We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff and hotel”
Review of The Peerless Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Peerless Inn
Ranked #32 of 235 Hotels in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Even though its an old hotel, it has all the charms and the location to pull you in. A stone's throw away from Park Street. The hotels staff right from the bell-boy to the reception, to the manager, to the chefs have been amazing. Stayed there for a wedding, and can't tell you how well they helped us handle the check-ins. Kudos. They made us feel like family, and treated us so too. Credits to a grounded Manager, Mr. De.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thevpanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPIK, General Manager at The Peerless Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

Thank you for your positive comments. We are glad that the team made your stay comfortable. Your encouraging comments will help us do better.

We look forward to welcome you back soon.


Yours sincerely,

Subhomoy De
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (724)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

481 - 487 of 725 reviews

Reviewed July 4, 2013

I have stayed in the hotel quite a few times and I like it. My last trip was in June 2013 with my family. I have this feeling that the quality of the restaurants are going down. Very near to the city centre. Good hotel overall

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ad_dayz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPIK, General Manager at The Peerless Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

My team and I are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at The Peerless Inn, Kolkata.

Thank you for your valuable feedback. We have taken a note of your comments regarding the restaurant service and will address and rectify the issues highlighted.

We hope to be of service to you again in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Subhomoy De
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel for two nights. Room was upgraded. Special attention was extended by most of the staff members. Room was excellent, bath room was specious, everything clean and comfortable.
Location however is in a very congested but central location,in the midst of the market area.Parking space is inadequate.
Two restaurants are nice but very very pricey. Breakfast
spread is excellent. Authentic Bengali cuisine is available.
Over all it was an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kalyan1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPIK, General Manager at The Peerless Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

Thank you for staying with us and posting your review on Tripadvisor. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and our hospitality.

We really appreciate your kind feedback on the room, breakfast buffet and other services. Regarding parking facilities would like to inform you that there will be adequate car parking space available in our new wing that is coming up.

We hope to be of service to you again soon.

Yours sincerely,

Subhomoy De
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

I liked this hotel, , stayed for a day here is my quick view
Pros :
1) Very Good Location (near Markets and Metro Station)
2) Good Service
3) Clean Rooms and Toilets
4) Nice Bengali restaurant

Cons :
1) A little over priced
2) Breakfast buffet spread could be better.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rejenish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPIK, General Manager at The Peerless Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

Thank you for your positive comments. We are glad that the team made your stay comfortable. Your encouraging comments will help us do better.

We look forward to welcome you back soon.


Yours sincerely,
Subhomoy De
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Only Advantage is Location ,Center of the city,Hotel is Overpriced in Terms of Food as well as Stay ,Room not very clean as compare to other hotels in Kolkata as this is Very old Hotel ,Definitely Needs Renovation.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ashish M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPIK, General Manager at The Peerless Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

Thank you for posting your review of The Peerless Inn, Kolkata We are glad that you enjoyed a comfortable stay.

We much appreciate your valuable feedback on our hotel facilities and services, and would like to inform you that we are starting our room renovation very shortly.

Hope to serve you again soon.

Yours sincerely,
Subhomoy De
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

The location is excellent, food is amazing - the breakfast was absolutely fabulous - very health concious. My husband was over-excited with the spread of herbal food and drinks - including the herbal concoctions such as bitter gourd juice, neem juice and the many ayurvedic seeds and fruits in the buffet breakfast choices! I opted for not so adventurous spreads but was equally impressed. The room was OK as the price we paid seemed a bit high for the size and quality of the room. But the service was good, with internet and the room service. Food was always great, The restaurant Aheli was superb and served very authentic Bengali food, though it was very expensive again - as we were not aware that the servings were so big - so we had ordered way too much - the waiters should have told us about that, so that we didn't waste so much. But in all the hotel was really good. We would definitely stay there on our next visit to Kolkata - which is like every year!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KalyaniChatterjea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPIK, General Manager at The Peerless Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2013

Thank you for posting your review of The Peerless Inn, Kolkata. We are glad that you enjoyed a comfortable stay.

We much appreciate your valuable feedback on our hotel facilities and services, and hope to serve you again soon.

Yours sincerely,

Subhomoy De
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Was in Kolkata on a business trip. Great food especially --"Aheli"
Kudos to the Staff for always being very helpful throughout my stay
Bang opposite the happening shopping center --- New Market
Michael

Room Tip: Rooms are tastefully done retaining old world charm juxtaposed with modern amenities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mnjn123_4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPIK, General Manager at The Peerless Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2013

Thank you for your positive comments. We are glad that the team made your stay comfortable.

Your encouraging comments will help us do better.

We look forward to welcome you back soon.


Yours sincerely,

Subhomoy De
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kolkata (Calcutta) hotels
0.4 mi away
The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata
The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata
#1 of 235 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
1,984 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sapphire Suites
Sapphire Suites
#63 of 235 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
190 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Park Kolkata
The Park Kolkata
#14 of 235 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
1,989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata
Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata
#19 of 235 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
597 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Hindusthan International Kolkata
Hotel Hindusthan International K...
#35 of 235 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
726 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Oberoi Grand
The Oberoi Grand
#2 of 235 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
2,186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Peerless Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peerless Inn

Address: 12 J L Nehru Road, Kolkata (Calcutta) 700013, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > West Bengal > Kolkata District > Kolkata (Calcutta)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#23 Luxury Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Price Range: $76 - $204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Peerless Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 168 rooms and suites at The Peerless Inn hotel in Kolkata are spacious and come in five categories to meet the needs of various travellers and each category is unique in design and luxuriously appointed. The excellent services and facilities live up to the expectations of its brand name. State-of-the-art business facilities and conference rooms effortlessly meet any business or social occasion of any scale. Dining options are interesting and entertaining and include an authentic Bengali cuisine restaurant. A health club and great in-room amenities provide the much required post work respite. Central location at Chowringhee Savour authentic Bengali cuisine at Aaheli Efficient business facilities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Peerless Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peerless Inn Kolkata
The Peerless Inn India/Kolkata (Calcutta), Asia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing