We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the Best in India Tour” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Peerless Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Peerless Inn
Ranked #32 of 216 Hotels in Kolkata (Calcutta)
newyork
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“One of the Best in India Tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

It was one of my choice after going through various reviews of feloow travellers. Although may of the hotels in India was booked by my travel agent, This one I booked myself. I must add here that people here are amazingly best in their role. During the room booking process itself they assisted me making my city tour itinerary and hotel travel desk provided me me good chauffeur who was very familiar with all local places. My husband was very happy with their morning breakfast served in Oceanic. It was our last leg of Journey in India, and we were overwhelmed by the hospitality of this hotel. Keep it up team!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cindy182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPIK, General Manager at The Peerless Inn, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thank you for your positive comments. We are glad that the team made your stay comfortable. Your encouraging comments will help us do better.

We look forward to welcome you back soon.


Yours sincerely,
Subhomoy De
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

644 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    284
    127
    50
    43
See reviews for
100
75
65
358
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pulborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
233 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

Very nice Hotel, just around the corner from all the markets. Breakfast very nice and the Bengal cuisine restaurant very good too. Free wifi was a bonus. I would recommend this Hotel in Kolkata. Not too far from any of the places to see, especially with transport.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jools011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPIK, General Manager at The Peerless Inn, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thank you for staying with us and posting your review on Tripadvisor. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and our hospitality.

We really appreciate your kind feedback on the breakfast buffet, Bengali restaurant and other services.

We hope to be of service to you again soon.

Yours sincerely,
Subhomoy De
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

I was in this hotel during Durgapuja to see around Kolkata. This hotel is very well known among locals for its traditional hospitality and services. As my friends in India suggested me to stay in this hotel to have the feel of Durgapuja with its Bengali Traditional Hospitality. And yes, amazingly our stay was wonderful. Though old hotel but maintained very well. It has got latest LCD which support all connectors like USb, laptop, HDMI etc. Window view was splendid in the evening. Festival around the city was adding to it. This hotel has got excellent restaurants and bar in the city. Although it was waiting for restaurants during the puja days, still they managed me table. Gym was superb. Reception and lobby have very modern aesthetics. People greet you with smile. Would like to come back whenever I m in Kolkata again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rohit B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPIK, Manager at The Peerless Inn, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thank you for posting your review of The Peerless Inn, Kolkata. We are glad that you enjoyed a comfortable stay.

We much appreciate your valuable feedback on our hotel facilities and services, and hope to serve you again soon.

Yours sincerely,
Subhomoy De
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Konigs Wusterhausen, Germany
Level Contributor
45 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

Good location (close to Indian Museum and subway), nice and average big room (bathroom with a good shower, this is not everywhere in India self-evident), clean and with a georgious breakfast (the best I had in India).

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Armor-Reisen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPIK, General Manager at The Peerless Inn, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Thank you for your positive comments. We are glad that the team made your stay comfortable. Your encouraging comments will help us do better.

We look forward to welcome you back soon.


Yours sincerely,

Subhomoy De
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Assam, India
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

Location wise excellent hotel with markets and places of interests nearby. We booked two suits and these are quite big rooms. Staff are ready to help.The bar is too expensive.The breakfast is average and could have been better.Check in took a little more time than required.Otherwise this is a excellent hotel to stay in.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank partha_sarma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPIK, General Manager at The Peerless Inn, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
My team and I are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at The Peerless Inn, Kolkata.

Thank you for your valuable feedback.

We hope to be of service to you again in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Subhomoy De
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durgapur, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

I booked the hotel because I had to attend an event at the same hotel next day afternoon before heading for Durgapur, my final destination. I arrived late evening and checked into the room quickly. Following are my experiences:

Location: The location of the hotel is excellent as it is very near to interstate bus-stand and close to main rail station. Also very close to park street area, Calcutta's famous partying area.

Room: I booked a standard room and was not very happy with the shoddy appearance, carpet is old and appears dirty, however, bed was good and there were sufficient tea/coffee kits/arrangements. The furniture looked dated and poorly maintained. The glass windows had stains/paint marks and seemed nobody had ever made any effort to clean up. Washroom was okay.

Services: Complimentary breakfast was really excellent with ample choices. The staffs are cooperative and courteous, however, they need training for their job and to improve professionalism. The person attending telephone for the main hotel contact number speaks terrible English. Overall lack of professionalism is visible everywhere.

Value for money: I spent Rs. 5300 a night, and don't think the hotel is good enough for that amount. Hotel needs to spend some bucks to improve guests' satisfaction.

Room Tip: Bank on your luck.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amit_s_2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPIK, General Manager at The Peerless Inn, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
We request you to accept our sincere apology for the inconvenience caused to
you at the hotel.

Our training will be more stronger and will help to eliminate the communication problems that
you experienced.

Nothing is more important than regaining your trust and all of us here hope you will give us the opportunity to serve you the best.

We once again request you to accept our sincere apology .

Regards,

Subhomoy De
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
52 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

The location is everything in this hotel.

The rooms are dated as are the communal areas.

The staff were excellent.

Generally could do with some $ being spent on modernisation.

Had trouble with the WiFi for 2 of the 4 days I stayed.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPIK, General Manager at The Peerless Inn, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you for your valuable feedback.

We have taken a note of your comments regarding the internet access and will address and rectify the issues highlighted.

We hope to be of service to you again in the future.

Regards,

Subhomoy De
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kolkata (Calcutta) hotels
0.4 mi away
The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata
The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata
#5 of 216 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 769 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sapphire Suites
Sapphire Suites
#43 of 216 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Lindsay
The Lindsay
#46 of 216 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Park Kolkata
The Park Kolkata
#16 of 216 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,740 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kempton Hotel
Kempton Hotel
#30 of 216 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lytton Hotel
Lytton Hotel
#56 of 216 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Peerless Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peerless Inn

Property: The Peerless Inn
Address: 12 J L Nehru Road, Kolkata (Calcutta) 700013, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > West Bengal > Kolkata (Calcutta)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Luxury Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Peerless Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 168 rooms and suites at The Peerless Inn hotel in Kolkata are spacious and come in five categories to meet the needs of various travellers and each category is unique in design and luxuriously appointed. The excellent services and facilities live up to the expectations of its brand name. State-of-the-art business facilities and conference rooms effortlessly meet any business or social occasion of any scale. Dining options are interesting and entertaining and include an authentic Bengali cuisine restaurant. A health club and great in-room amenities provide the much required post work respite. Central location at Chowringhee Savour authentic Bengali cuisine at Aaheli Efficient business facilities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Peerless Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peerless Inn Kolkata
The Peerless Inn India/Kolkata (Calcutta), Asia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing