We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, very clean well maintained and top staff & service. Just a tad pricey.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Kolkata
Ranked #11 of 221 Hotels in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great hotel, very clean well maintained and top staff & service. Just a tad pricey.”
Reviewed December 19, 2012 via mobile

Usually stay here for business but this time was for leisure. Tad too pricey comparatively. But otherwise, you cannot fault the rooms and the service provided. Brekkie is quite comprehensive and great. Staff are at top of their game and very friendly & attentive. Still remember me by name even though last visit was 7 mths ago!!! :-) Couple of others on-site restaurants which are equally great. One is Indian and the other Italian. Highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peekmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcLorenz, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Kolkata, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Dear Guest
Many thanks for taking time to write about your stay and of course nothing better and more encouraging for us to receive such a wonderful review.
I am very happy to read that you had such a good stay with us back in December.
The most encouraging however was your observation that we remembered your name after 7 months, this makes all the hard work which goes into the training so worth while. Thank you so much for noticing.
Hope to welcome you back sooner than in 7 months.
With warm regards
Marc Lorenz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    628
    425
    125
    49
    41
See reviews for
197
120
107
761
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
pune , india
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2012

Wonderful place. Close to airport 20 min drive , alwys a pleasure to stay.
Good rroms , great bar and food.
Nice pool and porperty.
Having stayed here 5 times in last two years is like a homecoming to kolkatta.
Kudos

Room Tip: all rooms are great , try higher floors , facing the stadium, view is bad but quieter rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AVIDOC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcLorenz, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Kolkata, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you so much for your wonderful review and taking the time to write about it.
Really appreciated and what a great motivator for the team.
We hope to beat the number of visits you had with us over the next 2 years 2013/14 and can't wait to welcome you back to Hyatt Regency Kolkata.
I sincerely hope that we have your preference on high floor, quiet room on our system to ensure that you always get a room on a high level even in high occupancy times. Please check on this during your next visit.
We are very proud of the fact that we have a quiet, for Kolkata, environment due to the gardens and adjacent stadium grounds and I really appreciate that it is noticed.
Looking forward to welcoming you back soon.
with warm regards
Marc Lorenz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
131 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2012

I was quite surprised at just how pricey the Hyatt in Kolkata was, given the price of similar standard hotels in the vicinity. However, that should not detract from the fact that this is a first class hotel, and in that sense you get what you pay for.

The rooms are comfortable, and well-appointed, the service excellent and the food was delicious.

I would very happily stay here again, although would be careful of shopping for the best price.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DevineInsp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcLorenz, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Kolkata, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you so much for taking the time to write about your experience at Hyatt Regency Kolkata during your last stay, I really appreciate it!
You candid feedback is very much welcome and I am very pleased to read that you had a great stay with us and will be looking forward to your next visit.
In regards to the rates and packages, I would for sure recommend you to check our Hyatt.com offers booked and paid in advance which are available on the website. They are great value!
Once again, many thanks and looking forward meeting you when you next visit us.
With kind regards
Marc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2012

Stayed here as a guest of our friends who were getting married. The staff were very attentive and gracious. By the end of my first day, everybody knew my name. The breakfast spread and location was amazing, the rooms were very large and luxurious, very comfortable pillows, strong showers. The only "problem" was that the swimming pool was too small and the water very cold. Also, the location is somewhat out of town - not a problem if you have a driver or are happy taking cars from the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ClauClau82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcLorenz, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Kolkata, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Dear Honeymoon couple,
Thank you so much for your feedback and more importantly choosing us as your preferred hotel during your honeymoon. This is really an honor for us and speaks for itself. We appreciate it very much.
I am so pleased to read that you had a great experience during your stay and that you enjoyed our Club facilities.
Please don't hesitate to contact me when you hopefully return in the near future as it would be an absolute pleasure to meet you.
With kind regards
Marc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2012

We had two nights here whilst in India for our honeymoon. We arrived late at night but check in was swift and we had a great night's sleep in a club room. We tried out the all day restaurant for breakfast as we had a very early start with Calcutta Walks (see seperate review) and the Club Lounge breakfast wasn't yet open. Excellent breakfast - I am mystified when people comment the buffet wasn't so good. The following day we ate in the Club lounge and had an equally excellent breakfast. If I were to be fussy, I'd say the service was a little slow when things got busy.

This is a very comfortable hotel with good access to the airport. We also stayed at the Oberoi and I have rated them one star more as their service is a little more personal and on the mark.

Room Tip: Go for the Club rooms if budget permits - they are higher up and therefore a little quieter from lob...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allcorners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noida, India
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2012

I visited Hyatt, kolkata on my business trip around 3 years ago, and its wasnt what i had expected in the price range. There not being many options in Salt lake we were to put up in Hyatt with as much as 8600 INR a day. The buffet breakfast was not that great either.

The rooms were quite spacious and nice, but the value for money was simply not there.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ankuraquarian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcLorenz, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Kolkata, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Dear Guest
Let me thank you first of all for taking the time to write about Hyatt Regency Kolkata.
Even though you had some concerns regarding value for money, I very much appreciate your candid feedback provided.
It helps us tremendously to continue to improve our services and in ensuring that we are perceived as value for money is a key point.
I would like to ask you for another chance as I really feel that we can provide excellent value for money.
Please let me know when you plan to travel next and it would be a pleasure to make suitable arrangements for you with the many offers and packages we have available on particular through our website Hyatt.com.
With kind regards
Marc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calcutta, West Bengal, India
1 review
Reviewed November 25, 2012

enjoyed the barbeque night in hyatt for the first time....awesome experiance...awesome ambience by the pool,excellent food and great service...will go back again.....cant belive that only in rs.999 can get all the food and beverage....i'll recomend to everyone to go and enjoy the barbeque night in hyatt regency kolkata.......

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rahulmukherjee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcLorenz, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Kolkata, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Dear BBQ guest and fan!
You made my day reading your review. Thank you so much, it is really appreciated and welcomed.
I am very happy to read that you are truly enjoyed our NEW and recently launched BBQ.
We are going to have one every month during the winter months and are much looking forward to having you back for it on 21 December when the next BBQ takes place.
In the meantime check out our Pool Lounge evenings every Wednesday and Friday night they are amazing value and fun!
Once again, many thanks for your wonderful feedback.
Kind regards
Marc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kolkata (Calcutta) hotels
3.5 mi away
The Oberoi Grand
The Oberoi Grand
#1 of 221 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
2,055 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata
The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata
#2 of 221 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
1,349 reviews
5.1 mi away
Taj Bengal Kolkata
Taj Bengal Kolkata
#5 of 221 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
1,854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Swissotel Kolkata
Swissotel Kolkata
#9 of 221 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
1,441 reviews
3.6 mi away
Novotel Kolkata Hotel and Residences
Novotel Kolkata Hotel and Reside...
#8 of 221 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
1,318 reviews
1.9 mi away
ITC Sonar
ITC Sonar
#4 of 221 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
2,044 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Kolkata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Kolkata

Property: Hyatt Regency Kolkata
Address: Ja - 1 Sector Iii | Salt Lake City, Kolkata (Calcutta) 700098, India
Location: India > West Bengal > Kolkata District > Kolkata (Calcutta)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#6 Romantic Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#7 Business Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#9 Spa Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#10 Luxury Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hyatt Regency Kolkata 5*
Number of rooms: 233
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hyatt Regency Kolkata is a luxury business hotel in Kolkata (or “Calcutta”), India. Being the first five-star hotel in Salt Lake City, it is also acclaimed as one of Kolkata’s favourites. The hotel creates the feel of a private cocoon away from the complexities of modern living without giving up any of its luxuries. Saddled between Netaji Subhas Chandra Bose Airport and Howrah Railway Station which lie just 11 km (7 miles) to either side, Hyatt Regency Kolkata enjoys a prime location near the city’s IT hub and is a preferred business destination of East India. A tranquil retreat amid spectacular landscaped gardens, featuring 233 luxury guest rooms and suites, the hotel allows guests to relax and rejuvenate while staying in Kolkata. Apart from all rooms having access to Wi-Fi Internet, guests on the Regency Club Floor enjoy access to the luxurious Regency Club Lounge and evening cocktail hours. Specialty restaurants like Guchhi, La Cucina,and the 24-hour Waterside Café offer a selection of the finest cuisines. Sink into a range of premium spirits and cocktails at The Bar or at Poolside. Pamper yourself at the holistic spa – Club Prana – featuring a 24-hour gymnasium, squash and tennis courts and a landscaped pool.Being one of the most popular business hotels in the city, Hyatt Regency Kolkata provides extensive banqueting facilities for meetings, incentives, conferences, exhibitions and weddings. The hotel also offers great value meeting packages and personalized catering services.This Kolkata hotel has several interesting tourist attractions nearby. The Science City, an impressive science museum complex, is only 4 km (2.5 miles) away. Nicco Park, an open-air amusement park with an attached water theme park, is also nearby. The Missionaries of Charities is one of the prominent sites for all who visit this cultural capital. Hence, while staying at Hyatt Regency Kolkata one can enjoy many of on-site and off-site activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Kolkata reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Kolkata Hotel Kolkata (Calcutta)
Hyatt Regency Hotel Kolkata
Kolkata Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Regency Kolkata India/Kolkata (Calcutta), Asia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing