We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impressive hotel - fantastic food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hyatt Regency Kolkata

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Kolkata
Ranked #9 of 216 Hotels in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Impressive hotel - fantastic food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2012

Really enjoyed my stay here - beautiful hotel. The restuarants and club lounge were also fantastic.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank peteoxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    598
    401
    118
    46
    32
See reviews for
184
115
102
719
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2012

We stayed for a week at Hyatt and it was a wonderful experience. The hotel location is quite cool and with serene environment. It is midway between the airport or the railway station. The surroundings are quite relaxing and the staff is also very cooperative, supportive and kind. We had a Good Buffet that was almost fulfilling all our desire for veg or nonveg choices. The poolside area is also very relaxing and cool place for children too. Rooms are quite spacious with all amenities. Room service is also very efficient and quick. Overall,We enjoyed our trip and I would also suggest to the other people to come and enjoy in this hotel

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sonia31772
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2012

This is the worst stay in a hotel of it's kind. There are basic flaws which are broken and management did not have anything to say except a sorry. It's not going to work for very long. At least I will never try to stay there in future.
(a) Aircon without a heating facility! Can't imagine at a 4/5 star hotel. Surprisingly, hotel staff thinks Cooling should be the only function of AC, whereas AC Control Panel had a HEAT option which never works!
(b) Over phone, all the time I was addressed as Mr. Kalita (few time even Ms Kalita). Room was booked in my name (Lahkar, Rupam) and Kalita is the surname of my wife.
(c) I had to call 3 times to get some help with my luggage while departing. I gave a 10 min advance intimation and waited for 15 minutes before making he 2nd call.
(d) Telephone on the bed side table was faulty; same was the case with weighing machine.
(e) Though I would say that most of the guest services personnel were well cultured, we could still see few staff doing something unexpected here and there.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lahkar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
delhi
Level Contributor
56 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2012

Stayed at the Hyatt while connecting to flights at Kolkata airport. The hotel is basically what one would expect from a Hyatt.

Reception staff a tad frosty, but the room was comfortable, Italian restaurant very good. Free internet will be an overdue innovation.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pushkarini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
79 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2012

The hotel is located quite far from the heart of Kolkata (Calcutta) city but it's meant for people attending conferences, for football matches at nearby Salt Lake stadium or some business. The lobby immediately gives you an impression of spaciousness - a feel good factor. Rooms are nice & cozy. The food is really good, particularly the breakfast spread. The staff is ever eager to help you with the menu of the day. I was forced to eat some "Kochuris" in the morning even after a very heavy breakfast. In Kolkata, never fail to taste the Misti Doi (sweet yogurt). I have stayed here many a times.

Room Tip: all rooms appear fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank basaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Level Contributor
49 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2012

Hyatt being one of my favourite hotel chain across the globe, and that too being located in my hometown is always close to my heart.
I visited Kolkata after long long time and naturally preferred to stay at Hyatt being next to my native place. Property is good, rooms are good, bathrooms are big and modern, restaurant is very good with great breakfast. But what dissapointed me is the staff professionalism. Staff is not upto the mark of Hyatt brand. Staff are very very ordinary level who needs lot of training and grooming to the international standards, expected from Hyatt tag.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joymumu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
76 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2012

I stayed at the Hyatt for a business trip in August 2011. Distances from the airport in Kolkata can be pretty long, and this is one of the closer hotels. However, it is some distance from the old city so keep that in mind.
The hotel itself is large and grand, right from the driveway to the rooms. The breakfast spread is superb and makes you overeat.
If you dont mind spending a little more, I would suggest going in for the Club rooms. With free wifi and drinks in the club lounge, they are definitely worth the extra.
Business centre facilities are adequate and the outdoor pool is nice.
All in all, a good property to consider when in Kolkata.

Room Tip: The club floor rooms which face the pool are nicer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zoomba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kolkata (Calcutta) hotels
3.5 mi away
The Oberoi Grand
The Oberoi Grand
#1 of 216 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,927 reviews
5.1 mi away
Taj Bengal Kolkata
Taj Bengal Kolkata
#2 of 216 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,729 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata
The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata
#5 of 216 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Swissotel Kolkata
Swissotel Kolkata
#6 of 216 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,312 reviews
1.9 mi away
ITC Sonar
ITC Sonar
#4 of 216 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,658 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Park Kolkata
The Park Kolkata
#16 of 216 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Kolkata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Kolkata

Property: Hyatt Regency Kolkata
Address: Ja - 1 Sector Iii | Salt Lake City, Kolkata (Calcutta) 700098, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > West Bengal > Kolkata (Calcutta)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#6 Romantic Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#7 Business Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#7 Spa Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#9 Luxury Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hyatt Regency Kolkata 5*
Number of rooms: 233
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hyatt Regency Kolkata is a luxury business hotel in Kolkata (or “Calcutta”), India. Being the first five-star hotel in Salt Lake City, it is also acclaimed as one of Kolkata’s favourites. The hotel creates the feel of a private cocoon away from the complexities of modern living without giving up any of its luxuries. Saddled between Netaji Subhas Chandra Bose Airport and Howrah Railway Station which lie just 11 km (7 miles) to either side, Hyatt Regency Kolkata enjoys a prime location near the city’s IT hub and is a preferred business destination of East India. A tranquil retreat amid spectacular landscaped gardens, featuring 233 luxury guest rooms and suites, the hotel allows guests to relax and rejuvenate while staying in Kolkata. Apart from all rooms having access to Wi-Fi Internet, guests on the Regency Club Floor enjoy access to the luxurious Regency Club Lounge and evening cocktail hours. Specialty restaurants like Guchhi, La Cucina,and the 24-hour Waterside Café offer a selection of the finest cuisines. Sink into a range of premium spirits and cocktails at The Bar or at Poolside. Pamper yourself at the holistic spa – Club Prana – featuring a 24-hour gymnasium, squash and tennis courts and a landscaped pool.Being one of the most popular business hotels in the city, Hyatt Regency Kolkata provides extensive banqueting facilities for meetings, incentives, conferences, exhibitions and weddings. The hotel also offers great value meeting packages and personalized catering services.This Kolkata hotel has several interesting tourist attractions nearby. The Science City, an impressive science museum complex, is only 4 km (2.5 miles) away. Nicco Park, an open-air amusement park with an attached water theme park, is also nearby. The Missionaries of Charities is one of the prominent sites for all who visit this cultural capital. Hence, while staying at Hyatt Regency Kolkata one can enjoy many of on-site and off-site activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Hyatt Regency Kolkata reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Kolkata Hotel Kolkata (Calcutta)
Hyatt Regency Hotel Kolkata
Kolkata Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Regency Kolkata India/Kolkata (Calcutta), Asia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing