We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply Outstanding!”
Review of Taj Bengal Kolkata

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Taj Bengal Kolkata
Ranked #4 of 221 Hotels in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Simply Outstanding!”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

I stayed in Taj Bengal Kolkata for 1 night only and I have never experienced this kind of perfect service in a hotel. This is simply 10/10. From the check-in to the check-out process, everything was hassle free. What is the most amazing part of the hotel is the sincerity and genuineness of the service that I experienced. There was nothing fake, nothing for the sake of it. Every team member I came across was genuinely happy to help me and provide me with a service that has made Taj a legend in India. Room service was great and that too at 03:30 am. Wifi in the room is reasonably priced for a 5-Star hotel and is very good in terms of speed. Breakfast buffet was outstanding (you need time on your hands though to do justice to it-I was in a rush!!!).Special mention to Accommodation Executive-Mr. Anmol Ahluwalia who welcomed me at the hotel. He is one gem of a person and very warm and hospitable. To everyone out there looking for luxury accommodation in Kolkata-just choose Taj Bengal, I'll be surprised if anyone comes close to it for service and comfort. Also, some of my other Australian friends had been staying in the hotel from before I checked-in and they too had the same opinion-this kind of service would be hard to replicate anywhere!!!

Room Tip: Book the Luxury Suite. So damn spacious-you'll get lost!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vishit K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,825 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,299
    400
    83
    26
    17
See reviews for
333
240
192
955
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (282)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Evesham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
144 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

This was my first trip to India, and I'm glad I picked this hotel. I was staying for 5 nights, so I had plenty of time to see what it was like.
I had a complimentary airport pick up, which was on time and without fault.
From the moment I arrived, to the moment I left, the service was absolutely incredible. Every member of staff was courteous and very helpful.

The room was very nice, large and very clean and comfortable. The bathroom was again very big and also very clean too.
There was no free WIFI, but the option to pay for a short time, or a 24 hr pass.

I ate at the hotel every night, and tried a few of the restaurants, all of which were very nice and recommended. As I enjoy a good curry, I can recommend the Sonargaon restaurant especially.

The breakfast was very extensive, again with very friendly and courteous staff.

Absolutely no complaints from me at all, and I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Get a pool facing room if you can, but be aware if there are any functions (weddings etc), the noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanFreeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
Reviewed February 20, 2013

I am an Emirates Cabin Crew and I have seen hundreds of hotels but nothing compares to the Taj!! Just Wow!! From the moment you walk in the door you feel welcome, nothing is too hard for the staff. I came with a cold and when signing in the staff asked if i would like a hot toddy brought up to my room to help me rest! The room service is so yum and prompt, the restaurants have a great selection and all amazing food! I can not recommend this hotel enough! The spa is outstanding, the bed is SO comfortable! You can not fault this hotel and it's staff in any way.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie1982_58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
1,177 reviews
231 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 530 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Taj service is legedary, and Taj Bengal staff went an extra mile to make my stay comfortable. I arrived and was offered a free coffee, and since i checked out very early, room service also sent me off with a breakfast box. Both very nice gestures. At checkin and checkout, service was prompt and friendly. At checkout, they forgot to remove a charge for airport drop--- as my office organized that separately. I called a few days later and the duty manager quickly addressed this and refunded my credit card for this charge. Room service was good menu selection and good quality. I didn't have time to try the other multiple restaurants in the hotel. The bed was very comfortable, and the room was quiet. However, the room itself and the hallways to the room could use a touch up. My room's carpet had stains, and the furnishings were old in the room and in the bathroom. This may be an anomaly, and other rooms may be in better shape. But it's not the quality of room that typifies a Taj hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jenabaindelhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

Had a great experience at the hotel. Great service, very well trained staff who really take care of the little things that make your stay just that much better.
For example when I returned to the room in the evening the clothes which i had just thrown around we're neatly folded and kept near my bag, all my toiletries were properly placed and my phone charger was neatly tied up with a band.
Good food options and comfortable rooms.
The only downside was the pressure of the water flow from the shower.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Mitv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed February 13, 2013

I traveled with my wife, 1 year old baby & parents; both the rooms we had was upgraded to executive suite. The service was excellent and very prompt.
Being a high end hotel, it's a bit expensive but definitely every penny worth.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Praful K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2013

I stayed at the Taj Bengal again for a couple of nights in Feb and it lived up to expectations. I was checked in in my room (possibly because I had stayed before) and the service throughout was very good. This was just a short stay so I didn't use the gym, pool or restaurants.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DJ_Billy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kolkata (Calcutta) hotels
2.0 mi away
The Oberoi Grand
The Oberoi Grand
#1 of 221 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
2,030 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata
The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata
#3 of 221 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
1,119 reviews
5.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kolkata
Hyatt Regency Kolkata
#11 of 221 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
1,247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
ITC Sonar
ITC Sonar
#5 of 221 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
1,942 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Park Kolkata
The Park Kolkata
#16 of 221 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
1,857 reviews
9.5 mi away
Swissotel Kolkata
Swissotel Kolkata
#9 of 221 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
1,414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taj Bengal Kolkata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Bengal Kolkata

Property: Taj Bengal Kolkata
Address: 34b Belvedere Road | Alipore, Kolkata (Calcutta) 700027, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > West Bengal > Kolkata District > Kolkata (Calcutta)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#3 Luxury Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#4 Spa Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#5 Family Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Taj Bengal Kolkata 5*
Number of rooms: 229
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Taj Bengal, designed by the legendary Bob Fox, stands as an elegant Kolkata landmark. It is in close proximity to the commercial centre, Government Offices and Consulates, and must-see sights like the Victoria Memorial, Royal Calcutta Race Course, Horticulture Gardens, National Library and the Zoological Gardens. Iconic host to Heads of State, dignitaries and international business head-honchos, it is geared to the needs of the global business traveller. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, DerbySoftTaj, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Taj Bengal Kolkata reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Bengal Kolkata Hotel Kolkata (Calcutta)
Taj Bengal Hotel Kolkata
Taj Bengal Kolkata India/Kolkata (Calcutta), Asia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing