We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
ITC Sonar
Nearby Hotels
Radisson Kolkata Ballygunge(Kolkata (Calcutta))
$91
$80
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata(Kolkata (Calcutta))
$91
$88
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Swissotel Kolkata(Kolkata (Calcutta))
$77
Swissotel.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$100
$73
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Hyatt Regency Kolkata(Kolkata (Calcutta))
$104
$79
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Park Kolkata(Kolkata (Calcutta))
$112
$76
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Oberoi Grand(Kolkata (Calcutta))
$164
$129
Oberoi Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Taj Bengal Kolkata(Kolkata (Calcutta))
$145
Taj Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Peerless Inn(Kolkata (Calcutta))
$76
$64
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Vedic Village Spa Resort(Kolkata (Calcutta))
$76
$68
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (3,098)
Filter reviews
3,098 results
Traveler rating
2,515
401
103
39
40
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,515
401
103
39
40
Show reviews that mention
All reviewseden paviliondum pukhtlilly pondpan asianguest relation executivewater bodiesspecial mention to msan amazing propertybusiness tripspecial thanksfront officecoffee shopsecond homescience cityexcellent hospitalityhome away from homehis team
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,638 - 2,643 of 3,098 reviews
Reviewed April 26, 2013

have never seen a hotel like this ... surrounded by and inside also water ponds and plantation .... huge lobby ... big rooms and its a place .... what a architecture and interiors ... very well maintained ... very professional staff ..... had the best of food as well ..... its out of the league ..... looking forward for coming again soon

Room Tip: all rooms are good
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mrjunikohli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zubin S, General Manager at ITC Sonar, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience on Trip Advisor. I am delighted to note your appreciation of the hotel and its services and that you have had an enjoyable stay at ITC Sonar. The unique layout and architecture of this hotel built around the beautiful water gardens has given us the distinction of being the finest ‘Business Resort’ in the country.

We thank you for your kind appreciation once again & look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Kolkata.

Warmest regards
Zubin S.Songadwala

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

My second stay here in a matter of weeks, and it is efficently and
wonderfully run with a smile by their staff. They have always been accomodating and the ITC quality shows. Their restaurants are superb and extraordinary food. However the portions at the coffee shop on the alacarte menu should give you more bang for the buck.
Good spa, great swimming pool and red snappers in the water ponds make for a great atmosphere around the hotel.
Breakfast buffet though is a notch lower than the other itc hotels in mumbai and delhi

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jiten H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ITCSONAR, General Manager at ITC Sonar, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time off and reviewing us on Tripadvisor. It is a pleasure to know that my staff took good care of you. We have noted your feedback regarding the buffet breakfast as well as the a la carte portions at Eden Pavilion, and the same would certainly be considered for us to evaluate our product offering to ensure a positive & superior experience in the future

We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back on your next visit to Kolkata.

Warmest regards
Zubin S.Songadwala

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

As soon as you walk in the hotel you can feel the luxury and tranquillity in the air (or is it the smell of the rose petals floating in the big clay pots scattered around the reception area?).

The staff is very attendive, the breakfast is unbelievable (try the Dosa, the Idlis, the Kachoris), the restaurants one better than the next (Try the leg of lamb at the Peshwari restaurant).

Watch TV from the bath tap, try the "Sound sleep" spray on your pillow, try the free yoga lessons in the morning. If Kolkata wasn't such a buzzy, interesting place I would recommend to spend your entire visit in the hotel!

Room Tip: All rooms are they same. Best to get one away from the Marriott building works next door.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Xen0ph0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ITCSONAR, General Manager at ITC Sonar, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor. It was a pleasure to have you stay at ITC Sonar. My team at ITC Sonar joins me in thanking you for your kind words of appreciation..

Look forward to your next visit.

Warmest regards
Zubin S.Songadwala

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013

I stayed ITC Sonar, and had a great time. The staffs were so friendly and helpful. The most wonderful thing was the room. It was comfortable, and what the best thing I liked was amenity sets, like shampoo etc. I didn't expect this hotel as having such a wonderful facilities! When I visit Kolkata, I would like to stay there again!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shanti K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ITCSONAR, General Manager at ITC Sonar, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor. We thank you for your warm feedback. It feels great to hear that your stay at ITC Sonar was extremely comfortable & that the team made it special for you.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Warmest regards
Zubin S.Songadwala

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

Great Luxury hotel with impressive entrance, rooms and amenities. Rooms have separate calm entrance. Rooms are very nice with good bathroom facilities. In room dining was a good experience as well. Overall- very nice experience !

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TPsingh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ITCSONAR, General Manager at ITC Sonar, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to share your recent experience with us on Trip Advisor. I am pleased to know that you had a distinctive and luxurious experience at ITC Sonar.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Warmest regards
Zubin S.Songadwala

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews