We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“its a hotel and a place”
Review of ITC Sonar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
ITC Sonar
Ranked #3 of 224 Hotels in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Reviewed April 26, 2013

have never seen a hotel like this ... surrounded by and inside also water ponds and plantation .... huge lobby ... big rooms and its a place .... what a architecture and interiors ... very well maintained ... very professional staff ..... had the best of food as well ..... its out of the league ..... looking forward for coming again soon

Room Tip: all rooms are good
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mrjunikohli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zubin S, General Manager at ITC Sonar, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience on Trip Advisor. I am delighted to note your appreciation of the hotel and its services and that you have had an enjoyable stay at ITC Sonar. The unique layout and architecture of this hotel built around the beautiful water gardens has given us the distinction of being the finest ‘Business Resort’ in the country.

We thank you for your kind appreciation once again & look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Kolkata.

Warmest regards
Zubin S.Songadwala

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,362)
There are newer reviews for ITC Sonar
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,909 - 1,915 of 2,365 reviews

Reviewed April 25, 2013

My second stay here in a matter of weeks, and it is efficently and
wonderfully run with a smile by their staff. They have always been accomodating and the ITC quality shows. Their restaurants are superb and extraordinary food. However the portions at the coffee shop on the alacarte menu should give you more bang for the buck.
Good spa, great swimming pool and red snappers in the water ponds make for a great atmosphere around the hotel.
Breakfast buffet though is a notch lower than the other itc hotels in mumbai and delhi

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jiten H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ITCSONAR, General Manager at ITC Sonar, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time off and reviewing us on Tripadvisor. It is a pleasure to know that my staff took good care of you. We have noted your feedback regarding the buffet breakfast as well as the a la carte portions at Eden Pavilion, and the same would certainly be considered for us to evaluate our product offering to ensure a positive & superior experience in the future

We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back on your next visit to Kolkata.

Warmest regards
Zubin S.Songadwala

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

As soon as you walk in the hotel you can feel the luxury and tranquillity in the air (or is it the smell of the rose petals floating in the big clay pots scattered around the reception area?).

The staff is very attendive, the breakfast is unbelievable (try the Dosa, the Idlis, the Kachoris), the restaurants one better than the next (Try the leg of lamb at the Peshwari restaurant).

Watch TV from the bath tap, try the "Sound sleep" spray on your pillow, try the free yoga lessons in the morning. If Kolkata wasn't such a buzzy, interesting place I would recommend to spend your entire visit in the hotel!

Room Tip: All rooms are they same. Best to get one away from the Marriott building works next door.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Xen0ph0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ITCSONAR, General Manager at ITC Sonar, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor. It was a pleasure to have you stay at ITC Sonar. My team at ITC Sonar joins me in thanking you for your kind words of appreciation..

Look forward to your next visit.

Warmest regards
Zubin S.Songadwala

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013

I stayed ITC Sonar, and had a great time. The staffs were so friendly and helpful. The most wonderful thing was the room. It was comfortable, and what the best thing I liked was amenity sets, like shampoo etc. I didn't expect this hotel as having such a wonderful facilities! When I visit Kolkata, I would like to stay there again!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shanti K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ITCSONAR, General Manager at ITC Sonar, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor. We thank you for your warm feedback. It feels great to hear that your stay at ITC Sonar was extremely comfortable & that the team made it special for you.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Warmest regards
Zubin S.Songadwala

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

Great Luxury hotel with impressive entrance, rooms and amenities. Rooms have separate calm entrance. Rooms are very nice with good bathroom facilities. In room dining was a good experience as well. Overall- very nice experience !

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TPsingh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ITCSONAR, General Manager at ITC Sonar, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to share your recent experience with us on Trip Advisor. I am pleased to know that you had a distinctive and luxurious experience at ITC Sonar.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Warmest regards
Zubin S.Songadwala

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

ITC Sonar is a wonderful Hotel in Kolkata. It is located on the highway to Airport out of town. Has no surrounding area to walk around. But inside the Hotel it is a very good hotel. The rooms are nice. The superior rooms are excellent overlooking the garden and water body on the ground floor. Service is excellent. The Restaurants are very good. It is a treat to stay in this hotel

Room Tip: Always take the Superior rooms which are called ITC One
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AshokJalan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ITCSONAR, General Manager at ITC Sonar, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure to have you stay at ITC Sonar. Thank you for taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor. My team at ITC Sonar joins me in thanking you for your kind words of appreciation..

Look forward to your next visit.

Warmest regards
Zubin S.Songadwala

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

i stayed here for 5 nights the first thing is hotel environment is very good.every body will like this hotel rooms are also including bed everything is good.rooms rates are little bit high.if u are going to restaurant.take buffet that is best in sonar.lot of varieties u cant see in any other hotel really good hotel

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vimalgiri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ITCSONAR, General Manager at ITC Sonar, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure to have you stay at ITC Sonar. Thank you very much for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor.

We are grateful for your appreciation of the property and the buffet at Eden Pavilion, our 24 hours’ multi cuisine restaurant. Our endeavour is to offer excellent accommodation, food and prompt service to all our guests and my team and I feel privileged that you have considered writing this review.

Thank you for having stayed with us and we look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to ITC Sonar.

Warmest regards
Zubin S.Songadwala

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kolkata (Calcutta) hotels
3.2 mi away
The Oberoi Grand
The Oberoi Grand
#2 of 224 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
2,109 reviews
4.1 mi away
Taj Bengal Kolkata
Taj Bengal Kolkata
#6 of 224 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
1,914 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata
The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata
#1 of 224 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
1,663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Kolkata
JW Marriott Hotel Kolkata
#5 of 224 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
454 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kolkata
Hyatt Regency Kolkata
#12 of 224 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
1,306 reviews
6.4 mi away
Swissotel Kolkata
Swissotel Kolkata
#9 of 224 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
1,542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ITC Sonar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ITC Sonar

Address: Haldane Avenue, Kolkata (Calcutta) 700046, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > West Bengal > Kolkata District > Kolkata (Calcutta)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#2 Family Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#3 Luxury Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#3 Spa Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Price Range: $106 - $276 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — ITC Sonar 5*
Number of rooms: 238
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your ITC Sonar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Itc Sonar Hotel Kolkata (Calcutta)
Itc Hotel Kolkata
ITC Sonar India/Kolkata (Calcutta), Asia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing