We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One should opt for the stay”
Review of Taj Bengal Kolkata

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Taj Bengal Kolkata
Ranked #6 of 224 Hotels in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 17, 2012

Hotel is almost centrally located with all amenities of a 5* hotel.
Rooms size are big and they have various choice for the food. An excellet hotel overall.
They have multiple restaurant with choice of your taste. Excellnet pool.The lounge is well decorated in traditional style. well secured.

Room Tip: It is located in Alipore. very close to the victoria palace,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paikshit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,928)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,459 - 1,465 of 1,928 reviews

Reviewed November 16, 2012

We returned from Kolkata very recently.
We were on a very emotional trip. Taking my late fathers ashes back to our family. The staff were aware of this, and couldn't have been more helpful, especially one front of house member, Samarpita Nandi who went out her way to help us, she was so very thoughtful with flowers for my family.
And please look out for the lovely Santosh the elevator attendant, who has the biggest smile and a huge knowledge of Kolkata.
We wil definitley come back soon.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DBhowmik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2012

I stayed at this luxury hotel for a night. This is an older property but well-maintained and clean. It is also one of the better Taj hotels. The decor in the corridors and lobby is traditional Indian and there are some magnificent Tanjore paintings.

The rooms are good, although a bit dull and feels cramped. But the fresh flowers in the room and bathroom add a nice touch. The bathroom is small for a luxury hotel but there is a bathtub. The fitness center is good with trainers too and there is a pool that was clean (didn't use it though). Wifi is chargeable even for frequenters of the Taj.

As for the complimentary spread, there is good variety. But the taste could be better and more authentic. The presentation was great but a lot of the Indian dishes in the spread weren't that appealing tastewise.

The service was excellent and prompt though. I asked them to pack some fruits as I was out of time and they also packed a dessert- a nice surprise! This hotel has excellent and friendly staff. The verdict- a good luxury hotel if you like the ones with traditional themes and a feel of the local culture. But for the same price, there are other modern luxury hotels around.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2pence_worth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

We were staying a couple of times at Taj Bengal while traveling on business in Calcutta / Kharagpur. (I took my 13 yo son on the trip too, so some was vacation)
The service is just awesome, you feel immediately immersed into Indian culture and hospitality.
We arrived very late the first stay and the restaurants were actually just closing. They kept open for us and also made it possible to have a meal that was normally already out.
The second time we were upgraded to a suite which my son really liked. We used the pool until closing (23:00). Many Hotels have pool openings during the day from 8-17, maybe until 19:00 which makes it almost impossible to enjoy if you are there due to business. Taj Bengal has seemed to understand that issue. The service at the pool (it was already dark at about 20:00) was excellent, we were served our drinks at/in the pool and could enjoy the evening.
This was one of the best Hotels I have ever stay at, #2 for our Tour in India only slightly behind Ananda in the Himalayas.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smilesmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Went to the Chinoiserie for lunch with family. Good ambience and good food and very friendly service. The space however is a bit tight, ie too many tables in a small space. However the staff make you feel very comfortable and prompt serving. Great variety of food and drinks.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JAYANTBISWAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

One of the best property from Taj. It is definetly our quick getaway whenever the pressure of city gets a little too much. Excellent Service, right from the moment you step in , small little touches that shows they really care - there are spectacles wipes placed right after the security check, coz cal is so humid and spectacles gets foggy the moment you step in, a box of popcorn and soda drink comes with every movie video you order, small things but so very thoughtful.
If you get a chance of stay on the club floor, do spend some time in the club lounge. I could spend days reading sunk into one of the many leather couches - simply heaven.

Special mention to the staff, they are by far the very best, across all Taj & most of the 5 start property we have stayed.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShilpiV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

It is the Best Hotel of Taj Group for Food and Service.Cleanliness of Room are very good, Food service in restaurant as well as in room dining are also good.
We feel that Taj Group Hotel Barack fast quality may be improved , there are scope to improve the same.

Room Tip: No choice all the room are city view, no meaning of Pool side view Room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SuratDEEPAK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kolkata (Calcutta) hotels
2.0 mi away
The Oberoi Grand
The Oberoi Grand
#3 of 224 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
2,127 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata
The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata
#1 of 224 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
1,763 reviews
5.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kolkata
Hyatt Regency Kolkata
#12 of 224 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
1,316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
ITC Sonar
ITC Sonar
#2 of 224 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
2,438 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Park Kolkata
The Park Kolkata
#16 of 224 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
1,959 reviews
9.5 mi away
Swissotel Kolkata
Swissotel Kolkata
#9 of 224 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
1,582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taj Bengal Kolkata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Bengal Kolkata

Address: 34b Belvedere Road | Alipore, Kolkata (Calcutta) 700027, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > West Bengal > Kolkata District > Kolkata (Calcutta)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#5 Family Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#5 Luxury Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#6 Spa Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Price Range: $168 - $340 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Taj Bengal Kolkata 5*
Number of rooms: 229
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Taj Bengal, designed by the legendary Bob Fox, stands as an elegant Kolkata landmark. It is in close proximity to the commercial centre, Government Offices and Consulates, and must-see sights like the Victoria Memorial, Royal Calcutta Race Course, Horticulture Gardens, National Library and the Zoological Gardens. Iconic host to Heads of State, dignitaries and international business head-honchos, it is geared to the needs of the global business traveller. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoftTaj, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotwire so you can book your Taj Bengal Kolkata reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Bengal Kolkata Hotel Kolkata (Calcutta)
Taj Bengal Hotel Kolkata
Taj Bengal Kolkata India/Kolkata (Calcutta), Asia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing