We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (225)
Filter reviews
225 results
Traveler rating
27
87
74
28
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
27
87
74
28
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssudder streetnational museumindian museummid pricehotel bareach eveningbars and restaurantsofficial tourcentral kolkatalocation is excellenttravel deskspacious rooman oasisthree nightsfront office staffcomfortable staymarket
Filter
Updating list...
119 - 124 of 225 reviews
Reviewed March 12, 2013

The Lytton Hotel is in a convenient location, close to the Hogg Market, interesting shopping and the Oberoi Hotel. It is a collection of buildings, really. I stayed there twice in February, 2013, and each time found the rooms to be comfortable and clean. The old-fashioned airconditioners might choof out a bit too much noise in the summer season, but it would be a small price to pay for the comfort. The basin did not have a plug, and so I always felt as if I was wasting water when shaving. There were plenty of staff - in fact, they seemed to materialize out of nowhere each time you went to your door! Breakfast was tasty and varied, although i was surprised that the tea was allowed to stew for so long. Wifi is available and there were two computers usually available in the business centre.

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing into the courtyard.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Davo55_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

We enjoyed our stay here and will reserve this hotel again for future trips to Kolkata.

At check-in, we asked the manager for a choice of rooms, and we were given two to look at, both on the first floor above grade. The first room looked into the parking court, which we thought would probably be quieter than looking at the street. It was a moderately spacious room and would do, though it was smaller than what we’ve come to expect. The second room was altogether nicer, with fancier details spotted about, greater size, a more comfortable sitting area. But it looked onto one of the busy alleys between Sudder Street and New Market, alive with motorcycles (and, as we later saw, cars noisily forcing their way through by dint of horn). We reckoned we want one like the second but on the same side as the first, so we went down to ask. And indeed such a room was produced. We were taken to 218, a larger room (it must be at least 16’ x 22’) with a comfortable sitting area, table, and chairs for dining, king-sized bed, a TV pedestal vacant because the TV was wall hung (small by our current standards), an armoire and luggage counter in the entry recess, and a spacious and apparently good toilet. We took this room. We asked for extra towels and other missing items and settle in. Everything we requested was delivered in due time. We did notice that the staff stick around waiting for tips, something we had read about in other reviews.

The buffet breakfast was quite good, having all manner of South Indian, Chinese (not bad for once) and Western food. When we asked about the source of the orange juice, we were told it was canned, with no water added. The manager even got two fresh glasses right out of the can delivered to us.

WiFi was free, you just need to ask at the desk for a username and password. Unfortunately, it was down quite a bit during our stay.

We had a few minor issues with the bathroom:
• there were tiny ants running around on the floor and on all the sink and counters; we didn’t mention this because we didn’t want insecticide to be sprayed in the room
• the electric outlets in the bathroom were not firmly affixed to the wall - it looked a bit dangerous, but we didn’t use them; had we mentioned this, they would probably have sent some to fix this

Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank hfot2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

I have stayed here several times and found the rooms comfortable. The amenities in them are usually up to scratch. I had trouble with the safe in my room but somebody came immediately and appeared to fix it. This is a tip for those who might have a problem with those safes you feed a code into to close and open them. Inside the door is a box containing four AA batteries. It turned out when I examined it (the chap who checked the safe didn't bother) I found the batteries were corroded so replaced them and it worked a treat! Also the hot tap (on the left) in the showers needs to be run a long time before the water comes through. Gaylords restaurant does good meals and a wide choice of breakfast foods. A few yards away is the oasis beer garden of the Fairlawn hotel - just the spot after a sweaty trudge round New Market.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Only had 2 nights here because we had to move from Fairlawn, but we were happy, room was very spacious, wifi was reliable and actually worked in our room, TV worked, coffee/tea making facilities. Staff were very attentive and friendly. Only a few steps from Fairlawn, so not far to move.

Room Tip: Rooms facing back of Hotel quieter as off Sudder St.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank crossdon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Good and clean hotel. Rooms are making you feel right at home. The location is very close to the New Market area, and some great small restaurants. We found it a good location to venture out over this hectic city.
The only minus is the somewhat reserved staff. At first I thought it was personal, after I didn't wanted to leave my passport at the checkin desk, but it turned out to be theire way of handeling all of the guests in the same manner. Nevertheless a very professional runned hotel. A good choice.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 110 and were very happy with it.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChriMo_015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews