We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I love this building but what sets the hotel apart is the excellent staff.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Kolkata
Ranked #11 of 234 Hotels in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 2, 2013

An impressive drive up to the entrance gives the feeling of arriving somewhere special & you're not disappointed when you step inside.Most of the public areas centre around a huge space in the middle of the hotel with passing clouds projected on the high ceiling, the large window about 8 floors high overlooking a relaxing tropical pool area at the rear, nice touch is a children's play area on real grass.Our room overlooked the pool (ask for this) & was of high quality. There's a choice of 3 restaurants, all very good we thought: the Indian & Italian are very popular with Kolkata folks so book early.
For sight seeing local taxi is half hour into city (outside peak times) costs between £2 & £5
The staff are very well trained, friendly & made us feel very welcome.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peterrenfrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattRegency_K0lkata, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Kolkata, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

Dear Peter

Thank you so much for your review of Hyatt Regency Kolkata after your stay in August. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and the team is very proud that they have been able to make your stay successful. Please let us know when you are planning to visit us again, we are looking forward to be at your service again soon.

With the best regards from Kolkata

Britta Leick-Milde
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,333)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

879 - 885 of 1,333 reviews

Reviewed October 30, 2013

My very first word of advice is to always make arrangements with the hotel to have transportation from the airport to the hotel and from the hotel to your destination. Luckily, this was out second stop on our four city business trip and we knew to book this.

We arrived at the Hyatt by 9pm after a long day of training and travel. We were greeted immediately by hotel staff who were most helpful. The staff transported our bags through security and to the front desk.

We quickly moved to check in. The staff was more than polite and helpful. The lobby was beautiful. The staff offered to show us to our rooms, which was most helpful and I encourage travelers to take the staff up on this offer. The entry to the rooms is different than in the United States, if you are used to travel in the United States.

The room was absolutely beautiful and spacious. I was on the 17th floor and do not know if this was a standard room. It was a suite style (office, living room, bedroom, bathroom and dressing area).

The breakfast buffet was gorgeous with many varieties. The staff was most accomodating and offered to bring plates from the buffet to the table, as well as, juice, coffee, tea etc.

The extent of my stay was 9 hours and it was most pleasant.

Room Tip: 17th floor was great, quiet and spacious (1701)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattRegency_K0lkata, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Kolkata, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

Dear Amy B

thank you very much for your review of Hyatt Regency Kolkata after your recent stay. We are all very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and your feedback about our employees being helpful and friendly, our rooms and the breakfast buffet makes us proud and motivated to give our best every day ! We all hope you have a little more time during your next visit to enjoy the facilities and we hope to welcome you soon back to our hotel.

With warm regards from the City of Joy - Kolkata

Britta Leick-Milde
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

Location is in north side of Kolkata - little away from all happening places [which are mostly in south side]. However, the Hotel is very good - great food and buffet - affordable for a five star quality. Rooms are smaller compared to other high end places - hence little low value for quality.
Feel and vibe of the place is very good.

Room Tip: All rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank frndSid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattRegency_K0lkata, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Kolkata, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Dear frndSid

Thank you for your review of Hyatt Regency Kolkata after your visit earlier this year. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and especially that you enjoyed the food and services in our restaurants. We will certainly share your feedback with our team and hoping to welcoming you soon back to our hotel.

Thank you once again and with best regards for the festive season

Britta Leick-Milde
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

I had a short stay for one night in Hyatt Regency. I have stayed in many similar hotels (india and abroad) and I can safely say this was not up to the standards of a 5 star hotel. Let me first list down the good things about this property. The exterior is beautiful, the ambiance is fantastic, the service is good, the reception staff is very cordial and helpful, the garden and the pool looked fabulous.

Now the drawbacks, which you do not actually associate with a 5 star hotel especially for the amount of money that you pay for food and its services.

- The quality & quantity of food was sub standard to say the least !! To make matters worse, its extremely pricey (though I expect the same in a 5 star).It was easily one of the worst food experiences if compared to any of the other 5 star hotels I have stayed (Windsor Sheraton etc.)

- The TV did not have a DTH connection !!! Can you believe it?? We are now getting DTH connection enabled TVs even in 3 star hotels !!! Thus, inevitably the reception was not good though watchable.

- WiFi access is chargeable !! Again a shocker ! Much lesser hotels are providing WiFi access free (not only in the lobby but also in all the rooms)

- We had only one pair of bathroom slippers for two persons, Unacceptable !!

- I had a complimentary breakfast for my booking. But my flight was early morning, so I had to leave by 4 in the morning. However, there was no intimation by the staff to atleast pack something or give something in lieu of the missed breakfast. Mind you, really good hotels which boast themselves as 5 star do take care of these things.But this point was one of the least of my concerns,anyway.

Overall experience was ok, though I expected much more from a brand like Hyatt.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sugato_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattRegency_K0lkata, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Kolkata, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

Dear Sugato11,

thank you for your very detailed review of Hyatt Regency Kolkata. We are happy to learn that you enjoyed the facilities, ambiance and the services provided to you by our reception team.

With regards to your constructive feedback on our food and beverage pricing I have discussed this with our Food and Beverage Director, it would have been great if this feedback would have been shared with the team in the restaurant, we surely can arrange for a bigger portion. Also the HDTV system for the TVs, we are already in the process to upgrade our system and we hope to implement the same by Quarter 1 next year. Please note that our Housekeeping Manager has noted your feedback in the slippers, which should have been two pairs of course if the room is occupied as a double occupancy. Our sincere apologies for this oversight of our team. Furthermore I am surprised to hear that our Front Desk Team did not offer a packed breakfast for your early departure. If we get to know that a customer is checking out before 6.30 am within a lead time of around an hour the Chefs happily arrange for vegetarian or non vegetarian lunchbox as per the preferences.

I hope you could consider giving us another chance to be at your service, please let me know if your travels are bringing you back to Kolkata and please allow me to personally take care about your reservation and ensure that your stay is comfortable.

With warm regards

Britta Leick-Milde
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

When I visited the Hotel in September I was offered a room which was very noisy and I also faced some hot water issues. Due to my back pain I always prefer to take a hot shower but unfortunately there was no hot water in my room and I could not beleive that even the technicians could not fix it for me. My room shift was also done after several request. This is not expected from Hyatt, I am disappointed.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ROCKINGTRAVEL10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattRegency_K0lkata, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Kolkata, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

Dear ROCKINGTRAVEL10,

thank you for your review of your experience at Hyatt Regency Kolkata. I am most concerned that you had experienced a problem with the temperature of the hot water supply in the hotel. As it is utmost important for us to ensure that we do not have issues like this as the comfort of our guests is the number one priority I would love to learn more details about this and if you would contact us under kolka-hrk@hyatt.com would be highly appreciated. Our Director of Engineering has been informed about the same and will ensure that

Please let me know if your agenda is bringing you back to the city, it would be my pleasure to ensure your have a comfortable and smooth stay.

With warm regards

Britta Leick-Milde
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

Over the years i have been staying across many hotels and i know a bit about the hospitality business but I would like to mention that my last visit to the Hyatt Regency kolkata was not so good. I had visited during the A.R Rahman show in kolkata and my check in was delayed by good 30mins. The reception and the staff were too much focused with the celebrities around and I remainded un noticed.My question remains if I am paying for the services why is this this kind of lapses.The Hyatt management should know not to driscriminate between celebrities and guests who are also their valued customers.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jw298
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattRegency_K0lkata, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Kolkata, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2013

Dear jw298,

Thank you for your recent review of Hyatt Regency Kolkata on Tripadvisor.
My sincere apologies to you that our team at the reception has not been attentive to you during your stay and especially as you mentioned that your stay was during the stay of Mr. Rahman, we had a specially dedicated team taking care of this group, not part of the front desk team, so no other customer would be inconvenienced. That this was still the case I will take up with the team and I thank you for making us aware of the same.

I hope that this will not deter you from visiting us again and please let me know if you are planning to come back to the City, it will be my pleasure to assist with any requirements and ensure your stay is as you would expect from a Hyatt Hotel.

With kind regards

Britta Leick-Milde
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

I've stayed at this hotel twice, and will so again regularly. Ultra modern, clean, and great service. Rooms are spacious, large comfortable bed, and bathroom area that is best in India - pleasant surprise if you travel Indian hotels often. Several dining choices and food quality and selection are well above average with plenty of non-Indian choices as well. First class fitness center, spa and pool as well. Everything you would expect from Hyatt.

Room Tip: I've always stayed on the upper two floors - both have been great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rickboozell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattRegency_K0lkata, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Kolkata, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

Dear rickboozell

Greetings from Hyatt Regency Kolkata and thank you for your feedback given on Tripadvisor. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Your feedback on our services, rooms and variety of restaurants makes us very proud and motivates us to give our best every day. We will certainly share this feedback with the entire team.

We are looking forward to welcoming you soon back to Hyatt Regency Kolkata!

With kind regards

Britta Leick-Milde
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kolkata (Calcutta) hotels
3.5 mi away
The Oberoi Grand
The Oberoi Grand
#2 of 234 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
2,167 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata
The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata
#1 of 234 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
1,915 reviews
5.1 mi away
Taj Bengal Kolkata
Taj Bengal Kolkata
#5 of 234 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
1,937 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
ITC Sonar
ITC Sonar
#3 of 234 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
2,552 reviews
4.6 mi away
Swissotel Kolkata
Swissotel Kolkata
#7 of 234 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
1,693 reviews
1.6 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Kolkata
JW Marriott Hotel Kolkata
#4 of 234 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Kolkata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Kolkata

Address: Ja - 1 Sector Iii | Salt Lake City, Kolkata (Calcutta) 700098, India
Location: India > West Bengal > Kolkata District > Kolkata (Calcutta)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#6 Romantic Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#7 Business Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#8 Spa Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#11 Luxury Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Price Range: $117 - $390 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hyatt Regency Kolkata 5*
Number of rooms: 233
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hyatt Regency Kolkata is a luxury business hotel in Kolkata (or “Calcutta”), India. Being the first five-star hotel in Salt Lake City, it is also acclaimed as one of Kolkata’s favourites. The hotel creates the feel of a private cocoon away from the complexities of modern living without giving up any of its luxuries. Saddled between Netaji Subhas Chandra Bose Airport and Howrah Railway Station which lie just 11 km (7 miles) to either side, Hyatt Regency Kolkata enjoys a prime location near the city’s IT hub and is a preferred business destination of East India. A tranquil retreat amid spectacular landscaped gardens, featuring 233 luxury guest rooms and suites, the hotel allows guests to relax and rejuvenate while staying in Kolkata. Apart from all rooms having access to Wi-Fi Internet, guests on the Regency Club Floor enjoy access to the luxurious Regency Club Lounge and evening cocktail hours. Specialty restaurants like Guchhi, La Cucina,and the 24-hour Waterside Café offer a selection of the finest cuisines. Sink into a range of premium spirits and cocktails at The Bar or at Poolside. Pamper yourself at the holistic spa – Club Prana – featuring a 24-hour gymnasium, squash and tennis courts and a landscaped pool.Being one of the most popular business hotels in the city, Hyatt Regency Kolkata provides extensive banqueting facilities for meetings, incentives, conferences, exhibitions and weddings. The hotel also offers great value meeting packages and personalized catering services.This Kolkata hotel has several interesting tourist attractions nearby. The Science City, an impressive science museum complex, is only 4 km (2.5 miles) away. Nicco Park, an open-air amusement park with an attached water theme park, is also nearby. The Missionaries of Charities is one of the prominent sites for all who visit this cultural capital. Hence, while staying at Hyatt Regency Kolkata one can enjoy many of on-site and off-site activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Kolkata reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Kolkata Hotel Kolkata (Calcutta)
Hyatt Regency Hotel Kolkata
Kolkata Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Regency Kolkata India/Kolkata (Calcutta), Asia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing