We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth every penny !!”
Review of The Oberoi Grand

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Oberoi Grand
Ranked #1 of 221 Hotels in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Certificate of Excellence
Hyderabad
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Worth every penny !!”
Reviewed February 9, 2014

I stayed for a couple of days on business, but with my family accompanying me. Without a doubt, Grand displayed the most perfect example of service which was at the same time, homely yet professional. The food was divine. A lot of good words have already been written about the property by others, and I am willing to certify that it is worth all that, and more. The property has "personality", a certain "je-ne-sais-quoi" character that lends elegance and charm without being overbearing.

I will be back !

Room Tip: Garden-facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tarvel2learn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GEORGEINCAL, General Manager at The Oberoi Grand, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Dear Trip Advisor Member,

It was a pleasure to have you stay at The Oberoi Grand, Kolkata recently. Thank you for taking the time to write this review on Trip Advisor.

The Oberoi Grand is referred to as the “Grand Dame of Kolkata” which depicts old world charm. As it is located right in the middle of the business district and within close proximity to all places of historic interest we have the privilege of discerning business as well as leisure travellers staying here.

It has been our endeavour to offer excellent accommodation, food and warm and personalised service to all our guests. They are also trained not to be obtrusive and respect guest privacy. Your words of appreciation shall go a long way to motivate our team to continue to deliver a high level of service to our valued guests.

We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to Kolkata and to The Oberoi Grand.


Best Wishes

George Kuruvilla
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,053 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,629
    332
    69
    15
    8
See reviews for
326
542
213
708
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (523)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

I did not stay here but went for a business dinner. I realised that they have only a coffee shop that offers multi cuisine food. Though the staff were courteous, they were not at all trained enough to handle guests in manner that fits a hotel of this category. It is time the management looks into the professional management side and not just depend only on the heritage status of the building.

Average food taste and quality.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Subramanian V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GEORGEINCAL, General Manager at The Oberoi Grand, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Dear Trip Advisor Member,

Thank you for taking out the time to write this review on Trip Advisor.

I am concerned to note your feedback regarding your experience at La Terrasse our All day dining restaurant where our chefs present to you a variety cuisines from the world.

I have shared your concern regarding your dinner experience with our Executive Chef and the Food and Beverage Service Manager and they are equally disappointed to note your feedback. We assure you that on your next visit our Chefs would prepare dishes as per your taste as our endeavour is to provide excellent service and food combined with warm and efficient service.

We request you consider The Oberoi Grand on your future visits to Kolkata so we could make amends and reaffirm your faith in us.

The team and I sincerely look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back.


Best Wishes


George Kuruvilla
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 8, 2014

the cordial welcome of all the staffs
the interior decorations like heritage indian palace
the luxury to feel like president
the ambience as if its heaven
the food - so tasty and mouth watering
the wine of france
and the great service ---------- feels as if the sky has reached the ground.

Room Tip: higher floor is so quiet 2nd floor gives you a glimpse of the heritage kolkata top floor and 1 st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SIDLOVEALINA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GEORGEINCAL, General Manager at The Oberoi Grand, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Dear Trip Advisor Member,

It was a pleasure to have you stay at The Oberoi Grand Kolkata. Thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor.

My team and I are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay. The colonial architecture and Victorian style interiors make The Oberoi Grand a unique destination in itself should you wish to experience grandeur along with all modern day facilities and delectable cuisine.

Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back on your return visit to Kolkata.


Best Wishes

George Kuruvilla
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2014

This hotel has an impressive lobby, a good pool area and efficient staff.

However, their main restaurant is bland and uninspired and feels more like a coffee shop, whilst their bar area is totally appalling, complete with an inappropriate country and western singer and a pool table. The breakfast buffet selection was adequate, although food quality was variable (with items from the specially cooked menu being inedible on both mornings).

The hotel is in a good location but it does feel like a corporate hotel with dull and unimaginative furniture throughout. If you are looking for a high end Indian hotel experience, then the Oberoi Grand in Calcutta is very disappointing and will only be remembered for the wrong reasons.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LombardLondon_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GEOKOL, General Manager at The Oberoi Grand, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Dear Trip Advisor Member,

It was a pleasure to have you stay at The Oberoi Grand Kolkata. Thank you for taking out time to write this review on Trip Advisor.

I am concerned to note your feedback regarding your experience at our hotel. I understand you did not appreciate the ambience of Bar and some other areas of the hotel. Being a heritage hotel over 125 years old, our endeavor is to maintain the 'old world' charm with traditional Victorian style interiors and décor. We are also considering a renovation of the bar in the near future and would certainly keep in mind your feedback on the atmosphere and ambience.

We do however invest significant effort in maintaining the property through constant maintenance and up-gradation. I note your appreciation of the hotel lobby, the pool area and the efficiency of the staff.

I have shared your observations regarding breakfast with our Executive Chef. Our Chefs will ensure this is corrected. Our chefs normally follow the practise of meeting guests at the table and prepare dishes as per taste. Our endeavor is to provide excellent accommodation, service and food with personalised service. Please accept my sincere apology regarding the shortfalls you experienced during this visit.

My team and I request you to consider staying at The Oberoi Grand on your future visits to Kolkata. It will give us an opportunity to make amends and reaffirm your faith in us. We look forward to welcoming you back to Kolkata and to The Oberoi Grand.


Best Wishes

George Kuruvilla
General Manager
e-mail: George.Kuruvilla@OberoiHotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2014

charmed by the experience of oberoi calcutta. excellent n verry very courteous staff. heard this was haunted :P but the buffet spread was amazig and the pool side so beautiful..amazing memories .will come back soon :)

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank anuj28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GEORGEINCAL, General Manager at The Oberoi Grand, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Dear Trip Advisor Member,

It was a pleasure to have you stay at The Oberoi Grand, Kolkata. Thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor.

We are delighted to read such encouraging comments for the hotel and the team who are equally pleased with your feedback and join me in thanking you. The hotel is located in heart of the bustling city of Kolkata but as you walk into its doors, you are transported into a calm and relaxed ambience.

We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back on your return visit to Kolkata.

Best Wishes

George Kuruvilla
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2014

I have been a constant visitor to Oberoi Grand for almost 10 years now. This hotel would amaze you by its royal, old charm look.

The staff is ultra friendly compared to any other 5-Star in Kolkata.

The rooms are lovely and takes you back in years. You will see a lot of wood decor. I was upgraded to a higher room on arrival that pleased me.

They give you the impression that they know you and your likes.

The Location is FANTASTIC!!! Bang in the heart of the city and next to the many street food places in Kolkata.

The Chef is also accommodating and would prepare dishes that are not in the menu.

You will love their breakfast.

Their SPA is quite famous for being the best and I normally never miss it. In this trip, Unfortunately their SPA was fully booked right up to Midnight.

Overall, THE BEST Hotel in Kolkata!

Room Tip: Pool View with Balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunil U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GEORGEINCAL, General Manager at The Oberoi Grand, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Dear Trip Advisor Member,

It was a pleasure to have you stay at The Oberoi Grand Kolkata. Thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor.

I am delighted to note that we could make the stay of your family comfortable. The Oberoi Grand, also known as the Grande Dame of Chowringhee is located in the heart of the city with several places of interest like Victoria Memorial, Indian Museum, Eden Gardens, Howrah Bridge and Raj Bhawan located in close proximity.

We are pleased to know that you also enjoyed our facilities especially The Oberoi Spa. I regret that you could not use the spa as it was fully booked on this occasion.

We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back on your return visit to Kolkata.


Best Wishes

George Kuruvilla
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2014

I travelled on business to Kolkata in Jan 2014 and stayed at the Oberoi Grand, the hotel lobby is huge and impressive, the hotel is centrally located, the check in and check out was smooth and hassle free, the rooms spacious and clean, the service right from the conceirge to the restaurant impeccable, the breakfast spread was good and so was the taste of all items served, the toiletries used in the washroom were top of the line, overall one of the best hotels I have been to and certainly the best in Kolkata, I would highly recommend this Hotel to anyone travelling to Kolkata, the only minor glitch (which I think the Hotel can't do much about) is the size of the washrooms in the base category, the same is small but other than this I can't find out any fault with the Hotel, kudos to the GM and his entire team.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NitKals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GEORGEINCAL, General Manager at The Oberoi Grand, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Dear Trip Advisor Member,

It was a pleasure to have you stay at The Oberoi Grand Kolkata. Thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor.

I am delighted to note that we could make the stay of your family comfortable. The Oberoi Grand, also known as the Grande Dame of Chowringhee is located in the heart of the city with several places of interest like Victoria Memorial, Eden Gardens, Howrah Bridge and Raj Bhawan located in close proximity.

We are pleased to know that you also enjoyed our facilities and also liked the room you had stayed in.

We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back on your return visit to Kolkata.

Best Wishes

George Kuruvilla
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kolkata (Calcutta) hotels
0.5 mi away
The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata
The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata
#2 of 221 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
1,348 reviews
2.0 mi away
Taj Bengal Kolkata
Taj Bengal Kolkata
#5 of 221 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
1,854 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Park Kolkata
The Park Kolkata
#15 of 221 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
1,892 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Swissotel Kolkata
Swissotel Kolkata
#9 of 221 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
1,439 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kolkata
Hyatt Regency Kolkata
#11 of 221 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
1,265 reviews
3.2 mi away
ITC Sonar
ITC Sonar
#4 of 221 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
2,034 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oberoi Grand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oberoi Grand

Property: The Oberoi Grand
Address: 15 Jawaharlal Neharu Road, Kolkata (Calcutta) 700013, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > West Bengal > Kolkata District > Kolkata (Calcutta)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#1 Spa Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#1 Business Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Oberoi Grand 5*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Oberoi Grand, fondly referred as the 'Grande Dame of Chowringhee' offers the ultimate classical residence in the City of Joy. This heritage hotel’s neo-classical facade and grand pillared entrance mark a successful fusion of classical Victorian and traditional Indian style and reflect the city’s colonial history.Standing stately for over 125 years, The Oberoi Grand combines classic architecture and charm with state of the art amenities and facilities, offering guests an oasis of tranquility amidst the bustling city.The hotel features elegantly appointed rooms, equipped with all modern facilities blending uniquely with the colonial architecture.The hotel is located in the main business and shopping district of Kolkata (Park Street, BBD Bag, and Chowringhee) and is in walking distance from most corporate and government offices. It is also conveniently located close to major convention centers, legislative offices, banks, Consulates, Deputy High Commissions, Chambers of Commerce and clubs. This ideal location makes the hotel a perfect base for the business and the leisure traveler.The dining options at the hotel provide a great opportunity to savor cuisines from around the globe. Recreational facilities include an outdoor swimming pool, a fitness centre and a full service Oberoi Spa.The city centre location makes the hotel an ideal conference and meetings venue. The options vary from a spectacular ballroom for large conferences and smaller meeting rooms for business gatherings and seminars. A 24 hour business centre fully equipped with modern facilities includes a meeting room along with secretarial services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Oberoi Grand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Oberoi Grand Hotel Kolkata (Calcutta)
Oberoi Grand Kolkata
Oberoi Grand Hotel
The Oberoi Grand India/Kolkata (Calcutta), Asia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing