We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hyatt Regency Kolkata
Nearby Hotels
Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata(Kolkata (Calcutta))
$117
$86
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Taj Bengal Kolkata(Kolkata (Calcutta))
$133
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$91
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Swissotel Kolkata(Kolkata (Calcutta))
$75
$67
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Radisson Kolkata Ballygunge(Kolkata (Calcutta))
$113
$107
Radisson
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
ITC Sonar(Kolkata (Calcutta))
$199
$106
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Park Kolkata(Kolkata (Calcutta))
$130
$72
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Oberoi Grand(Kolkata (Calcutta))
$161
$106
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Peerless Inn(Kolkata (Calcutta))
$69
$53
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$109
$64
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Reviews (1,424)
Filter reviews
1,426 results
Traveler rating
707
470
138
60
51
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
707
470
138
60
51
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswaterside cafela cucinasalt lake stadiumbusiness triprain showerindian restaurantexcellent hotelpool siderooms are bigroom servicebreakfast spreadclose to the airportcomfortable stayquality of foodexcellent staygymambience
Filter
Updating list...
1,090 - 1,095 of 1,426 reviews
Reviewed November 4, 2012

The Hyatt has a host of very attentive and friendly staff. The rooms are very spacious, clean and inviting. The two restaurants on site serve plenty of good traditional food and beer. The facilities were of the high standard you would expect from such a luxury hotel.

The only down sides were; it's proximity to the city centre, if you are wanting to explore the sites, sounds and smells of the city it can become quite an arduous journey in and out, especially with the manic driving style adopted in India.
Also the internet is charged as an extra which was a disappointment as for the price you pay, free internet is not too much to ask.

Room Tip: Any room will be a good room. Book it.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TomElsworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

I stayed on a busines trip here for 5 days and they could not have been more accomodating.
The hotel itself is spacious and clean, which is good as there's not a lot outside the hotel! So you don't feel trapped at all. The pool is lovely and the gym has enough for a travellers needs and was never over crowded but always in use.
We used the Italian for two nights as it was so good the first time we had to go back again!
The buffet breakfast has enough varience to suit every type of palate, the pancakes were particularly good!!
The rooms are a really good size with a very spacious bathroom, it doesn't just feel like every other hotel - there's thought gone into this one so it feels a bit more special.
Wifi was good although you ahd to wait to get from one area to another as the building is so big! But this was not a problem. I would highly recommend it and I was sad we had to leave to head to Delhi. A great team.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SarahandRichP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Years ago we escaped from Oberoi ( my allergies really spiked with the dusty room) and took refuge in Hyatt. Since then I have always stayed with them. They are exceptionally clean, friendly team and great food, nice location. What else does one need ? It does get a bit loud if there are some events on the pool side, but that is only on occassions.
I have used their spa and ayurveda sessions, and they are great deals !
The pool is nice and well maintained.
The breakfast is fantastic with enough fresh fruits to keep you healthy.
I like the food at La Cucina, their lunch buffet is great esp the antipastis.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rahul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LorenzMarc, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Kolkata, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2012

Dear Guest,
You made my day with your report but first and foremost, thank you so much for taking the time to write about your experience with us. It is much appreciated!
I am very happy to read that you enjoyed our facilities and services provided and there is nothing better than a guest who appreciates this.
You will be glad to know that we are in the final process of creating a completely new landscaped events lawn so that guests around the pool will no longer be disturbed when outdoor events are taking place.
Looking forward to welcoming you back in the hopefully near future.
With kind regards
Marc

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

This is a property in the Salt Lake city of Kolkata.

It is a beautiful Hotel (5 * Property) and is a very well laid out Hotel.

The rooms are nice and large and very well laid out. The area around is not crowded as most of Kolkata and the facilities are excellent.

It has lovely bathrooms and are very user friendly with all amenities.

The pool side bar is very nice and sitting by the pool in the evening and having a drink/ excellent cocktails is an amazing event. The barman (forgetting his name) churns out the most heavenly cocktails. My wife use to enjoy her drinks and we had a lovely time there. We were there for 4 days and the entire staff was very helpful.

The restaurant churns out great food and the layout is very nice.

A must stay if you are visiting Kolkata for Business or with family

Room Tip: The left wing rooms are very nice and the rooms facing the pool have an excellent view.
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anil1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

This may sound strange - but every now and then - we check in to a hotel near home for a break. No chores to deal with - and there is no pressure for "day-trips".

I found the Hyatt an ideal place for this kind of lazy holidays - where mornings are spent sleeping and evenings in the spa or in the bath tub. So time sort of lose relevance - and you follow a cycle of eat-sleep-wakeup at your own pace.

Here are the positives :
-> The rooms are nice - we checked into the bigger ones -
-> The bath tub is great - I am addicted to bath tubs and spend a significant time there :-) .
-> The SPA is excellent - fantastic. Try out the Ayurveda massage - while it may be a bit uncomfortable with sandy stuff being rubbed all over you - the after effect is heavenly.
-> The Coffee shop serves a decent breakfast - but since we were staying in the club room - we had breakfast in the club lounge. It was quieter - but the spread was limited

-> For out of towners -- its not far from the airport - its near the Salt Lake Sector V and New Town ( if you have come there on business ) -- and its bang on the Eastern Metro Bypass. However, if your work takes you to the middle of the city - guess this is a bit far from all the action.

-> For Shoppers -- its near City Centre 1 , and Mani Square. The Swabhumi is bang opposite ( but I dont buy any stuff from there - neither do I recommend anyone to spend a penny on Swabhumi ).


Negatives
-> The food can get a bit monotonous after the first 2 days - so be prepared to step out and eat outside
-> Far from Calcutta Business District ( which BTW can be a bonus if you want peace and quiet )

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank snandi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews