of service to you again in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Subhomoy De
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

This is one of the best hotels available in Heart of kolkata city.
Close proximity to Victoria makes it unavoidable.
Nice to Rome around after work hours when on business trips.
As always sarovar hospitality is Good

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hemantpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPIK, General Manager at The Peerless Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2014

Thank you for posting your review of The Peerless Inn, Kolkata. We are glad that you enjoyed a comfortable stay.

We much appreciate your valuable feedback on our hotel facilities and services, and hope to serve you again soon.

Yours sincerely,

Subhomoy De
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013

A decade ago Peerless Inn was the place to go for Bengali cuisine in Calcutta, now we have many smaller restaurants that specialize for the Bengali at heart. Anyway this feeling (of being Bengali) led me to have 2 of my wedding parties here (Aheli restaurant) which all of us enjoyed.

Now fast forward to 2013, and we are visiting Kolkata for Durga Puja, it was time to break from pujo (pandal) hopping, so we decided to stop at the coffee shop (ocean theme). The place looked deserted but the guards at the entrance assured us that it was fine for us to step in, and we were escorted to the coffee shop.

Most of the employees were sleeping, but some of them jumped to their feet to attend to us, while others decided to continue snoring (loud). So with the "background music" going on, 6 hungry Bengalis asked for the menu, and for some strange reason it never showed, which will become clear later.

We verbally ordered sandwiches, fries and fish fingers as at that hour nothing Bengali was available, and to our utmost surprise there was no coffee, as nobody there knew how to operate the machine. It took ages before our food arrived. The fried items seemed stale and re-fried in old fish oil.

We summoned the chef but he seemed to think that we were a bother at this late (or early) an hour. Then the surprise, we ended up paying close to $80 USD for this horrible food/experience. In USA I can eat for cheaper and better taste, no wonder we never got to see the menu.

I was trying to guess why the bill was this high under the guise of a higher star hotel, and I realized they employed more than needed employees, most were doing nothing and were just wandering around or sleeping.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank arijitda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPIK, General Manager at The Peerless Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2014

I am personally dismayed to know of the incidents which affected your visit to The Peerless Inn, Kolkata.

We will certainly take necessary corrective measures and we will do our best to delight you, should you give us the opportunity in future.

We look forward to welcoming you back at The Peerless Inn, Kolkata

Yours sincerely,

Subhomoy De
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2013

This is a very comfortable hotel right in the middle of down-town Kolkata - close to the New Market. The rooms are quiet, large and clean. The restaurant offers a really good buffet breakfast and dinner. They are not good on drinks and internet services. We were 'stung' by gin and tonic for Rs1,000! WiFi is offered with lots of passwords suggested but none worked during our 3-day stay.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tav_mind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPIK, General Manager at The Peerless Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2014

My team and I are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at The Peerless Inn, Kolkata

Thank you for your valuable feedback. We have taken a note of your comments regarding the internet access and will address and rectify the issues highlighted.

We hope to be of service to you again in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Subhomoy De
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2013

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gaurab B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
GMPIK, General Manager at The Peerless Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kolkata (Calcutta) hotels
0.4 mi away
The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata
The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata
#1 of 224 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
1,659 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Park Kolkata
The Park Kolkata
#14 of 224 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
1,937 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Oberoi Grand
The Oberoi Grand
#2 of 224 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
2,108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sapphire Suites
Sapphire Suites
#53 of 224 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
186 reviews
1.2 mi away
Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata
Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata
#16 of 224 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
583 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Hindusthan International Kolkata
Hotel Hindusthan International K...
#38 of 224 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Peerless Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peerless Inn

Address: 12 J L Nehru Road, Kolkata (Calcutta) 700013, India
Location: India > West Bengal > Kolkata District > Kolkata (Calcutta)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Price Range: $71 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Peerless Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 168 rooms and suites at The Peerless Inn hotel in Kolkata are spacious and come in five categories to meet the needs of various travellers and each category is unique in design and luxuriously appointed. The excellent services and facilities live up to the expectations of its brand name. State-of-the-art business facilities and conference rooms effortlessly meet any business or social occasion of any scale. Dining options are interesting and entertaining and include an authentic Bengali cuisine restaurant. A health club and great in-room amenities provide the much required post work respite. Central location at Chowringhee Savour authentic Bengali cuisine at Aaheli Efficient business facilities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your The Peerless Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peerless Inn Kolkata
The Peerless Inn India/Kolkata (Calcutta), Asia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing