We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“india at its best”
Review of Taj Bengal Kolkata

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Taj Bengal Kolkata
Ranked #6 of 224 Hotels in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 2, 2013

been to dine in this hotel during other business trips and always found to be very beautiful and so this time decided to stay there and must say it proved to be a good choice. if you want to live in full the indian sensation this is the hotel for you. elegant in all its aspects. service absolutely perfect without too much intrusion. very homely atmosphere. excellent breakfast. warm welcome from start. the only thing thing i did not like so much was the room as i found it much too small compared to indan standards. bathroom same. they were not according to my opinion equal to other five star hotels. although i did not ask if they had any bigger rooms. i presume they did and gave me that one as it did have a balcony which was a plus. had small trouble with toilet flushing and the room boy immediately called the plumber. very effecient.

Room Tip: perhaps when booking you should ask them for bigger rooms as i presume they have. will do so myself...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maria1059385
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,914)
There are newer reviews for Taj Bengal Kolkata
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,356 - 1,362 of 1,914 reviews

Reviewed April 24, 2013

I'm traveling with my group of colleague..We have a very touch and warm welcome with the welcome drink and a group picture.

The hotel is very grand and luxury,very clean and lots of green as a surrounding. you'll see lots of birds flying above the hotel.
My balcony somehow appeared to be a squirrel highway..! so many of them running left and right ..so cute..:)

The staff are very polite and very keen with their job..if you ask for one thing they will also give you some others information that could be relate to what you wanna know..

I like...! :)

Room Tip: I believe any room is good..:)
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yadita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

The service at this hotel is of a very high standard and the restaurants are fantastic. Nothing is too hard for the staff to make your stay as comfortable as possible and they are all so friendly Nd helpful. I would highly recommend a stay at this beautiful hotel! Room 440 had a great view and you could see the Vidyasagar Sethu Suspension Bridge in the distance which was very interesting as well. Excellent stay!!

Room Tip: 440 has a good view of the VS Bridge and many trees. Birds outside window was a bonus as well!
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travellingisgreat123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Calcutta has evolved over the years in the choice of luxury hotels but the taj Bengal still remains my favourite...close to the city centre with the traditional taj hospitality, a luxurious lobby, great choice of restaurants, lovely rooms and a very friendly staff. Last time I was at the hotel I was down with some cold and cough and the in room dining staff was kind enough to suggest and make 'kaada' for me evening and morning - and boy did it give me relief....felt like home ! Thanks Taj for the wonderful hospitality !

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vacations056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013

Stayed for three nights and was upgraded from junior suite to executive suite room 441. What a room. The location is superb of the hotel. They have private butler and staff is very helpful. Masala tea is really good. With a suite room, you can use the lounge on the 5 th floor. Really enjoyed my stay. The pool and spa are really nice.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 4 th floor with Victoria view.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nirajsomaiya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013 via mobile

After two weeks trekking in Sikkim a night of luxury was just the tonic before our flight home. Excellent service from the moment we checked in, an upgrade to a Club Room, delicious dinner at Sonargam, comfortable soft bed, generous buffet breakfast and good few hours by the pool! Looking forward to our next visit!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank summersso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Recently went to Taj bengal with my fiance to have a cup of coffee in relaxed environment. We first sat in the lounge which is just straight from entrance. it was a very pleseant experience with Nice decors , the fact the there was no hurry from hotel staff to take order was very refreshing approach than other 5 star I have visited in Kolkata. After some time we went to "The Hub" and ordered coffee and some finger food. The Coffees ( oredered Jamacian and latte) were amamzing and I recommend no one to miss Paneer Burji rolls on your next visit. The staff was very hospitable ( Taj standards) we never felt the the hustle bustel even though so amny people were coming and going. Overall it was a fantastic experience and I would recommend everyone who wants a quite coffee in a relaxed environment to visit Taj bengal

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Tankrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kolkata (Calcutta) hotels
2.0 mi away
The Oberoi Grand
The Oberoi Grand
#2 of 224 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
2,109 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata
The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata
#1 of 224 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
1,659 reviews
5.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kolkata
Hyatt Regency Kolkata
#12 of 224 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
1,305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Park Kolkata
The Park Kolkata
#14 of 224 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
1,938 reviews
4.1 mi away
ITC Sonar
ITC Sonar
#3 of 224 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
2,359 reviews
4.2 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Kolkata
JW Marriott Hotel Kolkata
#5 of 224 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taj Bengal Kolkata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Bengal Kolkata

Address: 34b Belvedere Road | Alipore, Kolkata (Calcutta) 700027, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > West Bengal > Kolkata District > Kolkata (Calcutta)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#5 Luxury Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#5 Family Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#6 Spa Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Price Range: $160 - $309 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Taj Bengal Kolkata 5*
Number of rooms: 229
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Taj Bengal, designed by the legendary Bob Fox, stands as an elegant Kolkata landmark. It is in close proximity to the commercial centre, Government Offices and Consulates, and must-see sights like the Victoria Memorial, Royal Calcutta Race Course, Horticulture Gardens, National Library and the Zoological Gardens. Iconic host to Heads of State, dignitaries and international business head-honchos, it is geared to the needs of the global business traveller. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoftTaj, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Taj Bengal Kolkata reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Bengal Kolkata Hotel Kolkata (Calcutta)
Taj Bengal Hotel Kolkata
Taj Bengal Kolkata India/Kolkata (Calcutta), Asia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing