We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (225)
Filter reviews
225 results
Traveler rating
27
87
74
28
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
27
87
74
28
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssudder streetnational museumindian museummid pricehotel bareach eveningbars and restaurantsofficial tourcentral kolkatalocation is excellenttravel deskspacious rooman oasisthree nightsfront office staffcomfortable staymarket
Filter
Updating list...
114 - 119 of 225 reviews
Reviewed May 31, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for two nights. It's an old hotel . The food is excellent and staff is very helpful . The rooms are really big and clean but not modern . The new market is walking distance from the hotel . You can find lots of foreigners in this hotel . It is actually a business travellers hotel and located on a busy road. Overall a nice hotel with good parking facilities

Room Tip: Take room away from road site to have a quiet sleep
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Inderjit_1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

I stayed at the hotel for 3 nights. The entry is through crowded bylanes and into a place that does not give the feel of a high quality hotel. The room alloted was in the adjoining buliding as it is spread over 2 bldgs. The reception and restaurants in one and the living accomodation in the other. The room was nice and clean. So was the bathroom, although you had to leave the tap on for 10 mins or more to get warm water (reception advised me to do that- what a waste!!!). No central ac- individual units which the housekeeping leave on even if you are not in the room all day. The service for an iron or other things you ask for is quick.

The restaurant is quite dingy though the food, particularly the breakfast was good and had the requisite variety - fruits, juice, north indian, south indian, continental and some chinese too. Cant say about the hygeine part bec i saw a shabby looking fellow carrying milk in a vessel in the open without any cover towards the restaurant :-P.

Although the rates are on the higher side they neither have a pool nor a gym or a fitness center (not even a few dumbells in a corridor :-D). They provide free wi-fi via a card which is a tad tedious.

Why didnt i go to another hotel? The IPL semi finals and finals were on so no room in any of the better hotels. For that price i would advise going elsewhere.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank R_S_Pathania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We really like to stay at Lytton. We have stayed at Lytton five times. It is very comfortable and clean. Fantastic location. The food was good and the service was great. The staff is very friendly and helpful. We would like to stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Joergen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

We really liked staying here. It is very comfortable and clean and in a great location to see the new market and all the hustle and bustle of Calcutta. We stayed in the suite and it was great value. The food was good enough and the service was great. Fantastic value for what it is. I would stay here again easily.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sugarhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

My sister and I stayed at the Lytton first for one night before heading to Katwa to do some volunteering work at a home for the disabled and then for another 3 nights while volunteering for the Mother Teresa's Missionaries of Charity...
Not overly impressed the first night, the room we were put in wasn't very clean and seemed quite shabby. For about AU$100 a night we expected much better. It also took us having to call the manager about why we didn't have hot water. Turns out you need to let it run for about 5 minutes first... They could have told us that when we checked in.
Anyway, we weren't too concerned since we were leaving the next day. We did consider cancelling our booking when we returned to Kolkata the following week for something a bit better but that ended up being harder than it was worth.
We returned the following week and were put into a much nicer twin room, more space and much cleaner with a larger bathroom with a bath/shower. The reception staff are not particularly friendly but were efficient and trying to get more coffee sachets and creamer for our rooms was interesting. Rather than refreshing what we needed when housekeeping cleaned the room, we had to call room service for it several times which resulted in lots of tips being given. I think that was done deliberately. We eventually just bought our own coffee from the markets. Was easier...
The restaurant staff on the other hand were lovely. Really helpful, friendly and made every effort to accommodate our requests. I would like to give Nicholas (restaurant manager) a special mention as he welcomed us warmly and shared lots of greats tips about Kolkata - and also taught us plenty of Bengali words which helped us along). Thanks Nicholas!
They have a business centre with surprisingly fast and free internet which was a godsend after being very isolated in Katwa. The buffet breakfast in the mornings was great however the cut fruit left a lot to be desired - over handled and not particularly fresh. Don't expect any western food on the buffet however they seem to be happy to make omelettes or scrambled eggs if that's your preference. We love Indian food so were quite happy with traditional Indian dishes for breakfast.
Overall, returning sweaty and dirty to our clean, air-conditioned room for a hot shower and a gin & tonic at the end of a hard day was wonderful. Not great value for money at around AU$100 a night but ok... And we'll stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TheShieldsys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews