We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really Special Treatment Here!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Taj Bengal Kolkata

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Taj Bengal Kolkata
Ranked #3 of 218 Hotels in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Really Special Treatment Here!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014

I stayed here for 7 nights on Business. I felt extremely comfortable and safe here as a single woman. I was given a room with a video doorbell so I was able to see on a screen on my phone who was at the door. Provided excellent bath amenities. Service excellent. Very quiet in the room.

David and Sam among others at the front desk were so helpful and went above and beyond to help me get my work done. Sam at the Breakfast restaurant became a friend. Awesome restaurants, great spa and gym.

Found that the staff here were helpful without being overbearing. It's a large hotel but felt extremely personal. Staff members all knew my name and room number, and that I liked club soda with lime at every meal. Was pretty sad to leave.

Cons: Now I'm spoiled!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mohanchandran, General Manager at Taj Bengal Kolkata, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Thank you for your kind comments which we have noted and will share with our associates. Thank you for your patronage and look forward to meeting you on your next visit to Taj Bengal, Kolkata.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,764 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,255
    387
    79
    26
    17
See reviews for
319
231
188
927
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (278)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
DELHI INDIANational Capital Territory of Delhi, India
Level Contributor
108 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2014

The hotel is located away from the city noise at quite location. This is quite big property like most of the Taj hotels. The rooms are very quite and comfortable. The staff is friendly and professional, will not let you down. You can enjoy live music and great food in the evening. They have a small but a nice bar at the lobby level. The breakfast is very nice.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Naresh J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mohanchandran, General Manager at Taj Bengal Kolkata, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Thank you for your kind comments which we have noted and will share with our associates. Thank you for your patronage and look forward to meeting you on your next visit to Taj Bengal, Kolkata.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bittern
Level Contributor
380 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2014

This hotel is a poor relative of taj palace Mumbai. A little tired but staff are wonderful - particularly Bimal the concierge, and Sam the chef in the breakfast restaurant. The beds are very comfortable, pool great, and wifi works very well. Clean, near to the Kolkata zoo, walking distance to Victoria memorial and easy taxi ride to other areas.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank bitterntraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mohanchandran, General Manager at Taj Bengal Kolkata, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Thank you for your kind comments which we have noted and will share with our associates. Thank you for your patronage and look forward to meeting you on your next visit to Taj Bengal, Kolkata.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
61 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2014

Stayed here whilst on a trade Mission. Fantastic hotel with that personal touch. Initially booked into the Oberoi, however bookings mixed up. So glad they were....personal concierge, excellent restaurants and great breakfast service. They even offered to get me tickets to the cricket ! If ever I go back to Kolkata, this the only place I'd stay.

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Dean D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mohanchandran, General Manager at Taj Bengal Kolkata, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Thank you for your kind comments which we have noted and will share with our associates. Thank you for your patronage and look forward to meeting you on your next visit to Taj Bengal, Kolkata.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
40 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2014

As you can expect from a Luxury Hotel especially Taj. This Hotel keeps up to all that you can think of or expect. Great food, nice location, exceptional hospitality. Dont miss the speciality restaurant 'Souk'.

You ask for it and you get it. This was true in our case as we had a travelled with two young kids. Thanks to the Chef and team to have taken care of our needs o well.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank raosunil_in
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mohanchandran, General Manager at Taj Bengal Kolkata, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Thank you for your kind comments which we have noted and will share with our associates. Thank you for your patronage and look forward to meeting you on your next visit to Taj Bengal, Kolkata.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2014

The difference between a great hotel and an excellent hotel is in the detail, and the Taj Bengal gets it just right! From the flowers on the steps to the gym, to the discreet, but ever-present waiters, this hotel never fails to impress. The rooms are now a little outdated, but the excellent service and array of amenities more than make up for this minor detail. The quality of food from the range of restaurants and 24hr dining area is impressive. By far my favourite hotel in India!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mohanchandran, General Manager at Taj Bengal Kolkata, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Thank you for your kind comments which we have noted and will share with our associates. Thank you for your patronage and look forward to meeting you on your next visit to Taj Bengal, Kolkata.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2014

I have always felt that the entire Taj package "conspires" to make you want to stay on longer and longer. Taj Bengal is no different. The hotel is at a very good location and boasts of very good services. The staff is super warm and welcoming. The restaurants (especially the Bengali cuisine) is simply amazing. The cost is slightly on the higher side. But then, I'd pay it for the Taj experience any day. Could not find any single reason to be dissatisfied.

My vacation was wonderful and a large credit goes to Taj!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nkapre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mohanchandran, General Manager at Taj Bengal Kolkata, responded to this review, April 20, 2014
Thank you for your kind comments which we have noted and will share with our associates. Thank you for your patronage and look forward to meeting you on your next visit to Taj Bengal, Kolkata.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kolkata (Calcutta) hotels
2.0 mi away
The Oberoi Grand
The Oberoi Grand
#1 of 218 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,974 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata
The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata
#6 of 218 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 823 reviews
5.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kolkata
Hyatt Regency Kolkata
#11 of 218 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Park Kolkata
The Park Kolkata
#15 of 218 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,789 reviews
4.1 mi away
ITC Sonar
ITC Sonar
#5 of 218 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,707 reviews
9.5 mi away
Swissotel Kolkata
Swissotel Kolkata
#8 of 218 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taj Bengal Kolkata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Bengal Kolkata

Property: Taj Bengal Kolkata
Address: Belvedere Road | Alipore, Kolkata (Calcutta) 700027, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > West Bengal > Kolkata (Calcutta)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#3 Business Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#3 Spa Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#5 Family Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Taj Bengal Kolkata 5*
Number of rooms: 229
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Taj Bengal, designed by the legendary Bob Fox, stands as an elegant Kolkata landmark. It is in close proximity to the commercial centre, Government Offices and Consulates, and must-see sights like the Victoria Memorial, Royal Calcutta Race Course, Horticulture Gardens, National Library and the Zoological Gardens. Iconic host to Heads of State, dignitaries and international business head-honchos, it is geared to the needs of the global business traveller. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, DerbySoftTaj, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Taj Bengal Kolkata reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Bengal Kolkata Hotel Kolkata (Calcutta)
Taj Bengal Hotel Kolkata
Taj Bengal Kolkata India/Kolkata (Calcutta), Asia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing