We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideally located ”
Review of The Peerless Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Peerless Inn
Ranked #22 of 221 Hotels in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Ideally located ”
Reviewed November 13, 2013 via mobile

I wanted to stay in the heart of city and this hotel was ideal choice. Was recommended to me by my colleague and it was worth it. Everything was just a stone throw away.... Metro station to taxi stand to local markets to hotel. Will stay here whenever next I come there.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ashraf M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPIK, General Manager at The Peerless Inn, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your positive comments. We are glad that the team made your stay comfortable at The Peerless Inn, Kolkata.

Your encouraging comments will help us do better.

We look forward to welcome you back soon.


Yours sincerely,

Subhomoy De

General Manager
gmpik@sarovarhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

715 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    301
    133
    50
    45
See reviews for
117
81
69
393
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manipal, India
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2013

Hotel is in the heart of New Market area. Its really a city of Joy if you are in the Peerless Inn. Rooms are very good equipped with modern equipments. Food is good to relish . Breakfast spread was awesome. Fitness center is again very neat and clean and has all modern equipments. Service staff is very friendly.

More than anything, the New Market where you can hav fun and frolic is just in the next compound.

Room Tip: Always ask for a Club class room to enjoy your trip.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nagesh K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPIK, General Manager at The Peerless Inn, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your positive comments. We are glad that the team made your stay comfortable at The Peerless Inn, Kolkata.

Your encouraging comments will help us do better.

We look forward to welcome you back soon.


Yours sincerely,

Subhomoy De

General Manager
gmpik@sarovarhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2013

I had a stay of three nights. Room was very nice and clean. I had a problem with wi fi signal in the room allotted to me, but the room was immediately changed when I informed front desk.Food is excellent with a large variety. An exclusive restaurant for the finest seafood.
Staff very courteous and helpful.
Good location near the business centre of Kolkata

Room Tip: if you intend to use Wi Fi extensively, check that it is working in your room. Wi Fi signal is very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ambehl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPIK, General Manager at The Peerless Inn, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

My team and I are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at The Peerless Inn, Kolkata.

Thank you for your valuable feedback. We have taken a note of your comments regarding the internet access. We will address and rectify the issue.

We hope to be of service to you again in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Subhomoy De

General Manager
gmpik@sarovarhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, B.C., Canada
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013

This hotel is a good choice if you want reliably clean and comfortable accommodation, with a full range of services, but without the price tag of a high-end hotel. I spent two nights and was upgraded to a suite (without requesting it). Then took a two-day trip to the Sunderbans and returned to spend three more nights at Peerless, this time in a standard room. The room was fine, hot water seemingly unlimited, staff attentive - and there was free WiFi and a flat-screen TV with international English-language news channels. The hotel has two restaurants, one specializing in Bengali food – excellent. I’d stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPIK, General Manager at The Peerless Inn, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your positive comments. We are glad that the team made your stay comfortable. Your encouraging comments will help us do better.

We look forward to welcome you back soon.

Yours sincerely,

Subhomoy De
General Manager
gmpik@sarovarhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aizawl, India
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Checked in a little late as my flight was delayed and check in was smooth and staffs were very polite. Room was nice and clean. View from the room looking down at the streets was lovely. The buffet BB was nice with a lot to choose from. I dug the S Indian food. Location was simply just wonderful and nice.Airport can be reached in less than an hour in the morning. Room service and house keeping is good. Try it.

Room Tip: Corner room is preffered looking down at Chowringee Street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Khiangte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPIK, General Manager at The Peerless Inn, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for posting your review of The Peerless Inn, Kolkata. We are glad that you enjoyed a comfortable stay.

We much appreciate your valuable feedback on our hotel facilities and services, and hope to serve you again soon.

Yours sincerely,

Subhomoy De
General Manager
gmpik@sarovarhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level 6 Contributor
183 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013

Mine was a short stay for a few hours, and was quite disappointing.
When I used to stay in Kolkata, had visited the restaurants quite often, and experience was good, but my first stay here was completely different.
I checked in at 10 PM, and checked out at 5 AM the next day, and my only real requirement was WI-FI, which, after innumerable follow-ups, the hotel failed to provide. The staff who were there, were probably not competent to address the issue, and I was quite taken aback.
The bed and stay was comfortable, but that would be the basic that you would expect from a hotel, what probably matters would be the differentiators, which would make your experience memorable, and this hotel failed in that aspect.
From a location perspective, it is good, in the heart of the city, and the business travelers will find it useful, but another concern is the parking – its practically non-existent. Overall, not the highly recommended one, you may find better hotels in Kolkata at this price point.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SMITRA_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPIK, General Manager at The Peerless Inn, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your feedback of your recent stay with us at The Peerless Inn, Kolkata.

I am disheartened to note your unsatisfactory experience of Internet Wifi Services. Please be assured that the same has been shared with the concerned team and the department head for corrective measures and improvement.

I once again apologize for the inconvenience caused to you.

We look forward to your continued support and patronage to The Peerless Inn, KOlkata.

Yours sincerely,

Subhomoy De
General Manager
gmpik@sarovarhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

This hotel is on the Esplanade - perfect location for New Market, Park Street, Victoria memorial and Eden Garden.

An older property but well maintained, this hotel has 2 very good restaurants. Oceanic is a multi-cuisine restaurant and Aheli is a well reputed Bengali restaurant with great ambiance and food. Service at both is excellent. Prices at Aheli are a little high although there are may other options nearby and on Park Street.

Esplanade metro station is just outside the hotel and a good option to avoid the traffic snarls in the city. Just be careful with your wallet on the metro!

Ask for a room facing away from the main street (Esplanade) if you're a light sleeper - the bus depot across the street springs into action at 6:30 am and they announce bus routes over the loudspeakers which can be quite annoying. After the first day however I didn't notice it.

Water pressure in the shower on the 9th floor was rather limp but when I moved to the 5th floor it was just fine.

I recommend this hotel for a stay in this bustling city.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing away from the main street (Esplanade) if you're a light sleeper - the bus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hemster77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPIK, General Manager at The Peerless Inn, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your positive comments. We are glad that the team made your stay comfortable. Your encouraging comments will help us do better.

We look forward to welcome you back soon.


Yours sincerely,
Subhomoy De
General Manager
gmpik@sarovarhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kolkata (Calcutta) hotels
1.5 mi away
Hotel Hindusthan International Kolkata
Hotel Hindusthan International K...
#37 of 221 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
698 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sapphire Suites
Sapphire Suites
#49 of 221 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
183 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata
The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata
#2 of 221 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
1,348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Lindsay
The Lindsay
#47 of 221 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
260 reviews
1.3 mi away
Jameson Inn Shiraz
Jameson Inn Shiraz
#14 of 221 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
333 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Park Kolkata
The Park Kolkata
#15 of 221 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
1,893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Peerless Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peerless Inn

Property: The Peerless Inn
Address: 12 J L Nehru Road, Kolkata (Calcutta) 700013, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > West Bengal > Kolkata District > Kolkata (Calcutta)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Peerless Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 168 rooms and suites at The Peerless Inn hotel in Kolkata are spacious and come in five categories to meet the needs of various travellers and each category is unique in design and luxuriously appointed. The excellent services and facilities live up to the expectations of its brand name. State-of-the-art business facilities and conference rooms effortlessly meet any business or social occasion of any scale. Dining options are interesting and entertaining and include an authentic Bengali cuisine restaurant. A health club and great in-room amenities provide the much required post work respite. Central location at Chowringhee Savour authentic Bengali cuisine at Aaheli Efficient business facilities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Peerless Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peerless Inn Kolkata
The Peerless Inn India/Kolkata (Calcutta), Asia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing