We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best Hotels in Kolkata”
Review of The Oberoi Grand

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Oberoi Grand
Ranked #1 of 221 Hotels in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Certificate of Excellence
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“One of the best Hotels in Kolkata”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

If you have visited the City of Joy and not seen the Oberoi Hotel (or Grand Hotel) as it is called, you may have missed an important landmark of the city. Standing grandly (as the name suggests) on the heart of the city, the Oberoi Grand is one of the oldest and prominent star rated hotels of Kolkata (and the country). The lavish interiors are matched with the pristine white of the exterioir. There are various categories of rooms available. They still have some of the traditional heritage of the city around the hotel in different areas. The ball room and its chandelier is huge. The restaurants in the hotel provide cuisine from across the world and their bakery is out of this world. With a mix of modern and tradition it is one of the best hotels that you can stay in the city.

And yes, dont miss to visit the antique shop attached to the hotel. You can spend hours browsiing the curios in there.

Room Tip: Please choose rooms on the backside of the hotel if you dont want to hear the street sounds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shuvro_ind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GEOKOL, General Manager at The Oberoi Grand, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Member,

It was a pleasure to have you stay at The Oberoi Grand, Kolkata. Thank you for taking the time to write this review on Trip Advisor.

The Oberoi Grand is referred to as the “Grand Dame of Kolkata” which depicts old world charm and Victorian feel and architecture and with its 100 year old history the hotel and its setting is indeed intimate. Amidst the hustle bustle of the city the hotel has often been also termed as an “oasis” by most of our discerning travelers.

I am delighted to note that you have had an enjoyable stay and it was a pleasure to have been of service to you.

Thank you for having stayed with us and we look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to The Oberoi Grand and Kolkata.


Best Wishes


George Kuruvilla
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,030 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,613
    326
    68
    15
    8
See reviews for
319
537
213
698
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (518)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wädenswil
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

It is away from the business area I had to be. However I spent there one night since the Regency Hyatt was fully booked. As typical for Bengali friendliness the house including its staff is outstanding. Interestingly the gentleman taking my luggage to the room fiercely refused to accept any tip and hinted me to a common tip box at the reception. If thigs are perfect or close to perfect there remains little to say. It is excellent for a two or three nights stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 060660
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GEOKOL, General Manager at The Oberoi Grand, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Member,

It was a pleasure to have you stay at The Oberoi Grand, Kolkata recently. Thank you for taking out valuable time to write this review on Trip Advisor.

I am delighted to read your feedback and my team joins me in thanking you for the wonderful words of appreciation for their service during your stay at The Oberoi Grand. These words go a long way in motivating the team to achieve higher standards of service excellence.

The Oberoi Grand enjoys a central location in the heart of the city and is also close to the business district as well as other places of interest. All major shopping districts and the Metro station and the boat jetty are also located close to the hotel.

We thank you for your patronage. My team and I look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to The Oberoi Grand and to Kolkata.


Best Wishes


George Kuruvilla
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

I spent three nights at the Oberoi Grand on a recent business trip to Kolkata. This was my first time in Kolkata - it's an amazing city but very busy and chaotic. Returning to the Oberoi Grand after work each day was like returning to a peaceful oasis in the middle of this chaotic city.

My room was comfortable and classic. The food was fantastic (especially breakfast!!) as was the service. I can't say enough good things about the customer service. Be sure to eat at the Thai restaurant....amazing food!

I also appreciated the fast wifi. Even better, you are able to connect up to four devices to wifi (ie/ laptop, smartphone AND tablet), which is so convenient when trying to get work done during off hours.

The hotel is beautiful. I would definitely stay here again if returning to Kolkata.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LaurenAsh1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GEOKOL, General Manager at The Oberoi Grand, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Member,

It was a pleasure to have you stay at The Oberoi Grand, Kolkata recently. Thank you for taking out time to write a review on Trip Advisor.

We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay and liked the food and service at La Terrasse, All day dining restaurant as well as AT the award winning Thai specialty restaurant Baan Thai.

Our aim is to ensure that our discerning guests experience traditional hospitality with all modern amenities. We appreciate your positive feedback regarding the internet service provided at the hotel.

Thank you for your patronage and we look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to The Oberoi Grand and to Kolkata.


Best Wishes


George Kuruvilla
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas
Level Contributor
89 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

We are just leaving after three days here. As repeat visitors to India, we always try to stay at historic and traditional hotels with history whenever we can. As anyone reading my hotel reviews can see, i don't throw out lavish praise easily. However, i can say that the Grand lived up to all our expectations. I really wonder how many tourists really get all the way over to Kolkata, and we just came over to kind of fill the the blanks of several regions of the country we hadn't visited. If a truly historic property such as the Grand didn't exist, we might not have bothered. I would really have to scratch my head to come up with any faults with the hotel, even minor ones. Our Premier room with a small balcony overlooking the garden and pool was quite large enough, with well maintained, heavy tropical wood furnishings. All the towels, linens, and bathroom products were of the very best quality.

The service, as almost everyone has mentioned, lives up to the finest Indian traditions, not only in friendliness but efficiency. From the front desk to the restaurants, everyone was constantly around to attend to anything you needed. I would say that only at the finest Taj hotels and at the best properties in Thailand would you find anything to match the well trained staff here.

We came in during the last of the monsoon season, with quite a bit of rain. However, i never noticed even the slightest smell of mould or humidity anywhere in the hotel, and i thought they did a great job of cleaning up everywhere on a constant basis.

The swimming pool is an oasis from the city, as is the hotel in general; you don't notice any street noise at all once inside.

We enjoyed both the breakfast and lunch buffets more than once, and the quality and selection was superb. We also tried the Thai restaurant, which was very good, but frankly lacking a bit of authentic Thai flavor in most of the dishes.

Kolkata is not a city with a long list of attractions and monuments to visit, but if you find yourself coming this way for any reason, i find it hard to believe that you wouldn't find staying at the Grand one of your best hotel experiences in India.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank veteranworldtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GEOKOL, General Manager at The Oberoi Grand, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Member,

It was a pleasure to have you stay at The Oberoi Grand Kolkata recently. Thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor.

The Oberoi Grand is indeed a haven of peace and tranquility as it is situated amidst the heart of the city. Often referred to as the “Grand Dame of Kolkata”, it depicts the old world charm and Victorian architecture. Our pool side rooms have a great view of the swimming pool which has often been termed as an “oasis” by most of the guest.

It has been our utmost focus to provide our valued guests with personalized service that meets high standards of hospitality and your words of appreciation for the same will go a long way in motivating our team to keep delivering.

Thank you for having stayed with us and we look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to The Oberoi Grand and Kolkata.
Best Wishes

George Kuruvilla
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
47 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

Im here for my family reunion so i decided to stay at my fav hotel The Grand Oberoi. This is what a luxury hotel should make you feel like, and yes royalty, Location is just at its best, airport pick up was par excellent, i love how they pamper me, having this small family party at the hotel's resto, In short if you really want to visit Kolkata n get the feeling of richness, one must stay here, s
Spa is the best here, food is amazing, staff very attentive and is a blessed feel to stay :)

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kindaweirda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GEOKOL, General Manager at The Oberoi Grand, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Member,

It was a pleasure to have you stay at The Oberoi Grand. Thank you for taking the time to write this review on Trip Advisor.

It has been our utmost focus to provide our valued guests with personalized service that meets high standards of hospitality. It makes me feel immensely contented to know that you were treated the way you deserve to be treated, like royalty!

Your words of appreciation regarding our service in the hotel shall go a long way to motivate the team to continue to deliver a high level of service to our valued guests. My team and I feel privileged that you have considered writing this review.

Thank you for choosing to stay at the hotel and we look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to The Oberoi Grand and to Kolkata for yet another happy reunion.


Best Wishes


George Kuruvilla
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
85 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

I expected a lot from my first experience at Oberoi but I must admit I was quite disappointed. Great welcome by front office staff and impeccable service the rooms division manager. My room and hallways smelled like mould and humidity, small bathrooms and overall disappointed with front office service when I needed help. Great communication with hotel manager afterwards but must admit that this was a let down.

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Pdittay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GEOKOL, General Manager at The Oberoi Grand, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Member,

Thank you for taking out valuable time to write this review on Trip Advisor.

I am disappointed and very concerned to learn that your experience at the hotel was not up to your expectation on this occasion. I have personally shared your feedback with our team particularly at the front desk.

Your feedback is extremely important. During the monsoon season with higher humidity levels we do face dampness in certain sections given the heritage nature of the building. However our engineers work round the clock to ensure that there is sufficient ventilation, air conditioning and fresh air in the event we face this. We will ensure this is corrected and I sincerely apologise regarding the inconvenience this caused you.

I am happy to know that you were warmly welcomed by my team. It is our endeavor to make each guest experience the hotel’s tranquility and peacefulness and I assure you that you will experience this during your future visits.

Thank you for your patronage and very much look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to Kolkata and to The Oberoi Grand.


Yours Sincerely,


George Kuruvilla
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

We stayed at the Oberoi for 3 nights, while in Kolkata - it was absolutely wonderful in every way. A haven to come back to after walking the streets of the city, which we found fascinating. The staff were all exceptionally attentive & friendly, the Rome clean, large & comfortable, the the hotel overall, a beautiful place - could not fault it in any way!!

Room Tip: We had a room on the first floor, which was quiet, with perfect A/C
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kirstymc9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GEOKOL, General Manager at The Oberoi Grand, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Member,

It was a pleasure to have you stay at The Oberoi Grand Kolkata recently. Thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor.

The Oberoi Grand is indeed a haven of peace and tranquility as it is situated amidst the heart of the city. Often referred to as the “Grand Dame of Kolkata”, it depicts old world charm and Victorian architecture. Our pool side rooms have a great view of the swimming pool which has often been termed as an “oasis” by most of the guest.

It has been our utmost focus to provide our valued guests with personalized service that meets high standards of hospitality and your words of appreciation for the same will go a long way in motivating our team.

Thank you for having stayed with us and we look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to The Oberoi Grand and Kolkata.


Best Wishes


George Kuruvilla
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kolkata (Calcutta) hotels
0.5 mi away
The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata
The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata
#3 of 221 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
1,118 reviews
2.0 mi away
Taj Bengal Kolkata
Taj Bengal Kolkata
#4 of 221 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
1,825 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Park Kolkata
The Park Kolkata
#16 of 221 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
1,857 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Swissotel Kolkata
Swissotel Kolkata
#9 of 221 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
1,413 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kolkata
Hyatt Regency Kolkata
#11 of 221 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
1,246 reviews
3.2 mi away
ITC Sonar
ITC Sonar
#5 of 221 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
1,942 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oberoi Grand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oberoi Grand

Property: The Oberoi Grand
Address: 15 Jawaharlal Neharu Road, Kolkata (Calcutta) 700013, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > West Bengal > Kolkata District > Kolkata (Calcutta)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#1 Spa Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#1 Business Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Oberoi Grand 5*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Oberoi Grand, fondly referred as the 'Grande Dame of Chowringhee' offers the ultimate classical residence in the City of Joy. This heritage hotel’s neo-classical facade and grand pillared entrance mark a successful fusion of classical Victorian and traditional Indian style and reflect the city’s colonial history.Standing stately for over 125 years, The Oberoi Grand combines classic architecture and charm with state of the art amenities and facilities, offering guests an oasis of tranquility amidst the bustling city.The hotel features elegantly appointed rooms, equipped with all modern facilities blending uniquely with the colonial architecture.The hotel is located in the main business and shopping district of Kolkata (Park Street, BBD Bag, and Chowringhee) and is in walking distance from most corporate and government offices. It is also conveniently located close to major convention centers, legislative offices, banks, Consulates, Deputy High Commissions, Chambers of Commerce and clubs. This ideal location makes the hotel a perfect base for the business and the leisure traveler.The dining options at the hotel provide a great opportunity to savor cuisines from around the globe. Recreational facilities include an outdoor swimming pool, a fitness centre and a full service Oberoi Spa.The city centre location makes the hotel an ideal conference and meetings venue. The options vary from a spectacular ballroom for large conferences and smaller meeting rooms for business gatherings and seminars. A 24 hour business centre fully equipped with modern facilities includes a meeting room along with secretarial services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Oberoi Grand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Oberoi Grand Hotel Kolkata (Calcutta)
Oberoi Grand Kolkata
Oberoi Grand Hotel
The Oberoi Grand India/Kolkata (Calcutta), Asia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing