We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One night but still good.”
Review of Taj Bengal Kolkata

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Taj Bengal Kolkata
Ranked #5 of 250 Hotels in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Only a brief stay but all done very well. Great welcome and a superb room. Clean spacious and very well equipped. We had an evening function that was extremely well supported with good A/V support and very good catering. Early morning leave but still well supported by the night staff.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mohanchandran, General Manager at Taj Bengal Kolkata, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

Thank you for your kind comments which we have noted and will share with our associates. Thank you for your patronage and look forward to meeting you on your next visit to Taj Bengal, Kolkata.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,968)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,357 - 1,363 of 1,968 reviews

Reviewed September 14, 2013

The Taj in Kolkata is one of my favourite hotels. The rooms are lovely and vast and the restaurants especially the Souk is fantastic. Good location although slightly away from the heart of the city yet conveniently located. Great stay and value for money

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MihirMuni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mohanchandran, General Manager at Taj Bengal Kolkata, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2013

Thank you for your kind comments which we have noted and will share with our associates. Thank you for your patronage and look forward to meeting you on your next visit to Taj Bengal, Kolkata.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

I stayed at the taj bengal, kolkata for 2 nights in the month of September. The location of the hotel is ideal for both leisure as well as business travellers as its located away few minutes away from the popular park Street yet it provide the peace and tranquility. The greatness of taj service can be experienced the moment you enter the drive way of the hotel. A traditional indian welcome and the luggage is taken care of right from the doorstep. The check in is brisk and however well you know the hotel the reception associate will always personally take you to your room.
The rooms are one of the excellent place in the hotel and will give you all the peace and comfort you need after a long flight. Elegantly designed and maintained it has all the possible amenities required for a comfortable stay.
The restaurants in the hotel spoil you for choice. The junction- which is a coffee shop serve a lavish spread of buffet that serves almost everything required for breakfast.
Chinoiserie- the Chinese restaurant serves unbeatable the best Chinese in kolkata and also has a great choice of wines.
Sonargoan- gives you the authentic taste of bengal and serves fantastic fish dishes. For someone with a sweet tooth do try the doodh rasgula.

Overall I would say Taj bengal,kolkata is definitely the best hotel for a luxury stay in kolkata.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tushu911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mohanchandran, General Manager at Taj Bengal Kolkata, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2013

Thank you for your kind comments which we have noted and will share with our associates. Thank you for your patronage and look forward to meeting you on your next visit to Taj Bengal, Kolkata.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

The Taj in Kolkata is one of my favourite hotels. The rooms are lovely and vast and the restaurants especially the Souk is fantastic.

Good location although slightly away from the heart of the city yet conveniently located.

Great stay and value for money.

Room Tip: Be sure to sample the food at Souk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank heminbharucha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mohanchandran, General Manager at Taj Bengal Kolkata, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2013

Thank you for your kind comments which we have noted and will share with our associates. Thank you for your patronage and look forward to meeting you on your next visit to Taj Bengal, Kolkata.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Did I mention the decorative chinese plates that run the length of the dining room wall? The four raised circular tables that allow you to be the center of attention at the restaurant if you happen to be seated there? The faux lanterns hanging from the ceiling? The water glasses that were never less than half full?
It's the Taj Bengal, I mean, who am I kidding. It's got to be more awesome than I expected. My first experience here happened to be on one of my birthdays for which I was in Calcutta visiting my cousins. The waitress brought me a cake with candles to celebrate. Then there were repeat orders of their open style dimsums, batter fried veggies in chili garlic sauce, panfried noodles, trio of mushrooms, and onion pancakes. They were all first-rate preparations and come highly recommended from me. Especially the onion pancakes.
If you're in Calcutta for a day and feel like dining at their best restaurants, Chinoiserie should be on top of your list.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shesasish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mohanchandran, General Manager at Taj Bengal Kolkata, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2013

Thank you for your kind comments which we have noted and will share with our associates. Thank you for your patronage and look forward to meeting you on your next visit to Taj Bengal, Kolkata.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Something about this place makes one feel welcome... Perhaps it is the atrium that takes away the hotel feel as one enters.
Expect the usual Taj courtesies and a bit more because this is in Kolkata where the heart still exists.
Commendation for the breakfast spread, do try the baked sweet yoghurt... Quite a revelation in taste and texture.
Found a few things amiss. The sink would not drain properly, but was fixed. Yet anything less than 100 per cent from the Taj is a mental jolt.
Service is very good, and the lounge provides a great, bright, happy ambience to work or relax in, when the room gets boring.
Definitely, among the best.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sathya S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mohanchandran, General Manager at Taj Bengal Kolkata, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2013

Thank you for your kind comments which we have noted and will share with our associates. Thank you for your patronage and look forward to meeting you on your next visit to Taj Bengal, Kolkata.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

I remember being very young when this hotel opened. So was apprehensive returning to stay he after 20 years. However the property lived up to its standard and landmark status. Very happy with the upkeep of the property and hospitality of the staff.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SanjeevSahni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mohanchandran, General Manager at Taj Bengal Kolkata, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2013

Thank you for your kind comments which we have noted and will share with our associates. Thank you for your patronage and look forward to meeting you on your next visit to Taj Bengal, Kolkata.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kolkata (Calcutta) hotels
2 mi away
The Oberoi Grand
The Oberoi Grand
#3 of 250 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
2,224 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata
The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata
#1 of 250 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
2,145 reviews
9.5 mi away
Swissotel Kolkata
Swissotel Kolkata
#8 of 250 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
1,724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Park Kolkata
The Park Kolkata
#16 of 250 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
2,026 reviews
4.1 mi away
ITC Sonar
ITC Sonar
#2 of 250 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
2,724 reviews
5.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kolkata
Hyatt Regency Kolkata
#11 of 250 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
1,362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taj Bengal Kolkata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Bengal Kolkata

Address: 34b Belvedere Road | Alipore, Kolkata (Calcutta) 700027, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > West Bengal > Kolkata District > Kolkata (Calcutta)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#5 Spa Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#5 Family Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#5 Luxury Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Price Range: $179 - $324 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Taj Bengal Kolkata 5*
Number of rooms: 229
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Taj Bengal, designed by the legendary Bob Fox, stands as an elegant Kolkata landmark. It is in close proximity to the commercial centre, Government Offices and Consulates, and must-see sights like the Victoria Memorial, Royal Calcutta Race Course, Horticulture Gardens, National Library and the Zoological Gardens. Iconic host to Heads of State, dignitaries and international business head-honchos, it is geared to the needs of the global business traveller. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoftTaj, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Taj Bengal Kolkata reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Bengal Kolkata Hotel Kolkata (Calcutta)
Taj Bengal Hotel Kolkata
Taj Bengal Kolkata India/Kolkata (Calcutta), Asia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing