We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible Room Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Kolkata
Ranked #12 of 251 Hotels in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Really very uprising when you stay at the five star in the city and get this kind of service in this reputed international hotel. The basic meaning of room service is something which the staff don't understand. It took me 5 calls to get through the room service and to add fuel to the fire i experienced a delayed service.Food quality was also bad and also very over priced.This is not what you call a five star. Although my experience the very next day at the coffee shop was very good.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank officaltraveller000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattRegencyKolkata, Director of Food & Benerage at Hyatt Regency Kolkata, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2013

Dear officaltraveller000,

Greetings from Hyatt Regency Kolkata!
We genuinely appreciate for your constructive feedback regarding your recent stay at our hotel. We understand that there was shortfall in maintaining the standard to the desired level and we humbly apologise for the same. While we always strive each day to make sure our valued guests get great service and enjoy their stay, please consider this be an exception instance.
We have seriously addressed the matter with the concerned department and taken corrective measures to ensure that the same is not repeated in future.
I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed at 24 hour dining restaurant, Waterside Side Cafe.
My team and I look forward to have another opportunity to regain your confidence on Hyatt Regency Kolkata.

Thank You and Best Regards,

Dinesh Varma
Director of Food & Beverage
Hyatt Regency Kolkata

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,381)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

920 - 926 of 1,381 reviews

Reviewed November 8, 2013

I have been coming to kolkata for some years now and have been staying in the central part of the city but this time during the first week of october i had my work in an around the new town area and so i preferred to stay at the hyatt international because of its reputation name and fame. Although hyatt is always associated with the international chain but my experience was fairly different. I came to check in during the day but my no means i could believe that the reception staff made me wait for 35 mins.That is something just too much. I wouldn't have mind waiting but the way they handle a waiting customer is just terrible. The least that i could have expected is the time guarantee that should have been promised to me. I would also mention that the hotel looks fabulous. The room is very modern and very nicely done up.The other thing which i didn't like was the pricing of the food compared to the quality at the waterside cafe.Rest my stay was never the less fine but in a nutshell i was highly disappointed.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank expedition2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattRegency_K0lkata, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Kolkata, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2013

Dear expedition2013,

thank you for your review of Hyatt Regency Kolkata after your stay with us last month. We are pleased to hear that your enjoyed our facilities and the rooms as per your ratings, however your long waiting time at the arrival is certainly not according to the standards of our hotel. In order to follow up on your mentioned concerns more into detail, with the team it would be very helpful if you could share further details with us. Please contact us under kolkata.regency@hyatt.com and please let me know if your agenda brings you back to the city. It will be my pleasure to assist with any booking and to ensure your entire stay will be smooth and comfortable.
Thank you once again for your review and we hope that you will give us another chance to be at your service again.

With kind regards

Britta Leick-Milde
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

Like any other Hyatt property the building is impressive and imposing. But your arrival may not be acknowledged well. You may not find any hotel staff at entrance except few security staff, who are not trained to smile.
The stay was comfortable and it could have been more enjoyable. People made this difference.
The food and services are found to be at acceptable level.
The room was small but acceptable.

Room Tip: This property is not suitable for people who tries to benchmark.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank epsreekumar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattRegency_K0lkata, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Kolkata, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2013

Dear epsreekumar,

thank you for your review of Hyatt Regency Kolkata after your recent stay with us. Though we are delighted that your liked the facilities and the comfort of your stay we are concerned that you felt not entirely welcome by our associates at the entrance and front desk. I will certainly take this up with the team and please be assured that every single person coming to our hotel is the focus of our attention and utmost valuable, please accept my apology if this did not come across during your stay. It would be wonderful if you would visit us again, please let me know, and it will be my pleasure to assist with any booking and to ensure you are convinced about our associates service attitude. Thank you once again for your review.

With kind regards

Britta Leick-Milde
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

The stay was pleasant and comfortable. The hotel is a clean and modern place, the rooms were quite spacious and comfortable.

The hotel location is not exactly in the city center, but it wasn't too far from our Regional office so I was okay with that.

The breakfast was quite nice, thoroughly enjoyed the attention to detail.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gurveer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattRegency_K0lkata, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Kolkata, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2013

Dear gurveer

thank you for your review of Hyatt Regency Kolkata after your stay in August. We are happy that you found your stay comfortable and the location suitable to the location of your office. Being in Salt Lake City is meanwhile being in the middle of Kolkata as the city is growing towards the airport. Also your feedback about our breakfast choices is much appreciated as we permanently adjusting our offers to suite the local and International palate.

Thank you once again for your review and we hope to welcoming you soon back at our hotel.

With warm regards

Britta Leick-Milde
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

We went to Hyatt Kolkata for a family function.. the property is nice.. had a wonderful time there.. It was the first time we went into a hotel with our 8 months old Son.. He enjoyed the bathtub a lot.. it was fun being there..

Room Tip: Room on the left side of reception face a ground which looks like a laundry place.. Dont take those...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vidushi_Aaditya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattRegency_K0lkata, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Kolkata, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2013

Dear Vidushi_Diwan

thank you very much for your review of Hyatt Regency Kolkata after your stay in June. We are happy that you and your family enjoyed the stay for your family function and especially that you felt comfortable while travelling the first time with your son. We hope to have more opportunities to be at your service again in the future and are looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

With warm regards

Britta Leick-Milde
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013

An impressive drive up to the entrance gives the feeling of arriving somewhere special & you're not disappointed when you step inside.Most of the public areas centre around a huge space in the middle of the hotel with passing clouds projected on the high ceiling, the large window about 8 floors high overlooking a relaxing tropical pool area at the rear, nice touch is a children's play area on real grass.Our room overlooked the pool (ask for this) & was of high quality. There's a choice of 3 restaurants, all very good we thought: the Indian & Italian are very popular with Kolkata folks so book early.
For sight seeing local taxi is half hour into city (outside peak times) costs between £2 & £5
The staff are very well trained, friendly & made us feel very welcome.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peterrenfrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattRegency_K0lkata, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Kolkata, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

Dear Peter

Thank you so much for your review of Hyatt Regency Kolkata after your stay in August. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and the team is very proud that they have been able to make your stay successful. Please let us know when you are planning to visit us again, we are looking forward to be at your service again soon.

With the best regards from Kolkata

Britta Leick-Milde
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

My very first word of advice is to always make arrangements with the hotel to have transportation from the airport to the hotel and from the hotel to your destination. Luckily, this was out second stop on our four city business trip and we knew to book this.

We arrived at the Hyatt by 9pm after a long day of training and travel. We were greeted immediately by hotel staff who were most helpful. The staff transported our bags through security and to the front desk.

We quickly moved to check in. The staff was more than polite and helpful. The lobby was beautiful. The staff offered to show us to our rooms, which was most helpful and I encourage travelers to take the staff up on this offer. The entry to the rooms is different than in the United States, if you are used to travel in the United States.

The room was absolutely beautiful and spacious. I was on the 17th floor and do not know if this was a standard room. It was a suite style (office, living room, bedroom, bathroom and dressing area).

The breakfast buffet was gorgeous with many varieties. The staff was most accomodating and offered to bring plates from the buffet to the table, as well as, juice, coffee, tea etc.

The extent of my stay was 9 hours and it was most pleasant.

Room Tip: 17th floor was great, quiet and spacious (1701)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattRegency_K0lkata, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Kolkata, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

Dear Amy B

thank you very much for your review of Hyatt Regency Kolkata after your recent stay. We are all very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and your feedback about our employees being helpful and friendly, our rooms and the breakfast buffet makes us proud and motivated to give our best every day ! We all hope you have a little more time during your next visit to enjoy the facilities and we hope to welcome you soon back to our hotel.

With warm regards from the City of Joy - Kolkata

Britta Leick-Milde
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kolkata (Calcutta) hotels
3.6 mi away
The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata
The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata
#1 of 251 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
2,318 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Oberoi Grand
The Oberoi Grand
#3 of 251 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
2,260 reviews
1.9 mi away
ITC Sonar
ITC Sonar
#2 of 251 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
2,788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Swissotel Kolkata
Swissotel Kolkata
#8 of 251 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
1,759 reviews
1.6 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Kolkata
JW Marriott Hotel Kolkata
#4 of 251 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
621 reviews
5.1 mi away
Taj Bengal Kolkata
Taj Bengal Kolkata
#5 of 251 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
1,991 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Kolkata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Kolkata

Address: Ja - 1 Sector Iii | Salt Lake City, Kolkata (Calcutta) 700098, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > West Bengal > Kolkata District > Kolkata (Calcutta)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#6 Romantic Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#7 Business Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#9 Spa Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#12 Luxury Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Price Range: $122 - $370 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hyatt Regency Kolkata 5*
Number of rooms: 233
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hyatt Regency Kolkata is a luxury business hotel in Kolkata (or “Calcutta”), India. Being the first five-star hotel in Salt Lake City, it is also acclaimed as one of Kolkata’s favourites. The hotel creates the feel of a private cocoon away from the complexities of modern living without giving up any of its luxuries. Saddled between Netaji Subhas Chandra Bose Airport and Howrah Railway Station which lie just 11 km (7 miles) to either side, Hyatt Regency Kolkata enjoys a prime location near the city’s IT hub and is a preferred business destination of East India. A tranquil retreat amid spectacular landscaped gardens, featuring 233 luxury guest rooms and suites, the hotel allows guests to relax and rejuvenate while staying in Kolkata. Apart from all rooms having access to Wi-Fi Internet, guests on the Regency Club Floor enjoy access to the luxurious Regency Club Lounge and evening cocktail hours. Specialty restaurants like Guchhi, La Cucina,and the 24-hour Waterside Café offer a selection of the finest cuisines. Sink into a range of premium spirits and cocktails at The Bar or at Poolside. Pamper yourself at the holistic spa – Club Prana – featuring a 24-hour gymnasium, squash and tennis courts and a landscaped pool.Being one of the most popular business hotels in the city, Hyatt Regency Kolkata provides extensive banqueting facilities for meetings, incentives, conferences, exhibitions and weddings. The hotel also offers great value meeting packages and personalized catering services.This Kolkata hotel has several interesting tourist attractions nearby. The Science City, an impressive science museum complex, is only 4 km (2.5 miles) away. Nicco Park, an open-air amusement park with an attached water theme park, is also nearby. The Missionaries of Charities is one of the prominent sites for all who visit this cultural capital. Hence, while staying at Hyatt Regency Kolkata one can enjoy many of on-site and off-site activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Kolkata reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Kolkata Hotel Kolkata (Calcutta)
Hyatt Regency Hotel Kolkata
Kolkata Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Regency Kolkata India/Kolkata (Calcutta), Asia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing