We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool Hotel”
Review of Fairlawn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Fairlawn Hotel
Ranked #54 of 221 Hotels in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Dhaka City, Bangladesh
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Cool Hotel”
Reviewed November 16, 2012

This is a great place to stay if you are visiting Kolkata, It does have a look of British period and Museum type, very well organised, big room, clean, have a great bar in the lawn, my two nights stay here was great. The room rate is bit high 4000 INR having no swimming pool or gym, but its OK to have the environment which is very rare in many other hotels in Sudur street.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sadique_1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    143
    62
    40
    24
See reviews for
50
111
65
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Going to Sudder St (a.k.a. backpacker tourist central) and not visiting the Fairlawn is like missing the elephant in the room. Not only is this place famous, it's very cute, and the beer garden offers a small haven of tranquillity from off the street. Whether with friends or on your own, this is a good place to retreat and read your Tagore while enjoying a drink or something to eat.

The rooms are idiosyncratic. Some nicer than others. They have a colonial and highly personalised feel to them. Do look at the price you are paying - don't expect something super swish at these prices, but you do get charm.

It's frequently necessary to book ahead. It has been popularised by Lonely Planet and also a TV programme in which Felicity Kendall speaks about staying there during her childhood.

Room Tip: If there is a choice of rooms, have a look at all the ones available as they are all different.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Location
Helpful?
3 Thank TheBigStick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

This hotel may have been great in its heyday but our recent visit was just terrible. Double sheet, ripped & frayed down the middle to make a single sheet, toilet that didn't work, dirty and obviously had not been cleaned for years in places in the rooms and rats running around in the outdoor dining room. Should have realised when the first thing you see is rat trap boxes down the drive.
It is run nowadays by grumpy men who are not keen to assist you and do not go out of their way at all to help. We stayed one night, cut our losses as we had prepaid and left. Hysterically dreadful place and not recommended. Might be OK if you are a young, poor backpacker and will put up with anything.

Room Tip: Best to avoid it altogether.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
6 Thank Robin906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kolkata (Calcutta) hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

What a unique place! A paradise of greenery and fairy lights, family momentos and showbiz photos, chintz, lace, potted palms and an endless flurry of activity. Its city central location is unparalleled and the small but hectic courtyard bar that you cross to get to Sudder Street helps that transition.into the very real world that is Kolkata.Violet is the centre of attention and is delightful company.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jamieravi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Central, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2012

Fairlawn is one of the few places left in the world retaining its eccentric charm as the larger than life owner, Mrs Violet Smith, 92, sits in the foyer and holds court with regular guests. It’s was my third stay in a decade and this time it was clear change is afoot. My earlier rooms had been strange experiences but this time the main rooms seem to have undergone a significant upgrade. Our room was clean and quiet with a good bathroom and excellent beds. The wireless internet worked well. Outside the door the truly unique décor of the hotel is there, overwhelmingly green and colourful. The hotel is right in the middle of Kolkata; a short walk to Newmarket and its shopping, the Maiden and Park Street with its restaurants. Its off-street nature gives if the flavour of an enclave. I would stay there again, but time is moving in on Fairlawn and its seemingly sprawling garden, bar and facilities a hogging up much needed space in Kolkata. In the short term though, it has one big problem; breakfast. They serve only one menu, it is delivered in a public school hall compulsory fashion and, frankly, it is disgusting. The sausages – if that is what they were – looked like dog droppings and the eggs have no flavour. The bed is cardboard and the coffee is bland… But even then I would return…

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Michael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daegu, South Korea
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2012

We arrived in Kolkata in the evening only to find that the hotel we had booked didn't exist. We went from cheap dive to cheap dive around Sudder St looking for anything so we could gather our thoughts after the chaos of having tout after tout following us. We were, after all, fresh meat in their eyes what with our backpacks on.

We stumbled into the Fairlawn and, luckily enough, they had a room for us. It was a bit higher budget than we would have normally gotten but we were in, what we suspect, was the best room. It was a huge room with a brilliantly clean bathroom and hot shower, towels and soap included.

The next morning we asked if we could stay for two more nights and it was no problem.

Our train leaving Kolkata didn't leave until 10pm on the final day and they let us keep the room until 5pm for no extra charge. We relaxed in the nice restaurant until taking a cab to the station.

The staff is incredible. Friendly and helpful and went out of their way to help us. The place has tons of character and is amazingly central in the city. It's also a wonderful oasis from the chaos that is Kolkata. The Fairlawn hotel saved us from us miserable Kolkata experience.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rorybbellows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
almunecar
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2012

An eccentric but delightful hotel. The staff were very attentive, and the owner, Mrs Violet Smith, is a charming hostess. The rooms are basic, but spacious and everything works...hot water, air conditioniong, even the wi-fi. the outside bar in the garden is a magnet for visitors and residents and is a great place for people watching. The memorabilia displayed on the stairs could take you days to read. The location is central and the street life around and about is fascinating. We visited tailors, bough clothes and shoes and ate out - all within a few hundred metres of the hotel. The food is plentiful, portions are huge and breakfast is exactly what you would have got in an english seaside boarding house in the seventies (this is a compliment!)!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank franbarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kolkata (Calcutta) hotels
0.0 mi away
Lytton Hotel
Lytton Hotel
#68 of 221 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
198 reviews
0.1 mi away
Astoria Hotel
Astoria Hotel
#164 of 221 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
154 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Astor Hotel Kolkata
The Astor Hotel Kolkata
#26 of 221 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Kempton Hotel
Kempton Hotel
#35 of 221 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
171 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Lindsay
The Lindsay
#47 of 221 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
260 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Oberoi Grand
The Oberoi Grand
#1 of 221 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
2,055 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairlawn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairlawn Hotel

Property: Fairlawn Hotel
Address: Sudder Street, Kolkata (Calcutta) 700016, India
Location: India > West Bengal > Kolkata District > Kolkata (Calcutta)
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 221 Hotels in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Fairlawn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Fairlawn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Fairlawn
Fairlawn Hotel India/Kolkata (Calcutta), Asia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing