We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home away from home” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of ITC Sonar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
ITC Sonar
Ranked #4 of 216 Hotels in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Certificate of Excellence
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
1 review
“Home away from home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2014

Many hotels offer a comfortable stay, excellent service, and great restaurants. All of this comes standard at ITC Sonar, Kolkata. As a bonus though, guests here immediately become part of the family. The welcoming atmosphere and continued hospitality provided by the staff is what makes a stay at ITC Sonar an unforgettable experience.
Location is very good. 30 mins to airport. Short drive from shopping, restaurants, nightlife, and Park Street. Onsite restaurants are excellent, including exceptional service at the Pavillion.
Tower rooms are comfortable and spacious, perfect for the business traveler. Make your preferences known, as housekeeping (and all staff) will happily make up your room the way you like it. Luxury, and comfort are what you can expect from a stay here.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joemoyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atul B, General Manager at ITC Sonar, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your wonderful comments. Your recommendation on our services, food and beverage is deeply appreciated.

We thank you for your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back.

Warm regards,

Atul Bhalla
General Manager
ITC Sonar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,658 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,179
    338
    76
    33
    32
See reviews for
239
135
145
1,011
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (411)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2014

I m a regular visitor and stay at itc sonar for my professional work
Excellent service and friendly behaviour. ,
Very professional and I always say its second home.
You demand ant type of food it's at your service.
Executives are helpful and friendly. I may mention a few names like ms manali banerjee .
And harpreet.
I recommend everyone to stay and share first hand experience.
Regards.
Ca. Vk beswal. 09820138678.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vkb1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atul B, General Manager at ITC Sonar, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on Trip Advisor. We have are delighted to note that you had a pleasant and comfortable stay at the hotel.

We deeply value your patronage and look forward to welcome you back.

Warm regards,

Atul Bhalla
General Manager
ITC Sonar, Kolkata
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandigarh, India
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2014

To me this one is the best of all ITC hotels in India, spacious, magnificent with beautiful ponds and floating flora. Services are quick, staff is very helpful. Breakfast spread is also good and they will entertain your request if you want something not included in the spread.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KanakChopra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atul B, General Manager at ITC Sonar, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us on Trip Advisor and we are glad to learn that you had a pleasant and comfortable stay.

Built on the lines of a Bagaanbari, the garden home of the nobility, ITC Sonar pays tribute to the beauty of Bengal. Cuisine plays an important role too, true to the fabled hospitality of the region.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Warmest regards,
Atul Bhalla
General Manager
ITC Sonar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
129 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2014

The hotel is not far from the airport, less than 30 minutes by car. It is adjoining the Science City and the area where the annual book fair takes place. Check-in is fairly efficient; however, it is a long walk from the check in area to the elevators taking you to the rooms. Bathroom amenities are inadequate.. there was no razor and shaving cream, something even lesser graded hotels keep in the bathrooms nowadays. When you are using the room for just a few hours and have to rush to the airport early morning like I did, there is no time to call the help desk and ask for it.
As with all ITC hotels, unfortunately, the lack of water for the big job, forcing us to use mounds of toilet paper goes against their concept of "go-green" and gives the Indian guest the impression that he is a second class citizen in his own country.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DrQuresh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atul B, General Manager at ITC Sonar, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your comments on Trip Advisor, we are delighted to note that you had a comfortable and pleasant stay with us.

While your appreciation has been valued, we have also noted with great concern the areas you have highlighted for improvement. Let me assure you that the same has already been addressed for review as necessary.

We look forward to welcome you back.

Warmest regards,
Atul Bhalla
General Manager
ITC Sonar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhubaneswar, India
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2014

A remarkable experience and a lovely stay again. Concierge Miss. Manali Banerjee was at her best to attend and give the best service. I am a regular customer at Sonar Bangla, but this visit was a nice pleasure. the service, hospitality, cleanliness, prompt service are the factors that makes the property more joyous.

Room Tip: Always I prefer ITC One.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Akshay519
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atul B, General Manager at ITC Sonar, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your responses with us on Trip Advisor. We are delighted to note your experience and are happy to learn that you had a memorable time at ITC Sonar, Kolkata.

Your recommendation is deeply valued and we look forward to welcoming you back to create many more great memories together.

Warmest regards,
Atul Bhalla
General Manager
ITC Sonar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2014

It was a very quick visit to Kolkata and I choose this hotel for its location - very close to airport. Upon check-in I was happy with my decision because of comfort & very efficient service I received from all staff members. Good lounge service /access and overall comfortable stay.
I would particularly like to thank Manali and Palas for their help and customer care.

Room Tip: Choose rooms on 1st floor.... better view and openness
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ajay_D_Pune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atul B, General Manager at ITC Sonar, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us on Trip Advisor, we are delighted to note that you had a pleasant stay at the hotel.

We appreciate your recommendation on our location and services and hope to welcome you back in your future visits.

Warmest regards,

Atul Bhalla
General Manager
ITC Sonar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhubaneswar, India
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2014

The property is remarkable with all its staff who are very friendly. A place where one can enjoy, explore and love the scenic and enjoy the property to the fullest. It has everything where one can travel alone, with friends or with family.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Abhishek684
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atul B, General Manager at ITC Sonar, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on Trip Advisor and we are delighted to note that you had a wonderful experience at ITC Sonar.

Epitomizing the beauty of Bengal, ITC Sonar offers a resort -like feel to a luxury business hotel in the midst of a busy city.

Your kind words of appreciation and recommendation are deeply valued. We look forward to welcoming you back and hope ITC Sonar remains your preferred destination of stay in all your future visits.

Warmest regards,
Atul Bhalla
General Manager
ITC Sonar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kolkata (Calcutta) hotels
4.1 mi away
Taj Bengal Kolkata
Taj Bengal Kolkata
#2 of 216 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,729 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Oberoi Grand
The Oberoi Grand
#1 of 216 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,927 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata
The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata
#5 of 216 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kolkata
Hyatt Regency Kolkata
#9 of 216 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,195 reviews
6.4 mi away
Swissotel Kolkata
Swissotel Kolkata
#6 of 216 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,311 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Park Kolkata
The Park Kolkata
#16 of 216 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ITC Sonar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ITC Sonar

Property: ITC Sonar
Address: Haldane Avenue, Kolkata (Calcutta) 700046, India
Location: India > West Bengal > Kolkata (Calcutta)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#2 Family Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#2 Business Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#3 Spa Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — ITC Sonar 5*
Number of rooms: 238
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Starwood APAC, Priceline, Orbitz and Booking.com so you can book your ITC Sonar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Itc Sonar Hotel Kolkata (Calcutta)
Itc Hotel Kolkata
ITC Sonar India/Kolkata (Calcutta), Asia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing