We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gorgeous hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Kolkata
Ranked #11 of 218 Hotels in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Gorgeous hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013 via mobile

This is a lovely hotel. A bit out of town, but that's okay. I really enjoyed the taxi ride into town, through the suburbs. The staff, gym, rooms, food are all excellent. What I like about Hyatt hotel is that they are very elegant rooms. Fantastic soft bed with beautiful sheets, pillows and bedding. Lovely marble bathroom. I stayed at the Oberoi grand and at the Hyatt in Calcutta but I preferred the Hyatt, it was just more comfortable. They should really offer free wifi though, you have to pay extra.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heavysuitcases
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcLorenz, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Kolkata, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Guest
Many thanks for writing about your recent stay with us in February.
We truly appreciate your observations and comments specially on our guest room facilities.
Reading your comments I am thrilled to know that we have managed to exceed your expectations and allowed us to even surpass the very reputable Oberoi Grand.
Your feedback on free Wifi is well taken and I assure you taken into consideration for the future, however like to also mention that in the meantime we do have rates which include Wifi.
I am very much looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
With kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    605
    405
    120
    47
    33
See reviews for
184
116
102
730
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
106 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

The Hyatt Kolkata is located at the "Salt Lake City" and it's probably more suitable for business travellers. The location is rather odd and is not convenient for those who want to explore the city and the key sights of Kolkata. When we arrived from the airport, the hotel seemed to be having a major mosquitoes problem, I had four nasty bites within 5 minutes of arrival at the airport!

The check-in was swift and efficient, despite enquiring for our choice of newspaper, it was not delivered the next day. The guest room is spacious and modern and the marble-bathroom is even more spacious and luxurious. The only downside is that there is no free WIFI in the hotel.

The hotel staff are all very friendly and helpful and assisted with our bags without us having to ask. Considering the price we paid for this hotel, I would consider it good value but the hotel must certainly sort out the moquitoes.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KahChin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcLorenz, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Kolkata, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Guest
Many thanks for taking the time to write about your recent stay with us, it is very much appreciated.
Reading your detailed comments on the various experiences you had, I am very happy to know that from a guest service point we have done well.
I understand your comments on our location which undoubtedly is preferred for guests who mainly spend time in the Salt Lake , Newtown and Rajarhat areas rather than downtown.
Mosquitoes are during the cooler months of the year a major issue in Kolkata and we try our very best to manage them, however your comments are very much taken on board and we will ensure that even more is done in the future to keep the guest areas free of them.
Your comments about free Wifi are also taken well and will be considered, however in the meantime I would recommend our rates which include Wifi.
Once again many thanks and looking forward to welcoming you back again soon.
With best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wells, Maine
Level Contributor
153 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

Good reliable service and comfortable room in Kolkata from a trusted hotel brand. Good facilities for travelers including good desk lighting, desk power, reliable internet, steam iron, closet space, in-room safe and ample bottled water. Rooms were quiet and very well appointed; Gym was good; food was B/B- and there was nothing to complain about. You get what you pay for.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcLorenz, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Kolkata, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Guest
Many thanks for writing about your recent business trip to Kolkata and experience in our hotel.
Being a business hotel your detailed observations about the facilities, so vital to the worldly business traveler, mean a lot to us and are highly appreciated.
As we are striving for exceeding our guests expectations through human care and spirit, it is a wonderful to know that you enjoyed your stay and consider us good value for money.
Looking forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.
With best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
75 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

Visited Kolkata again, but now on a business trip of a week. Stayed in the Hyatt for five nights, was really happy to come back here after a long day at the office.

Arrived in the moning and was happily surprised that the hotel was quite close to the aiport. The check-in process went smooth, by friendly front office staff. The standard room was stylish, clean and quite large, and so was the bathroom. Really loved the floor-to-ceiling windows!
No need to go out for food with the five or so bars and restaurants on the premises. I ordered roomservice twice, dined at la Cucina twice and enjoyed the evening buffet at the Waterside Cafe. All meals were very tasty and well cooked.

The hotel itself is huge and clean and has enough staff around to cater all your needs.

Overall a very nice stay, would love to come back again!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BackPackMaluku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcLorenz, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Kolkata, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear Guest
Greetings from Hyatt Regency Kolkata.
First and foremost, o behalf of the entire team, our sincerest thanks to you for sharing your recent stay experience with us.
We really appreciate your comments and appreciation for our product and guest services and your feedback is encouraging us all very much.
Hope to be able to welcome you back in the near future.
With Kind regards
Marc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

I stayed at the Hyatt Regency for one night during a business trip to Kolkata. Staff at front desk were very helpful. Overall the hotel appears very nice. My room was a regular room in the second floor, with a king size bed. Room layout was nice, and especially the

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank viplovekumar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcLorenz, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Kolkata, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear Guest

Greetings from Hyatt Regency Kolkata.
I would like to thank you, on behalf of the team, for sharing your feedback on your recent stay with us.
We all really appreciated your generally very positive comments, however are concerned about the pretty low ratings in some areas like value etc.
We would be very happy to hear more from you in order to be able to improve our services and reputation.
Please feel free to contact me anytime at the hotel.

Very much looking forward to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.
With best regards
Marc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coimbatore, India
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

hotel is situated on the em bypass quite convenient, i checked in feb rooms are quite good and the service excellent, food is also good, room service and service in restaurant is quite good, bathroom is designed much better than the room itself, overall good hotel

Room Tip: room with the view of the stadium
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank manojkumarj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcLorenz, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Kolkata, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear Guest
First and foremost, many thanks for taking the time to write about your recent stay with us and greetings from Hyatt Regency Kolkata.

I am very happy to read your generally very positive comments about our hotel and I can ensure you that it encourages us to continuously keep improving and reviewing our guest service and facilities.

I hope to welcome you back in the near future.
With kind regards
Marc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indore, India
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

This hotel is located next to a football stadium hence the view is good from the room .Once you get passed the speed breakers , everything else is smooth.The lobby is big and the staff very courteous.The lifts are modern and fast. I had some problems with the electronic key but the room was good and clean . The complimentary breakfast had a lot of variety and the food was good.Although the staff need some training.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank veervikram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcLorenz, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Kolkata, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear Guest
Greetings from Hyatt Regency Kolkata.
On behalf of the entire team, many thanks for your feedback and having taken the time to write about your stay with us
I appreciate your generally positive comments about your last stay, however I am obviously concerned that you did not have a service experience which met your expectation.

As you can imagine, customer feedback is the post powerful tool for us to continuously work on our services.
Any additional comments are more than welcome, however we will be reviewing all aspects of guest service to avoid future short comings.
Hope to welcome you back to our hotel in the near future.
Many thanks once again and best regards
Marc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kolkata (Calcutta) hotels
3.6 mi away
The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata
The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata
#6 of 218 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 815 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Oberoi Grand
The Oberoi Grand
#1 of 218 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,967 reviews
5.1 mi away
Taj Bengal Kolkata
Taj Bengal Kolkata
#2 of 218 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Swissotel Kolkata
Swissotel Kolkata
#7 of 218 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,340 reviews
3.6 mi away
Novotel Kolkata Hotel and Residences
Novotel Kolkata Hotel and Reside...
#8 of 218 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,190 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Park Kolkata
The Park Kolkata
#15 of 218 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Kolkata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Kolkata

Property: Hyatt Regency Kolkata
Address: Ja - 1 Sector Iii | Salt Lake City, Kolkata (Calcutta) 700098, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > West Bengal > Kolkata (Calcutta)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#6 Romantic Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#7 Business Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#9 Spa Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#10 Luxury Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hyatt Regency Kolkata 5*
Number of rooms: 233
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hyatt Regency Kolkata is a luxury business hotel in Kolkata (or “Calcutta”), India. Being the first five-star hotel in Salt Lake City, it is also acclaimed as one of Kolkata’s favourites. The hotel creates the feel of a private cocoon away from the complexities of modern living without giving up any of its luxuries. Saddled between Netaji Subhas Chandra Bose Airport and Howrah Railway Station which lie just 11 km (7 miles) to either side, Hyatt Regency Kolkata enjoys a prime location near the city’s IT hub and is a preferred business destination of East India. A tranquil retreat amid spectacular landscaped gardens, featuring 233 luxury guest rooms and suites, the hotel allows guests to relax and rejuvenate while staying in Kolkata. Apart from all rooms having access to Wi-Fi Internet, guests on the Regency Club Floor enjoy access to the luxurious Regency Club Lounge and evening cocktail hours. Specialty restaurants like Guchhi, La Cucina,and the 24-hour Waterside Café offer a selection of the finest cuisines. Sink into a range of premium spirits and cocktails at The Bar or at Poolside. Pamper yourself at the holistic spa – Club Prana – featuring a 24-hour gymnasium, squash and tennis courts and a landscaped pool.Being one of the most popular business hotels in the city, Hyatt Regency Kolkata provides extensive banqueting facilities for meetings, incentives, conferences, exhibitions and weddings. The hotel also offers great value meeting packages and personalized catering services.This Kolkata hotel has several interesting tourist attractions nearby. The Science City, an impressive science museum complex, is only 4 km (2.5 miles) away. Nicco Park, an open-air amusement park with an attached water theme park, is also nearby. The Missionaries of Charities is one of the prominent sites for all who visit this cultural capital. Hence, while staying at Hyatt Regency Kolkata one can enjoy many of on-site and off-site activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Kolkata reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Kolkata Hotel Kolkata (Calcutta)
Hyatt Regency Hotel Kolkata
Kolkata Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Regency Kolkata India/Kolkata (Calcutta), Asia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing