We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata(Kolkata (Calcutta))
$102
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata(Kolkata (Calcutta))
$93
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hyatt Regency Kolkata(Kolkata (Calcutta))
$65
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of $72/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Peerless Inn(Kolkata (Calcutta))
$46
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Swissotel Kolkata(Kolkata (Calcutta))
$80
$76
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Taj Bengal Kolkata(Kolkata (Calcutta))
$158
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Park Kolkata(Kolkata (Calcutta))
$82
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Oberoi Grand(Kolkata (Calcutta))
$160
$115
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Radisson Kolkata Ballygunge(Kolkata (Calcutta))
Radisson
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (3,421)
Filter reviews
3,421 results
Traveler rating
2,821
410
109
40
41
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,821
410
109
40
41
Show reviews that mention
All reviewseden paviliondum pukhtlotus pondpan asianeva floorwater bodiescoffee shopbeautiful propertyguest relationsscience citysecond homespecial mentionspecial thanksbusiness triphis teamhome away from homein room dining
Filter
Updating list...
3,250 - 3,255 of 3,421 reviews
Reviewed August 4, 2010

This is one of the biggest and best hotels in kolkata. ITC is a big brand name and it reflects in this hotel. The services are extreme.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ashi0505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ITCSONAR, Public Relations Manager at ITC Sonar, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2010

We thank you for your kind words of appreciation. The concept of Sonar is indigenous to the local culture of the region. An aura of relaxed ambience envelops you as you step into its vast Lobby with its terracotta, stone and timber furnishings.The unique and distinctive value of operating excellence and exemplary architecture that the ITC Hotels are associated with has been widely acknowledged by business travelers across the world.ITC Welcomgroup’s ethos of reflecting “rooted in soil“ yet dynamic in form and philosophy is woven into the décor of the hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2010

The last day of a 15 day business trip around India brought me to this little slice of heaven! It is new, clean and extraordinary in every way. This was, without question, the best 5-star hotel in which I stayed during my trip to India.

I was exhausted and all of my needs were met by the extremely efficient and helpful staff. The food was excellent, the room fantastic and and the spa was a healing experience. A 1 hour Thai massage helped prepare me for my 14 hour odyssey which would take me to London, the next destination on my trip.

If visiting Kolkata, this is THE place to stay!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GJY2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ITCSONAR, Public Relations Manager at ITC Sonar, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2010

Thank you for the appreciative note. We at Sonar are committed to providing you world class facilities backed by courteous and efficient services. We are delighted to offer the Welcom-e-Concierge Online Service Initiative, wherein your preferences are noted in an endeavor to personalize your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2010

Fantasic property, too good a Spa, health club and nice pool. The food in all the restaurants is simply amazing.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mallikarjuny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ITCSONAR, Public Relations Manager at ITC Sonar, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2010

It is a pleasure that the services rendered by us were up to your expectation. We look forward to welcoming you back to ITC Sonar, your home in Kolkata. Whether you stay with us on business or on leisure, we offer distinct facilities that will help you make the most of your visit. Should you like anything specific during your next stay, please do let us know when you make your next reservation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2010

This is a great luxury hotel with large rooms that are modern and stylish. I particularly liked the spacious bathroom. Restaurants (I tried both breakfast and dinner) were okay, but not overwhelming. Though not very central in Kolkata, the hotel was well located for me as I had business meetings in Salt Lake. Another good point was complimentary airport pick-up. Value for money is more than okay.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dkdklmpsz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ITCSONAR, Public Relations Manager at ITC Sonar, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2010

We thank you for the appreciative note. Our Hotel is located 20 minutes from the heart of the city, to keep the guests away from everyday hustle bustle but yet stay connected to the city. We at Sonar believe in providing world class facilities for our guests. The greatest luxury for discerning guests like you is time and our service design has been innovatively worked out accordingly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2010

this property was booked by us for a company meeting and stay overnite. The location of the hotel is good apart from the busy city and easy access to the airport. although its around 15km but it takes very less time to cover. the hotels have big rooms and all kind of arangement for big conferences. the best part of this hotel is that in the evening after dusk the hotel is lite up with all golden lites and its amaging to look all around.i just love the scene and the reflaxtion of the lights in the swimming pool was like .............wat more u can say

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SAKETAGARWAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ITCSONAR, Public Relations Manager at ITC Sonar, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2010

We thank you for your gracious reply. Sonar is a first “Business resort” in the country which empowers business travelers with luxury of time and comfort. Amidst the ambience of seclusion and luxury lies Kaya Kalp – The Spa at Sonar, offering a delightful retreat from the pressing modern world. It gives us an immense pleasure to get appreciation from our prestigious guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews