We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spectacular”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Oberoi Grand

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Oberoi Grand
Ranked #1 of 218 Hotels in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin
Level Contributor
32 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Spectacular”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

By any standards this hotel, in our opinion, ranks with the world's best. The staff are really well trained, co-operative and very friendly. The rooms are beautifully appointed. We stayed in a room overlooking the swimming pool (recommended).
This hotel is really very, very good. try it.

Room Tip: Try and get a room overlooking the swimming pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RicMicDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GEOKOL, General Manager at The Oberoi Grand, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Member,

It was a pleasure to have you stay at The Oberoi Grand Kolkata. Thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor.

It is a delight to read such encouraging comments for the hotel and the team who are equally pleased with your feedback and join me in thanking you.

We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back on your return visit to Kolkata.

Best Wishes

George Kuruvilla
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,970 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,558
    322
    68
    15
    7
See reviews for
306
522
207
684
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (504)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

We stayed in a wide variety hotels while we visited South Asia. We decided to stay at the Oberoi for a few nights as a treat after having spent an extended time in the rural areas. Wow. This was a hotel experience on par with the world's best. I don't think I can recall a single thing that disappointed. I suppose after the experience of roughing it in the villages the Oberoi was just what we needed. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BeenThereD0neThatNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GEOKOL, General Manager at The Oberoi Grand, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Member,

It was a pleasure to have you stay again at The Oberoi Grand Kolkata. Thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor.

We are pleased to note that you had an enjoyable stay and would recommend us for guests visiting Kolkata. Known as the “Grande Dame of Chowringhee”, The Oberoi Grand is an oasis in the middle of the bustling metropolitan city.

We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back on your return visit to Kolkata.

Best Wishes

George Kuruvilla
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
297 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

Stayed here in 2010 and was really looking forward to our one-night stay. Yes, the Reception area and welcome were good, but no welcome drink or flannels. We were offered tea or coffee in the room but declined as we are not great tea and coffee drinkers. Room lived up to expectations. Excellent soap, shampoo etc. However, when we ate dinner we found the Chefs in the restaurant very attentive, but the waiting staff were not the best. Our breakfast experience was not that good at all. Yes, the buffet is fairly extensive, but we had better during our three-weeks away. Fresh fruit selection was somewhat limited with no pineapple or bananas. I toasted a piece of brown bread and requested 'scrambled eggs on that piece of toast'. After a VERY LONG wait I was presented with barely cooked eggs on a fresh piece of buttered toast with the crusts removed. Very nice if you like that sort of thing, but NOT WHAT I ASKED FOR. We could not send it back and ask for what I wanted as the wait had been so long and we had a plane to catch. Perhaps we were unlucky. Yes, it is a beautiful hotel, but we felt that standards had slipped slightly. Don't let this put you off, though. Overall The Grand gives you a lovely hotel experience.

Room Tip: Only ever had a 'basic' room at the back of the hotel, but no complaints.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TessaPolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GEOKOL, General Manager at The Oberoi Grand, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Member,

It was a pleasure to have you stay at The Oberoi Grand Kolkata. Thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor.

I have taken a note of your positive feedback regarding the reception, the room and the amenities in your room and would like to thank you for the same.

However, I am deeply concerned to note that your experience in this stay was not as enjoyable and memorable as your pervious visit and at the outset I would like to apologize for the same. I have shared all the feedback regarding your experience at breakfast with the kitchen and restaurant team and I assure you that all necessary trainings would be conducted to ensure that you or any other guests do not face this in future.

I request you to treat this incident in isolation and not let it mar your impression of overall services of the hotel as this was a complete departure from our usual service standards.

We hope you would give us another opportunity of showing ourselves ion better light by returning to The Oberoi Grand on your next visit to Kolkata, we look forward to the same.
Best Wishes

George Kuruvilla
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byron Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

This is a magnificent hotel, it has the feel of old world but the service of the modern era. The room I had was excellent, clean, spacious and with full amenities. The house staff are very efficient and courteous. One of my colleagues was not well and the attention she was given is to be admired by hotels world wide, they phoned and checked on her well being and sent food and help where possible. I cannot say enough to recommend this hotel when staying in Kolkata.

Room Tip: Try and get a room with the 4 poster bed, excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank timfinay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GEOKOL, General Manager at The Oberoi Grand, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Member,

It was a pleasure to have you stay at The Oberoi Grand Kolkata. Thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor.

My team and I are delighted to note that you were looked after well during your stay. Guest satisfaction is our prime concern and we are pleased to know that we could meet and exceed your expectations.

We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back on your return visit to Kolkata.

Best Wishes

George Kuruvilla
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

My mother and I stay in this hotel every year.We are treated like we are family by all if the staff.The rooms are spacious and are of a high standard.I was taken ill on our last trip due to getting bitten on a short trip to Goa.The staff in the hotel took me to the hospital and stayed with me whilst I was being seen by the doctors.The manager in the restaurant arranged for me to have breakfast in my room as I was to ill to go to the restaurant.He even came to my room to see how I was.Many thanks to Richard and all the staff in the restaurant.Food and service of a very high standard.I would also like to thank the front of house staff for all their kindness.My mother and I look forward to our next visit this October.Gwen Jones

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miss G S JONES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GEOKOL, General Manager at The Oberoi Grand, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Member,

It was a pleasure to have you stay at The Oberoi Grand Kolkata. Thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor.

I hope you would have recovered from your illness and I am pleased that we could be of assistance to you when you had taken ill while touring India. My team joins me in thanking you for your kind words of appreciation.

We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back on your return visit to Kolkata.

Best Wishes

George Kuruvilla
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

This was my second stay at the Oberoi Grand. I was there for 10 days on business. The hotel is beautifully appointed, rooms are large with nice wood details, and the bed was very, very comfortable with nice feather pillows. The internet is pricey but worked well. I ate several times in the hotel restaurants; the Thai restaurant is especially good but all the food is very good. The pool area is almost beyond belief for being in the center of Kolkata- truly an oasis. I also used the spa/gym several times. The gym has great modern equipment. The massage I received at the spa was one of the best I've ever had and I get frequent massages.

The most notable thing about the hotel is the service- truly outstanding. Every staff member makes you feel like royalty and does their utmost to be of help in any way. They do this without receiving tips as well, which is very unusualy for India. The Oberoi Grand getws my highest recommendation and I will always stay here when I return to Kolkata.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drjeff1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GEOKOL, General Manager at The Oberoi Grand, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Member,

It was a pleasure to have you stay at The Oberoi Grand Kolkata. Thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor.

I am delighted to know that you had a memorable holiday with you family and your children enjoyed the attention as much. Situated in the heart of the historic city of Kolkata, the Oberoi Grand has a prime location with all major places of tourist interest such as the Victoria Memorial, Indian Museum, St. Paul’s Cathedral, Birla Planetarium and Dalhousie square being in close proximity.

We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back on your return visit to Kolkata.

Best Wishes

George Kuruvilla
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn, Estonia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

Oberoi super standard in all spheres, real nice old building, best location. Staying here is a nice extra value to experience the city. Stayed for 2 nights, for leisure, with kids. The kids were overpampered with gifts, everyone on the staff tries to impress you with a smile, keeping a relaxed atmosphere and preserving your privacy. The hotel made my first trip to Kolkata a nice, safe, luxury visit.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SJaanus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GEOKOL, General Manager at The Oberoi Grand, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Member,

It was a pleasure to have you stay at The Oberoi Grand Kolkata. Thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor.

I am delighted to know that you had a memorable holiday with you family and your children enjoyed the attention as much. Situated in the heart of the historic city of Kolkata, the Oberoi Grand has a prime location with all major places of tourist interest such as the Victoria Memorial, Indian Museum, St. Paul’s Cathedral, Birla Planetarium and Dalhousie square being in close proximity.

We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back on your return visit to Kolkata.

Best Wishes

George Kuruvilla
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kolkata (Calcutta) hotels
2.0 mi away
Taj Bengal Kolkata
Taj Bengal Kolkata
#2 of 218 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,762 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata
The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata
#6 of 218 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 819 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Park Kolkata
The Park Kolkata
#16 of 218 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Swissotel Kolkata
Swissotel Kolkata
#7 of 218 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,343 reviews
3.2 mi away
ITC Sonar
ITC Sonar
#5 of 218 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,705 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kolkata
Hyatt Regency Kolkata
#11 of 218 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oberoi Grand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oberoi Grand

Property: The Oberoi Grand
Address: 15 Jawaharlal Neharu Road, Kolkata (Calcutta) 700013, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > West Bengal > Kolkata (Calcutta)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#1 Spa Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#1 Family Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Oberoi Grand 5*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Oberoi Grand, fondly referred as the 'Grande Dame of Chowringhee' offers the ultimate classical residence in the City of Joy. This heritage hotel’s neo-classical facade and grand pillared entrance mark a successful fusion of classical Victorian and traditional Indian style and reflect the city’s colonial history.Standing stately for over 125 years, The Oberoi Grand combines classic architecture and charm with state of the art amenities and facilities, offering guests an oasis of tranquility amidst the bustling city.The hotel features elegantly appointed rooms, equipped with all modern facilities blending uniquely with the colonial architecture.The hotel is located in the main business and shopping district of Kolkata (Park Street, BBD Bag, and Chowringhee) and is in walking distance from most corporate and government offices. It is also conveniently located close to major convention centers, legislative offices, banks, Consulates, Deputy High Commissions, Chambers of Commerce and clubs. This ideal location makes the hotel a perfect base for the business and the leisure traveler.The dining options at the hotel provide a great opportunity to savor cuisines from around the globe. Recreational facilities include an outdoor swimming pool, a fitness centre and a full service Oberoi Spa.The city centre location makes the hotel an ideal conference and meetings venue. The options vary from a spectacular ballroom for large conferences and smaller meeting rooms for business gatherings and seminars. A 24 hour business centre fully equipped with modern facilities includes a meeting room along with secretarial services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Oberoi Grand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Oberoi Grand Hotel Kolkata (Calcutta)
Oberoi Grand Kolkata
Oberoi Grand Hotel
The Oberoi Grand India/Kolkata (Calcutta), Asia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing