We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible”
Review of The Oberoi Grand

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Oberoi Grand
Ranked #1 of 219 Hotels in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Certificate of Excellence
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Incredible”
Reviewed October 19, 2013

Probably one of the best hotel stays that I have experienced. It began with the airport pickup, being greeted by a smiling gentleman in a crisp white uniform. All staff members strived to offer the best service possible and did an outstanding job. The hotel facility is superb and no detail is overlooked. I booked through Booking.com and was able to secure a lower price overtime due to fluctuations in the room rate.
Thanks to concierge Naveer for prearranging my train tickets during Durga Puja and to the waiters in the restaurant where breakfast was served.
Also to the assistant housekeeper and her staff who ensured that my room was immaculate.

Room Tip: I received an upgrade, I would expect that all of the rooms are of excellent quality.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Garry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GEOKOL, General Manager at The Oberoi Grand, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Member,

It was a pleasure to have you stay at The Oberoi Grand Kolkata recently. Thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor.

I am delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay and the team looked after you. The
Oberoi Grand is over 100 years old and we aim at maintaining the charm of the Victorian era with the ambience while combining it with facilities essential for a modern day traveler. I have shared your feedback with Nabeel and he is delighted to note that he could be of service to you.

Thank you for choosing to stay here and we look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to Kolkata and to The Oberoi Grand
Best Wishes

George Kuruvilla
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,006 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,590
    324
    68
    16
    8
See reviews for
313
532
210
693
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (513)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chennai
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013

This is a heritage property, with a history of its own (I’ll probably write about that separately). Now, there's some part of me which really wants to be living in the early 1900s (strange, but true), and so the words "heritage" and "colonial" make me sit up and take notice.

Which was why I had mailed the hotel prior to my arrival and made some specific requests in relation to my stay, as I was keen on taking some photographs.

At check-in, I was greeted by the usual staff, along with Aatreyi Dhar, the Assistant Manager – Front Office. I’ve rarely met such an engaging member of the hotel staff! Check-in was as smooth as could be, and while that was happening, she gave me a low-down on the history of the hotel. Because we weren’t finished with her briefing, she walked me to my room on the 2nd floor. Here’s what I encountered when I got out of the elevator, up to my room.

She continued to explain, that although originally the hotel had over 500 rooms, it now has only a little over 200 operational rooms. The entire frontage of the building that overlooks the Esplanade, has rooms that are boarded up – apparently those are really large rooms with high ceilings, and I have to agree, that it makes no commercial sense to keep those rooms furnished. Later in the evening, I managed to take a picture of these rooms from inside the property.

She indicated that there was a book published by the Oberoi hotels about this property, and said she would try to locate a copy for me to read during my stay.

My room itself was a neat living space. I haven’t seen such a wide corridor other than possibly at the Marriot London County Hall.

As you enter the room, the wardrobe and coffee maker were to one side, and opposite that, the bathroom, which is actually a bit cramped when you compare it with the rest of the room.

My bags had reached the hotel earlier in the day, as I had gone straight to work from the airport. Nonetheless, the bags were already in the room, along with a welcome letter from the property’s general manager, Mr George Kuruvilla.

The room overlooked the courtyard (I couldn’t get one overlooking the pool), but it was too dark to see by the time I got to the room, so I freshened up and headed down for drinks and dinner with some colleagues visiting from overseas.


The hotel has two dining options (Baan Thai – the Thai specialty restaurant, and La Terasse – the multi-cuisine all-day dining option), as well as the Chowringhee Bar (which features a pool table). I managed to get some pictures, and we decided we’d head to the Bar for some drinks

After that, we decided to step out for dinner, so I didn’t sample the hotel’s restaurants that night. But when I got back to my room, I was in for two small but thoughtful surprises. One, the book about the property that Aatreyi had promised, with personal notes from both her as well as Mr Kuruvilla, the property’s general manager. The second was, in my opinion, even more thoughtful – this was a sampling plate of local Bengali desserts! Can’t be sure which of the two I enjoyed more!!!

The next morning, I managed to get some pictures of the views from the balcony of the room. The balcony itself is tiny, but does provide a whiff of fresh air. It was a clear day, and I’m grateful for that because the pictures I took came out well!

Then I headed down to breakfast at La Terasse, the coffee shop, which I’ve mentioned above. Breakfast itself was a reasonably large spread, beginning with coffee and an assortment of juices, along with varieties of cereals, a lot of fresh cut fruits, eggs to order, a large spread of Indian and continental dishes, breads and cheeses, fruit compote, and toast.

I had to check out in a hurry early next morning. The interesting thing was that at check out, there was a small selection of fruit juice and some muffins and croissants, for early check-outs like me. The hotel is used a lot by airlines for their crew, and so I thought this made sense. I had breakfast on-the-go with a couple of Jet Airways pilots who were also checking out of the hotel at the same time as I was. After that, it was a bit of a rush to the airport. So, disappointment that I couldn’t enjoy the facilities much on this visit.

Nonetheless, this is a property I will want to visit at least once more, if not more. Excellent facilities, and an extremely friendly and hospitable team. And I’d like to specifically thank Mr Kuruvilla for such a splendid property, and also, place particular appreciation to Aatreyi Dhar for her personal attention and assistance with my requests. If you ever get to stay at this property, seek her out for some local info, and so say hi to her from me!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aniruddh77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GEOKOL, General Manager at The Oberoi Grand, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Member,

It was a pleasure to have you stay at The Oberoi Grand Kolkata. Thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor.

My team joins me in thanking you for your very generous words of appreciation for the hotel and its services and especially the services rendered by Aatreyi. Such positive feedback goes a long way in motivating them to achieve higher standards of service excellence.

Thank you for your patronage and we look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to The Oberoi Grand and to Kolkata.
Best Wishes

George Kuruvilla
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

This was the best hotel I have ever stayed in and one to which I will compare all others. The staff were helpful and kind beyond expectation, nothing was too much trouble and all their attention felt genuine and honest as if they meant it. The system of not giving tips directly to anyone (all tips should be given at the front desk) enhances this experience as you know the staff are not doing it for personal gain. It is also lovely to be called by your name.

The rooms were clean and well appointed as was the whole hotel. I needed extra items whilst I was there and housekeeping were very helpful. We also borrowed a DVD free of charge.

The food at breakfast was great, anything you could have wanted was there (apart from Marmite! :) and the poached eggs were perfect. It was a nice touch that you could take away a pastry with you for later.

The food in the restaurants and room service was good too, although maybe the drinks were a little expensive.

The spa was good, the ladies were very helpful, kind and well trained - although I do not think they are provided with the best equipment available e.g. wax for waxing.

The health club looked good.

I would love to stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blou17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GEOKOL, General Manager at The Oberoi Grand, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Member,

It was a pleasure to have you stay at The Oberoi Grand Kolkata. Thank you for taking the time for writing a review on Trip Advisor.
I am pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay and found the staff friendly and helpful. They are as delighted as I am for your generous feedback. La Terrasse is one of the finest All Day Dining restaurants in Kolkata and serves a wide range of food from around the world.

Although our Spa, fitness centre and salon are equipped with the most modern equipment, I am disappointed to note that your experience did not match up to your expectations. I apologize for the same and thank you for your feedback as this would allow us to further improve our services and achieve higher standards of excellence.

Thank you for having stayed with us and we look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to The Oberoi Grand and Kolkata.

Best Wishes

George Kuruvilla
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk
Level Contributor
62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Unfortunately, due to Cyclone Phailin, we only had one overnight stay at The Oberoi.
From the security police at the gates, the airport style security at the hotel, the reception team and the dining room staff, we could not fault anyone.
The hotel runs a shared tipping service as there are no gratuities charged and all staff share the tips left at reception box.

The rooms are old grandeur and spotlessly clean. The large double bed was comfortable.
The four day Durga Puja festival was in full flow and we walked out of the hotel into loud and bright festivities.
Thoroughly recommended central Kolkata hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mikeyNorfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GEOKOL, General Manager at The Oberoi Grand, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Member,

It was a pleasure to have you stay at The Oberoi Grand Kolkata. Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor.

The Oberoi Grand is situated in the heart of bustling Kolkata and is a landmark in itself and popularly known as the “Grand dame of Chowringhee”. It is in close proximity to all major attractions of the city for leisure travelers.

Thank you for having stayed with us and we look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to The Oberoi Grand and Kolkata.

Best Wishes

George Kuruvilla
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Stayed in June 2013 with my wife for our Honeymoon trip around India.

As soon as we walked in the hotel we were greeted by smiling happy staff members.

We upgraded to a Suite which was HUGE! Everything about the room was different class, it was a home away from home, the food, staff, location...Everything about this hotel was amazing we went back a few times and also stayed at the oberoi in Agra.

We will stay again!!

Room Tip: Upgrade to a suite if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GEOKOL, General Manager at The Oberoi Grand, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Member,

It was a pleasure to have you stay at The Oberoi Grand Kolkata. Thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor.

I am delighted to know that we managed to make The Oberoi Grand your home in Kolkata and the team joins me in thanking you for your patronage and appreciation.

We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to Kolkata and to The Oberoi Grand.

Best Wishes

George Kuruvilla
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
Level Contributor
74 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

The difference in class is evident to any discerning patron Service and hospitality is par excellence. Subtle differences include the quality of bed linen, toiletries, premium bottled water etc.Step out of the gates to indulge in shopping that ranges from brand names to pavement shops with iconic New Market just around the corner, as is Nizams. Location cuts both ways as I realised. My room was along a side street and late in the night there the quiet was disturbed by altercations - unsavoury. It makes sense to take rooms facing inner courtyard.

Room Tip: Avoid road facing rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gurgaonite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GEOKOL, General Manager at The Oberoi Grand, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Member,

It was a pleasure to have you stay at The Oberoi Grand Kolkata recently. Thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor.
I am pleased to note your positive feedback about the quality of product and services provided at the hotel and that you enjoyed the same during your stay. I am concerned to know that you were disturbed by noise coming from outside the hotel. Our windows are double glazed and prevent from sound travelling inside, however, on this occasion the noise could have been very loud. We will certainly monitor this in future.

On your next visit should you face any inconvenience, please do not hesitate to bring this to my attention or to that of any of our team member’s and I assure you that we would address your concern immediately.

Thank you for having stayed with us and we look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to The Oberoi Grand and Kolkata.

Best Wishes

George Kuruvilla
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

An oasis in Kolkata, beautiful building and swimming pool. all staff hasexcellent services, the location is very convenient ( right in the city center and shopping complex, metro station ).we always feel calm and comfortable whenerer staying in the room, restaurant or hall. Mostly important of all, the staff would take heartily considerations of all you need. To me that really makes them outstanding.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shangtangchang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GEOKOL, General Manager at The Oberoi Grand, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Member,

It was a pleasure to have you stay at The Oberoi Grand Kolkata. Thank you for taking the time to write this review on Trip Advisor.

I am delighted to note your very kind feedback and words of appreciation for the entire team and I thank you on their behalf. Your positive comments are very encouraging and will go a long way in as we endeavor to achieve higher standards of service excellence.

We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back on your return visit to Kolkata.

Best Wishes

George Kuruvilla
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kolkata (Calcutta) hotels
2.0 mi away
Taj Bengal Kolkata
Taj Bengal Kolkata
#3 of 219 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,792 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata
The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata
#6 of 219 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 905 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Park Kolkata
The Park Kolkata
#15 of 219 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Swissotel Kolkata
Swissotel Kolkata
#7 of 219 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,370 reviews
3.2 mi away
ITC Sonar
ITC Sonar
#5 of 219 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,816 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kolkata
Hyatt Regency Kolkata
#11 of 219 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oberoi Grand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oberoi Grand

Property: The Oberoi Grand
Address: 15 Jawaharlal Neharu Road, Kolkata (Calcutta) 700013, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > West Bengal > Kolkata District > Kolkata (Calcutta)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#1 Spa Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#1 Business Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Oberoi Grand 5*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Oberoi Grand, fondly referred as the 'Grande Dame of Chowringhee' offers the ultimate classical residence in the City of Joy. This heritage hotel’s neo-classical facade and grand pillared entrance mark a successful fusion of classical Victorian and traditional Indian style and reflect the city’s colonial history.Standing stately for over 125 years, The Oberoi Grand combines classic architecture and charm with state of the art amenities and facilities, offering guests an oasis of tranquility amidst the bustling city.The hotel features elegantly appointed rooms, equipped with all modern facilities blending uniquely with the colonial architecture.The hotel is located in the main business and shopping district of Kolkata (Park Street, BBD Bag, and Chowringhee) and is in walking distance from most corporate and government offices. It is also conveniently located close to major convention centers, legislative offices, banks, Consulates, Deputy High Commissions, Chambers of Commerce and clubs. This ideal location makes the hotel a perfect base for the business and the leisure traveler.The dining options at the hotel provide a great opportunity to savor cuisines from around the globe. Recreational facilities include an outdoor swimming pool, a fitness centre and a full service Oberoi Spa.The city centre location makes the hotel an ideal conference and meetings venue. The options vary from a spectacular ballroom for large conferences and smaller meeting rooms for business gatherings and seminars. A 24 hour business centre fully equipped with modern facilities includes a meeting room along with secretarial services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Oberoi Grand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Oberoi Grand Hotel Kolkata (Calcutta)
Oberoi Grand Kolkata
Oberoi Grand Hotel
The Oberoi Grand India/Kolkata (Calcutta), Asia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing