We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best of Bengal!”
Review of Taj Bengal Kolkata

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Taj Bengal Kolkata
Ranked #6 of 224 Hotels in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 11, 2010

Taj Bengal is very centrally located in the city and offer a fantastic view of some of Kolkata's famous landmarks. The hotel in itself is unique with abundant art all around.

The rooms are clean and big and each room has a small patch of green behind the window panes making it very pleasing. The pool is big and clean and the spa staff is very knowlegable. The hotel has a good choice of restaurents, though the coffee shop has a odd staircase running right in the middle. The breakfast had a good spread and the staff was attentive.

One of my colleague was upgraded to Club floor and the breakfast area at club floor offers the best view from the hotel. Flip side is that entry to this part is restricted only to club floor guests however can entertain others in the club launge (no shorts and flip flops allowed). The club lounge is very comfortable and quiet area. We had a day long meeting there and were completely undisturbed.

Staff at the front desk was very helpful.

Overall it was hospitality at its best.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShirishSathe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,928)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,667 - 1,673 of 1,928 reviews

Reviewed October 29, 2010

We stayed at Taj Bengal kolkatta for our business trip.

As soon as we entered we could feel comfort .
Unfortunately check-in was not swift.
The food at Souk was disappointing not meeting the standards of SOUK at Taj mahal hotel in Mumbai.The songs selected were bit loud for quieter atmosphere for dinner. The Chicken ordered was bit too well done making it rubbery.
Breakfast was outstanding with wide range of choices.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kasuren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2010

On arrival to the hotel the security is very tight which is very reassuring. The staff could not have been more helpful and kind. They greeted us like long lost friends, brought a rose to my room to welcome me, came and refreshed the towels when i had popped out for a walk and were just so nice. I felt like royalty in the Taj, with all the staff so kind and welcoming.
We tried out the spa, got my nails done (wow, go for the spa manicure its incredible for the price!), the massage great, the pool, sauna, steam room and jacuzzi were also fab.
Thanks Taj, I would definatly look for a Taj hotel on my next visit, amazing :)

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pog2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2010

The stay was without single flaw. Feeling unwell my partner was given whatever she wanted to eat and the chef prepared her favorite meal at no extra charge. The looked after her as if she was the treasured daughter who had come home. I and my partner have never felt so welcome anywhere and will go back for a perfect holiday. Pity about the city. Great people.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zeus3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2010

so beautiful and elegant and delicate.stayed few days but got pampered and returned.a must stay for anyone who ejoys elegance.the staff was very kind and apt in their work.the rooms are unbelievably princess like.all the females will love it.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sneha6969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2010

One of my best stays in the city of kolkata was in the taj bengal hotel. It can be called the best hotel in the city if not the country. Amazing lobby and reception with grand hallway. outstanding restraunt and coffee place (the Hub I suppose) Attended a marriage there and the room provided was excellent,. The decoration was one of the best I have ever seen and the food was unbelievable. Rooms and the swimming pool were just incredible and the Bar had a pretty good selection of wines. Would recommend it to anyone going to kolkata

Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
Thank urbuddynits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2010

Hello

I stayed at the Taj Bengal Club room sometime in August 2010. It was a short visit - just one night. However my overall experience was truly amazing. May be i can describe my feedback on the basis of the following points:

1) Hospitality: I have travelled across the world and have stayed in some of the best of the hotels available. However the kind of hospitality and warmth offered at Taj Bengal was something never seen elsewhere before. Since i was staying in one of their luxurious Club rooms - i had a 24 hour butler service more than willing and capable too to extend his help with any request.

2) Value: For the kind of service , i wouldn't even mind paying 50% more than what i did.

3) Breakfast: Well i think it is worth mentioning about the breakfast at the Taj Bengal. Even if you are not staying at the hotel i would strongly recommend to go and choose amongst the vast array of dishes.

4) The view: The only drawback would be the surrounding view. However in reality this is no shortfall on part of the hotel, may be city needs some development around.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShreyansGhia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kolkata (Calcutta) hotels
2.0 mi away
The Oberoi Grand
The Oberoi Grand
#3 of 224 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
2,127 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata
The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata
#1 of 224 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
1,771 reviews
5.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kolkata
Hyatt Regency Kolkata
#11 of 224 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
1,317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
ITC Sonar
ITC Sonar
#2 of 224 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
2,443 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Park Kolkata
The Park Kolkata
#16 of 224 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
1,959 reviews
9.5 mi away
Swissotel Kolkata
Swissotel Kolkata
#8 of 224 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
1,585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taj Bengal Kolkata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Bengal Kolkata

Address: 34b Belvedere Road | Alipore, Kolkata (Calcutta) 700027, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > West Bengal > Kolkata District > Kolkata (Calcutta)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#5 Family Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#5 Luxury Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#6 Spa Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Price Range: $168 - $345 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Taj Bengal Kolkata 5*
Number of rooms: 229
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Taj Bengal, designed by the legendary Bob Fox, stands as an elegant Kolkata landmark. It is in close proximity to the commercial centre, Government Offices and Consulates, and must-see sights like the Victoria Memorial, Royal Calcutta Race Course, Horticulture Gardens, National Library and the Zoological Gardens. Iconic host to Heads of State, dignitaries and international business head-honchos, it is geared to the needs of the global business traveller. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Taj Bengal Kolkata reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Bengal Kolkata Hotel Kolkata (Calcutta)
Taj Bengal Hotel Kolkata
Taj Bengal Kolkata India/Kolkata (Calcutta), Asia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing