We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The 'Bees Knees' for Business Travellers”
Review of ITC Sonar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
ITC Sonar
Ranked #3 of 224 Hotels in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Reviewed March 15, 2013

My partner and I come back to this hotel every year, sometimes twice and for a duration of between seven and ten days each time depending on our business needs. The hotel is a perfect oasis in the midst of an extremely busy and densely populated city. It provides a relaxing respite from the general commotion and hub-bub that consists of nose to tail traffic, or perhaps I should say wing mirror to wing mirror traffic that can turn two lanes into six and the airbourne dust that automatically follows you everywhere. The journey by car from the airport is approximately 30 to 40 minutes depending on whether you are in the hands of the Indian version of Grand Prix winner Sebastian Vettel , who incidentally won the Indian Grand Prix in 2012, or an experienced chauffer. Either way, it will prove to be an exciting journey as pedestrians do not have right of way.

Here’s a handy tip for all travellers to Kolkata; smother yourself in mosquito repellent containing Deet just before you land if arriving in the winter months; in the summer it’s too hot for mosquitos to survive!

On arrival at the hotel, once the car has been searched for bombs, you will be greeted warmly by the doormen and then you will pass through the equivalent of airport security complete with body scanners; but it’s all done in the best possible taste and with courteous smiles.
The cool, marble lobby is always beautifully presented and the staff polite and courteous, yet warm and friendly at the same time. The grounds are landscaped with lily ponds and filled with intelligent fish, possibly koi carp. Once upon a time you could feed the fish at certain times of the day with designated fish food but now this is sadly no longer possible. However, if you go and lean over the water’s edge (no falling in, please) they will still swim up to you like waggy-tailed puppies with their mouths open, silently shouting, ‘Feed me, feed me!’

The hotel rooms are suitably sumptuous with large restful beds and plenty of home comforts including tea and coffee, biscuits, nibbles and fruit. Choose from a selection of pillows to suit your own personal requirements. The bathrooms contain an assortment of luxury products from the Fiama de Wills collection. Air conditioning is provided but seems to be turned off automatically at night during the winter months which is perhaps very eco-friendly but not a very 5* luxury approach?!

There is a great selection of restaurants and we have always found the food to be of excellent quality. If you like a tipple, Indian wine is perfectly palatable and you can always rely on Kingfisher if you like beer. If you love whiskey, then you’re on home ground.

There is an awful lot of building work going on in Kolkata at the moment. If you go for a swim in the outdoor pool at the hotel, the building work next door, although very interesting, does not entirely lend itself to a romantic setting. Also, there is a fly-over being built directly in front of the hotel which is destined to be a link to Kolkata from the new airport, also currently being built as I write. Hopefully, this will all have been completed within a couple of years.

I wish to pass on my most heartfelt ‘thanks’ to all the wonderful staff who work hard to please my partner and I as their discerning guests. We will definitely be back, which is maybe the best compliment you can pay a hotel. Highly recommended, 5* staff.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jana059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ITCSONAR, Hotel Management at ITC Sonar, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2013

Dear valued reviewer,

Warm Greetings from ITC Sonar, Kolkata!

Thank you for your warm appreciation of ITC Sonar. Designed by awarded Architects Kerry Hill of Singapore, ITC Sonar is a business destination with a difference. At ITC Sonar, we endeavor to inculcate a culture of “care” and we are happy to know that the team rose to the occasion & lived up to your expectation. We have conveyed your kind appreciation to the ITC Sonar team. It is feedback such as this, which motivates the team to excel.

With regard to the construction work near the hotel, this is a signal of progressive urban development & is a temporary phase. We assure you access around the area will soon be swifter and smoother. Your feedback has certainly been considered for us to evaluate our service to ensure a positive and superior experience in the future.

On behalf of the ITC Sonar family, we look forward to welcoming you back to our warmth and indigenous hospitality in the near future.
Warmest regards
Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,365)
There are newer reviews for ITC Sonar
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,923 - 1,929 of 2,365 reviews

Reviewed March 14, 2013

I had stayed for 2 nights while attending the marriage function of my friend in this property. We got the executive club room with access to the lounge. Spacious room and bathroom. Option of choosing from a variety of pillows adds to the comfort because you need a good nights sleep after a long day.

Food was excellent, services were excellent... Also got to have a look at the Queen Suite in which my friend was staying, luxurious though I felt that jacuzzi in the bath would have given more value for money. With its balcony opening to the garden,mosquitoes are an issue and I think ITC should do something about it.....

Else, it was excellent...

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anant28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ITCSONAR, Hotel Management at ITC Sonar, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2013

Dear valued reviewer,

Warm Greetings from ITC Sonar, Kolkata!

Thank you for your words of appreciation. We are pleased to learn that you had an enriching and distinctive experience while staying at ITC Sonar and that our team looked after you very well. Regarding your feedback on mosquitoes, we take this opportunity to assure you necessary measures are already in place to control the same.
We look forward to having you back to experience our warmth and indigenous hospitality in the near future.

Warmest regards
Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Have checked in this hotel numerous times, for business trips only... And each time I have been very ssatisfied with both the room and the service... the swimming pool, health club are also very good... Food is amazing... location is not very far from most markets ... Breakfast spread amazing (though it gets crowded sometimes and there is a space crunch during breakfast... however the service is what compnsates for it)..... Rates are ok by its standards....

The rooms are also very spacious, which is the best part as many luxury hotels these days have a little cramped up rooms... they sacrifice space for a big bathroom, or some accessories.. this is not the case with Sonar...both room and bathroom are spacious..

Highly recommended....

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karan a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ITCSONAR, Hotel Management at ITC Sonar, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2013

Dear valued reviewer,

Warm Greetings from ITC Sonar, Kolkata!

Thank you for your patronage. At ITC Sonar, we endeavor to inculcate a culture of “care” and we are happy to know that the team rose to the occasion & lived up to your expectation. It is feedback such as this, which motivates the team to excel.

Thank you for choosing ITC Sonar. We look forward to your next stay with us.

Warmest regards
Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Under the stewardship of Zubin Songadwala and very capable management of Sydney Banerji, Sonar has reached another level of excellence. Hospitality continues to be great and maintenance of the hotel is tops.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ravi1603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ITCSONAR, Hotel Management at ITC Sonar, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2013

Dear valued reviewer,

Warm Greetings from ITC Sonar, Kolkata!

Thank you for your continued patronage. We are pleased to learn that you had an enriching and distinctive experience while staying at ITC Sonar and that our team looked after you very well. We would also like to thank you for your kind words of appreciation and needless to mention the concerned individuals, Mr. Zubin S.Songadwala, General Manager & Mr. Sydney Banerjee, Front Office Manager, ITC Sonar are delighted. It is comments such as yours that motivate our team, and help them to strive for even higher levels of perfection. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Warmest regards

Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

Stayed at the ITC Sonar after really a long time. Remains the same, I would say, but having stayed at the ITC Royal Gardenia many times recently, we can easily say that the service can be improved. They definitely have some time to catch up with their colleagues in ITC Royal Gardenia Bangalore.

The breakfast area is very crowded, so one should typically look to go early to avoid the crowd as the hotel is typically always full.

The good thing about the hotel is the effort that they have taken to make it green...really commendable.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anindyasen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ITCSONAR, Hotel Management at ITC Sonar, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013

Dear valued reviewer,

Greetings from ITC Sonar, Kolkata!

Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us on Trip Advisor and for recognizing our Green initiatives. One of the cornerstones of our mission is ‘Luxury with Sustainability’ and an extension to this is ’Responsible Luxury’ - ITC Sonar, Kolkata is the first hotel in the world to be registered by the United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change for Carbon Emission Reduction and is also a LEED ( Leadership in Energy & Environmental Design ) Platinum certified by USGBC ( United States Green Building Council
We have noted your feedback and the same have been considered for us to evaluate our product & service to ensure a positive and superior experience in the future.
We thank you once again and look forward to welcoming you back again.

Warmest regards
Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

I have stayed at ITC Sonar 4-5 times in the last 3 years for business. As a female traveler, they normally put me on the EVA floor which is specially designed for solo female travelers (22nd floor). The rooms are nicely appointment with additional amenities such as nail polish remover and face wash and toner. Definitely nice touches.

My checked baggage did not arrive with my flight on this trip, the hotel staff went the extra mile to make me feel comfortable by providing me with a set up pajamas and they even sent a driver out at 1am to buy contact lens solution for me. All were delivered to my room within 30 min of check in. The staff also followed up with the airline and made sure my bag arrived with out further issue. All in all, you always feel taken care of when you're inside the hotel.

A minor things the hotel can improve on: sometimes during meals, way too many staff come over to check on how you're doing. It's very nice of them to be so attentive but it also gets to be a bit disruptive. During breakfast, staff would come by to ask if they can get you anything from the buffet, but then when you ask for something, they say, oh you can get it yourself from the buffet.

Room Tip: Hotel is constructing a new wing, make sure you get a room that's not facing the construction.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank zzzzzzgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ITCSONAR, Hotel Management at ITC Sonar, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013

Dear valued reviewer,

Warm Greetings from ITC Sonar, Kolkata!

We are pleased to read your feedback on the responsiveness of our associates to see you through the predicament you were in with your bags being lost in transit. At ITC Hotels, we endeavor to inculcate a culture of “care” and we are happy to read that the team rose to the occasion.
We have noted your feedback regarding our breakfast service and this would certainly be addressed it to ensure a seamless experience in the future.
On behalf of the ITC Sonar family, we look forward to welcoming you back to our warmth and indigenous hospitality in the near future

Warmest regards

Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

For a business traveller, this hotel probably works better than the others if the location suits.I was at a conference across the road so it was the best choice.A few issues with cleanliness of room on arrival were addressed. The executive lounge is lovely, with small snacks,soft drinks the usual spirits, and quite drinkable wines.Mosquitoes are a problem in the entire area so needed to wear mosquito repellant at all times

wireless excellent and fast.

Service was impeccable, I was treated like a VIP- with everyone knowing my name and everyone trying very hard to please, esp the restaurant and room service and the food was very good. Spa was also excellent. Hotel car service is much more expensive than taxis but well worth it.

overall, after some initial hiccups were dealt with this was a very good stay.

Room Tip: If you are a non-smoker- INSIST ON A NON-SMOKING ROOM. Smoking rooms are plentiful in this hotel and...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Luv2travelOzzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ITCSONAR, Hotel Management at ITC Sonar, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2013

Dear valued reviewer,

Warm Greetings from ITC Sonar, Kolkata!

Thank you for your valuable feedback on your stay at ITC Sonar. We are pleased to learn that you had a pleasant experience while staying at ITC Sonar and that the team looked after you. We at ITC Sonar are committed to providing you world-class facilities backed by courteous and efficient services. With regard to your feedback on cleanliness and mosquitoes, we have noted the same and appropriate and immediate corrective actions have been taken.

We truly value your patronage and shall endeavour to ensure a seamless experience to you on each of your future visits.

Warmest regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kolkata (Calcutta) hotels
3.2 mi away
The Oberoi Grand
The Oberoi Grand
#2 of 224 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
2,109 reviews
4.1 mi away
Taj Bengal Kolkata
Taj Bengal Kolkata
#6 of 224 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
1,914 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata
The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata
#1 of 224 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
1,663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Kolkata
JW Marriott Hotel Kolkata
#5 of 224 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
454 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kolkata
Hyatt Regency Kolkata
#12 of 224 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
1,306 reviews
6.4 mi away
Swissotel Kolkata
Swissotel Kolkata
#9 of 224 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
1,542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ITC Sonar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ITC Sonar

Address: Haldane Avenue, Kolkata (Calcutta) 700046, India
Location: India > West Bengal > Kolkata District > Kolkata (Calcutta)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#2 Family Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#2 Business Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#3 Luxury Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#3 Spa Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Price Range: $106 - $276 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — ITC Sonar 5*
Number of rooms: 238
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your ITC Sonar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Itc Sonar Hotel Kolkata (Calcutta)
Itc Hotel Kolkata
ITC Sonar India/Kolkata (Calcutta), Asia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing