We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (225)
Filter reviews
225 results
Traveler rating
27
87
74
28
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
27
87
74
28
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssudder streetnational museumindian museummid pricehotel bareach eveningbars and restaurantsofficial tourcentral kolkatalocation is excellenttravel deskspacious rooman oasisthree nightsfront office staffcomfortable staymarket
Filter
Updating list...
172 - 177 of 225 reviews
Reviewed July 14, 2010

Everything you expect from a hotel is provided by this hotel. I was to meet a delegate in Kolkata and my company arranged me a accommodation in Lytton Hotel. The spacious was a heaven a business tour like mine. The hotel is situated in center of city so it was easy for me to reach required destinations easily. Then the hotel has a very good multi cuisine restaurant having a wide varieties of food. The room was very well equipped with all the facilities. Though i did not pay from my pocket but i can say that the hotel has a very fair tariff. I would like to arrange myself the accommodation in this hotel whenever i visit Kolkata.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jogi_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2010

The Litton Hotel is located at heart of the city; in the shopping zone. Location is great. Most of the times this hotel remains packed and difficult to get an accommodation. I got the room here through 4-5 days’ advance booking. The room was neat and clean, comfortable beds but everything was a bit old. Curtains were smelly and moldy, the telephone was dusty, the stairs and hallways were also old; in fact the entire hotel had a faded décor. The lift was quite old – most probably first generation series. The shower was in good condition as well as the toilet.

Room service was a bit slow. Food was good and the service in the restaurant was also good. The morning breakfast was lovely: it had Indian and western combination and good selection of fresh fruits.

It is a mid ranged hotel and preferred for its location advantage. I will not mind staying here again.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelpagla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2010

At the core of this hotel is its British inheritance, a spunky name on an equally spunky street. This place has the look of an old British hotel converted to a modern four star facility. The rooms are neat and clean but the look of the room reminds you that its really old. Very friendly staff, prompt room service and a booklet full of facilities and amenities truly make this a good place to stay while on your visit to the City of Joy. The airport drop was also friendly and on time. But the serenity in the middle of the crowded Sudder Street is the USP of this place. Quiet in the middle of chaos.

A bit expensive - 5.5k INR for a nights stay is probably the only downer, but I personally felt it was money well spent.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Orly D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2010

Hotel rooms ok, not a problem, service ok, food ok, main advantage is it is near to some night clubs and pubs.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mmatange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2010

Location is great. right at the centre of the city with the park street market a couple of metres away. however, rooms are average and the service is poor. looks like a unionized staff who will put it on your face that it is not their job and get in touch with some other person concerned for your problem. so reception will not tackle housekeeping calls and vice versa.

the owner (or son of the same) is a car fan and you will find a host of high end cars in the parking lot. makes for a good sign. however room view from windows is abysymmal. even the rooms i stayed in always had the window type a/c's covered with curtains. horrible.

food is good and the service provided inside the restaurant is good. you will find a lot of foreigners staying here. if given an option, i would rather stay somewhere else,

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nishant_Mishra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews