We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“average”
Review of The Peerless Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Peerless Inn
Ranked #21 of 221 Hotels in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Bangalore, India
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“average”
Reviewed November 28, 2012

crammed in the center of kolkata, the rooms are quite small. views in some rooms are good, but others views are very bad. the food is very good over there, and i recommend the seafood restaurant. service is good also.

Room Tip: rooms away from the road are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RichardSullivan_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPIK, General Manager at The Peerless Inn, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Thank you for your positive comments. We are glad that the team made your stay comfortable. Your encouraging comments will help us do better.

We look forward to welcome you back soon.


Yours sincerely,
Subhomoy De
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

719 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    302
    133
    50
    45
See reviews for
117
82
69
397
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
menaria
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2012

we were stunned when checked in !!!huge hotel with decent and welcoming staff from starting to end!!
i stayed here for four days and the most fascinated thing which really allowed me salute was their service level in every aspect .. you cant figure a single fault in anything !!! top notch ...
bravo to there management who has maintain very high standard..
it has everything which fulfill your every single need which you are looking for..
swimming pool is very cleaned and maintained..
solemnness the best hotel I have ever been to! manager greets every visitor upon entry and makes an effort to remember everyone (and to serve their needs..

will be back soon and highly recommended hotel..

Room Tip: all rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jai m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPIK, General Manager at The Peerless Inn, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
My team and I are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at The Peerless Inn, Kolkata.

Thank you for your valuable feedback which will help us do better.

We look forward to welcome you back soon.


Yours sincerely,
Subhomoy De
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newyork
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 19, 2012

It was one of my choice after going through various reviews of feloow travellers. Although may of the hotels in India was booked by my travel agent, This one I booked myself. I must add here that people here are amazingly best in their role. During the room booking process itself they assisted me making my city tour itinerary and hotel travel desk provided me me good chauffeur who was very familiar with all local places. My husband was very happy with their morning breakfast served in Oceanic. It was our last leg of Journey in India, and we were overwhelmed by the hospitality of this hotel. Keep it up team!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cindy182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPIK, General Manager at The Peerless Inn, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thank you for your positive comments. We are glad that the team made your stay comfortable. Your encouraging comments will help us do better.

We look forward to welcome you back soon.


Yours sincerely,
Subhomoy De
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pulborough, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
232 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Very nice Hotel, just around the corner from all the markets. Breakfast very nice and the Bengal cuisine restaurant very good too. Free wifi was a bonus. I would recommend this Hotel in Kolkata. Not too far from any of the places to see, especially with transport.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jools011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPIK, General Manager at The Peerless Inn, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thank you for staying with us and posting your review on Tripadvisor. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and our hospitality.

We really appreciate your kind feedback on the breakfast buffet, Bengali restaurant and other services.

We hope to be of service to you again soon.

Yours sincerely,
Subhomoy De
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed November 18, 2012

I was in this hotel during Durgapuja to see around Kolkata. This hotel is very well known among locals for its traditional hospitality and services. As my friends in India suggested me to stay in this hotel to have the feel of Durgapuja with its Bengali Traditional Hospitality. And yes, amazingly our stay was wonderful. Though old hotel but maintained very well. It has got latest LCD which support all connectors like USb, laptop, HDMI etc. Window view was splendid in the evening. Festival around the city was adding to it. This hotel has got excellent restaurants and bar in the city. Although it was waiting for restaurants during the puja days, still they managed me table. Gym was superb. Reception and lobby have very modern aesthetics. People greet you with smile. Would like to come back whenever I m in Kolkata again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rohit B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPIK, Manager at The Peerless Inn, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thank you for posting your review of The Peerless Inn, Kolkata. We are glad that you enjoyed a comfortable stay.

We much appreciate your valuable feedback on our hotel facilities and services, and hope to serve you again soon.

Yours sincerely,
Subhomoy De
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Konigs Wusterhausen, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Good location (close to Indian Museum and subway), nice and average big room (bathroom with a good shower, this is not everywhere in India self-evident), clean and with a georgious breakfast (the best I had in India).

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Armor-Reisen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPIK, General Manager at The Peerless Inn, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Thank you for your positive comments. We are glad that the team made your stay comfortable. Your encouraging comments will help us do better.

We look forward to welcome you back soon.


Yours sincerely,

Subhomoy De
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Assam, India
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Location wise excellent hotel with markets and places of interests nearby. We booked two suits and these are quite big rooms. Staff are ready to help.The bar is too expensive.The breakfast is average and could have been better.Check in took a little more time than required.Otherwise this is a excellent hotel to stay in.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank partha_sarma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPIK, General Manager at The Peerless Inn, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
My team and I are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at The Peerless Inn, Kolkata.

Thank you for your valuable feedback.

We hope to be of service to you again in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Subhomoy De
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kolkata (Calcutta) hotels
1.5 mi away
Hotel Hindusthan International Kolkata
Hotel Hindusthan International K...
#37 of 221 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
699 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sapphire Suites
Sapphire Suites
#49 of 221 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
183 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata
The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata
#2 of 221 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
1,365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Lindsay
The Lindsay
#48 of 221 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
262 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Park Kolkata
The Park Kolkata
#14 of 221 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
1,898 reviews
1.3 mi away
Jameson Inn Shiraz
Jameson Inn Shiraz
#15 of 221 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Peerless Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peerless Inn

Property: The Peerless Inn
Address: 12 J L Nehru Road, Kolkata (Calcutta) 700013, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > West Bengal > Kolkata District > Kolkata (Calcutta)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Peerless Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 168 rooms and suites at The Peerless Inn hotel in Kolkata are spacious and come in five categories to meet the needs of various travellers and each category is unique in design and luxuriously appointed. The excellent services and facilities live up to the expectations of its brand name. State-of-the-art business facilities and conference rooms effortlessly meet any business or social occasion of any scale. Dining options are interesting and entertaining and include an authentic Bengali cuisine restaurant. A health club and great in-room amenities provide the much required post work respite. Central location at Chowringhee Savour authentic Bengali cuisine at Aaheli Efficient business facilities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Peerless Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peerless Inn Kolkata
The Peerless Inn India/Kolkata (Calcutta), Asia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing