We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“really the Taj of Bengal...”
Review of Taj Bengal Kolkata

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Taj Bengal Kolkata
Ranked #6 of 224 Hotels in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 8, 2014

this hotel is really majestic,royal...the reception area n lounges r grand.the staff is courteous and english speaking.their welcome drink is also spl.has choices to offer.the rooms r big n comfortable.there r jacuzzi,steam n sauna also available which make u totally rejuvenated.the rooms n washrooms r fully equipped with modern amenities n toiletries.the breakfast had many choices to offer.the only disappointment was on the WIFI front which was chargeable n not free.

Room Tip: choose rooms on the upper floors to get a better view n be away from the noise...
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dprakash533
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mohanchandran, General Manager at Taj Bengal Kolkata, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

Thank you for your kind comments which we have noted and will share with our associates. Thank you for your patronage and look forward to meeting you on your next visit to Taj Bengal, Kolkata.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,914)
There are newer reviews for Taj Bengal Kolkata
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,258 - 1,264 of 1,914 reviews

Reviewed January 7, 2014

I really want to thank the GM &his staff for a comfortable stay in the hotel in Dec:2013 (6'th & 7'th). The main reason for witing this was to thank a staff ,Neerja, for her efficiency. We had checked out and on our way to the airport, we remembered that my husband's insulin was left in the room refrigerator. We rang up the hotel and told them about the same. We had already boarded the aircraft when a steward came and handed over the insulin to us. This was important as my husband needed it being a diabetic. Thanks once again for this thoughtful & efficient gesture.
I would recommend all to visit this beautiful hotel by Taj.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sukeerti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mohanchandran, General Manager at Taj Bengal Kolkata, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2014

Thank you for your kind comments which we have noted and will share with our associates. Thank you for your patronage and look forward to meeting you on your next visit to Taj Bengal, Kolkata.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

On a recent business trip, I stayed at the Taj Bengal for three nights. My initial impression at check-in was an encounter with snooty staff. Having checked into the Club Room which was a fabulous piece of British architecture and a large room with a wonderful sitting. As much as the rooms are good, the Club service is very lethargic and half hearted. The morning Club breakfast is limited but the Coffee shop buffet is good with some variety. The Hotel clearly needs renovation and is a dull property with little buzz at the bar and the restaurants. The newly opened Mediterranean restaurant is definitely good. The greatest problem with this property is getting a taxi for which you have to wait for hours helplessly and the Hotel does not have any plan to make this a convenience. I have had the best regard for the Taj Properties having stayed at most of the properties that the group owns but this one really needs to work up on all aspects/.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DrVikas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mohanchandran, General Manager at Taj Bengal Kolkata, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2014

Thank you for your kind comments which we have noted and will share with our associates. Thank you for your patronage and look forward to meeting you on your next visit to Taj Bengal, Kolkata.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Stunning hotel where the details make the difference! In quiet area and very friendly staff. Definitely recommend staying here. Also Popular amongst business travelers and locals dining in one of the 5 world class restaurants.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenique M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mohanchandran, General Manager at Taj Bengal Kolkata, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2014

Thank you for your kind comments which we have noted and will share with our associates. Thank you for your patronage and look forward to meeting you on your next visit to Taj Bengal, Kolkata.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

What sets the Taj Bengal apart from other excellent hotels is the quality of service that they provide to their guests. All of the staff that we met, including front desk, drivers, restaurant, housekeeping and fitness center staff were unfailingly polite, competent and efficient. Everyone seemed genuinely concerned with fulfilling our needs and desires and doing everything they could for us. In particular, Tapas, our driver for 3 days, made our trip outside Kolkata comfortable and enjoyable. Nitu at the front desk, along with the hotel car driver and guest services staff at the airport helped us to recover a forgotten passport--to our very great relief.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NagoyaTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mohanchandran, General Manager at Taj Bengal Kolkata, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2014

Thank you for your kind comments which we have noted and will share with our associates. Thank you for your patronage and look forward to meeting you on your next visit to Taj Bengal, Kolkata.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

I stayed at Taj Bengal, Kolkata with check-in on 18-Dec & check-out on 19-Dec-2013. I was treated with traditional welcome. All my requests were promptly and pro-actively taken care! Everything seemed to be well planned including the room#!

Gym is well equipped and instructors were pro-active! Really enjoyed gym as well as Sauna & Steam bath!

Food is really yummy with great inputs from the staff!

Entire hotel staff took care of me, I like to especially thank Ms. Devidyuti Ghosh for her 'above and beyond' assistance!

Room Tip: Great hotel, you can't go wrong!
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chetan_V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mohanchandran, General Manager at Taj Bengal Kolkata, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2014

Thank you for your kind comments which we have noted and will share with our associates. Thank you for your patronage and look forward to meeting you on your next visit to Taj Bengal, Kolkata.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

Taj Bengal has a stunning lobby, you could spend hours here. The hotel is well located in the elite Alipore area of Kolkata -opposite the zoo, and within walking distance of Victoria Memorial.
We checked in pretty late at night, and the front desk did a very brisk job of completing the check in formalities (thumbs up for that :).
Nowadays, hotels prefer identification which has some proof of address on it (so they generally dont seem to like PAN cards; though a driving license suffices)
The breakfast spread was so-so...on par with most 5 star spreads.
I found the service during breakfast wanting...no one asked us for our choice of beverage, nor did they make any effort in checking whether we were satisfied with the food or whether we would have a special request like pancakes etc. Although we did eventually get our coffee on approaching the staff. This might sound like a traveler making a mountain over a molehill; but I would expect some degree of fussing over in a 5 star :)
I found the cleaning staff on our floor to be very eager to help and I really liked it that they gave us a single point of contact to address any issues with the room. Creates a sense of ownership among the staff

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BooOinky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mohanchandran, General Manager at Taj Bengal Kolkata, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2014

Thank you for your kind comments which we have noted and will share with our associates. Thank you for your patronage and look forward to meeting you on your next visit to Taj Bengal, Kolkata.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kolkata (Calcutta) hotels
2.0 mi away
The Oberoi Grand
The Oberoi Grand
#2 of 224 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
2,109 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata
The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata
#1 of 224 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
1,659 reviews
5.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kolkata
Hyatt Regency Kolkata
#12 of 224 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
1,306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Park Kolkata
The Park Kolkata
#14 of 224 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
1,938 reviews
4.1 mi away
ITC Sonar
ITC Sonar
#3 of 224 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
2,359 reviews
4.2 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Kolkata
JW Marriott Hotel Kolkata
#5 of 224 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taj Bengal Kolkata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Bengal Kolkata

Address: 34b Belvedere Road | Alipore, Kolkata (Calcutta) 700027, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > West Bengal > Kolkata District > Kolkata (Calcutta)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#5 Family Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#5 Luxury Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#6 Spa Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Price Range: $160 - $309 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Taj Bengal Kolkata 5*
Number of rooms: 229
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Taj Bengal, designed by the legendary Bob Fox, stands as an elegant Kolkata landmark. It is in close proximity to the commercial centre, Government Offices and Consulates, and must-see sights like the Victoria Memorial, Royal Calcutta Race Course, Horticulture Gardens, National Library and the Zoological Gardens. Iconic host to Heads of State, dignitaries and international business head-honchos, it is geared to the needs of the global business traveller. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, DerbySoftTaj, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Taj Bengal Kolkata reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Bengal Kolkata Hotel Kolkata (Calcutta)
Taj Bengal Hotel Kolkata
Taj Bengal Kolkata India/Kolkata (Calcutta), Asia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing