We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel on a Great Location!!”
Review of Lytton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Lytton Hotel
Ranked #68 of 221 Hotels in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Tinsukia, India
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 415 helpful votes
“Good Hotel on a Great Location!!”
Reviewed February 7, 2013

I stayed in this Hotel from 2nd to 5th of Feb 2013. I chose this hotel for its location and price. I found this to be the most value for money hotel. A Delux Room would cost u 5k & Suit 7.5k during season. The staff were very helpful & co-operative. Food was very good. The Breakfast was Good.
This hotel would suit everyone, be it solo, couple or family.
The best of the bestest part is its vincity to the Park Street and local or street market.

I recommend this hotel & would certainly put in here in my next visit to Kolkata.

Room Tip: Ask for Discount!! Ask the bellboy to recommend you the best room!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SaileshSarmah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    78
    66
    21
    9
See reviews for
21
37
38
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

Given what Kolkata is like, this hotel is a reprieve. Perhaps a little dated and a tad slow but still a great location and solid service. Rooms are spacious, well kept and staff try their best. Yep, if I'm back ill stay here given what you get for the price, it's great value.

Stayed February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jerome C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights, room was clean, comfortable bed.
Within walking distance from Park Street and the museum was around the corner.
Bar area small but nice, staff very attentive.
Only had breakfast there but that was fine, plenty of choice.
Would stay again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Canterburylass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2012

It was only a transit stay for me, but hotel left a memory - good one. It's a good hotel, including restaurant, where food was awesome. Staff was courteous and helpful.
Only bad was restaurant timings, it closes at 10:30 PM itself.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GauravVermaDDN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2012

The property is quite old and is closely located to new market area in kolkata , due to which there is always an advantage of shopping around and various eating joints as well as entertainment options which are all in walkable distance .
Property is not well maintained and rooms are quite shabby although spacious .
food served is reasonably good.
most of the staff is greedy and expects to be tipped for any basic amenity requested for .
breakfast is good .

Room Tip: rooms on the back side are quite
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vikas G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2012

Kolkata is not particularly known for many classy hotels. Lytton is listed as 3-star, but as good as 4 stars here in the States. Inexpensive, but excellent in every aspect, including bar and high quality restaurant. Rooms have all one wants, staff extremely friendly and helpful. They helped us, as pretty clueless tourists, to visit many pandans at the Durga Puja and we had unforgettable evening. Owner often hangs out in lobby and provides very helpful advice to his guests. Located on Sudder street, near National Museum and Maidan Park. One of the central and more interesting areas of city.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank afainberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
138 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2012

The Lytton Hotel doesn't pretend to be something that it isn't. It is a reasonable mid-price hotel that is centrally located on Sudder Street. Don't come expecting 5 star amenities but the rooms are clean and well set up. The size of the rooms varies a lot as does the age of the fittings. I stayed in this hotel twice and got an older room the first time and a room that had been recently refurbished the second time. The latter was very nicely done with a completely new bathroom. There was plenty of hot water, the air conditioners worked fine and there was a small bar fridge in both rooms. Other guests complained about the noise and efficiency of their air conditioners so perhaps I was lucky.

There is a nice bar and a restaurant. I only had breakfast there but it was very good with lots of Indian and western choices.

There is wireless internet but it isn't publicised and I only found out about it from another guest who had asked at reception. Access involves a somewhat complicated verification process but it worked reasonably well once set up. There is a money exchange counter in reception but the rates are a little lower than I saw elsewhere.

Overall the Lytton is a good choice for those looking for a clean place that is centrally located.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kolkata (Calcutta) hotels
0.1 mi away
The Lindsay
The Lindsay
#47 of 221 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
260 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sapphire Suites
Sapphire Suites
#48 of 221 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
183 reviews
0.1 mi away
Astoria Hotel
Astoria Hotel
#164 of 221 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Kempton Hotel
Kempton Hotel
#35 of 221 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
171 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Peerless Inn
The Peerless Inn
#22 of 221 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
717 reviews
1.0 mi away
Jameson Inn Shiraz
Jameson Inn Shiraz
#14 of 221 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lytton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lytton Hotel

Property: Lytton Hotel
Address: 14 Sudder Street, Kolkata (Calcutta) 700016, India
Location: India > West Bengal > Kolkata District > Kolkata (Calcutta)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 221 Hotels in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lytton Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Lytton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Lytton Kolkata
Lytton Hotel India/Kolkata (Calcutta), Asia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing