We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A True Oasis in Kolkata”
Review of ITC Sonar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
ITC Sonar
Ranked #3 of 235 Hotels in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Reviewed December 6, 2012

First time in Kolkata, and chose ITC Sonar on points as it is operated under the Starwood group. Certainly a memorable stay and will definitely be back. The two outstanding features of this hotel in my view are 1) Service of the staff, from front desk through to housekeeping. Truly impeccable! and 2) The space of the hotel and its grounds (amazing gardens, lawns and water ponds) means you feel like you are in a resort location - as opposed to the madness of Kolkata! The rooms are very good - not faultless however. The property is hardly brand new, and has the odd bit of wear and tear showing, but the overall experience is as I say memorable. This place is not rated # 3 of all Kolkata hotels for nothing! Another special feature is the huge, seperate, Spa/Gym/Sauna/Beauty/Massage health complex - you could spend your whole stay in that building just having every single inch of your body being pampered. Food in the hotel good, but we ate mostly outside - there is some fantastic restaurant complexes very close by. The hotel is thankfully not right in the central Kolkata district, but a short cab ride away. Oh my god - the driving in Kolkata - leave it to the locals !! All in all, a fabulous stay at ITC Sonar Kolkata and looking forward to returning. Try this place, you will like it!!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shanosV8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ITCSONAR, Hotel Management at ITC Sonar, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2012

Dear Valued Reviewer,

Warm Greetings from ITC Sonar, Kolkata!

Thank you for the wonderful note. . ITC Sonar is arguably the finest business resort in the region - a resort in the urban context. One that has the efficiency of a business hotel yet the feet-up-feel of a resort. An upscale, world class, Asia’s best business Hotel set amidst resort surroundings. A fine fusion of functionality and creativity in an aggregated best location. One that is a consonance with ITC Hotels’ ethos of reflecting “rooted in soil” but dynamic in form and philosophy.
Situated close to the airport and just ten minutes from the Salt Lake silicon hub of Kolkata and the city’s shopping, entertainment, cultural and business districts, ITC Sonar offers an elegant oasis of luxury and warmth in an ambience that brings you closer to nature.

We look forward to welcoming to ITC Sonar, your home in Kolkata.

Warmest regards
Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,555)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,159 - 2,165 of 2,555 reviews

Reviewed December 5, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the ITC Sonar for about a week for a relative's wedding. The hotel was just amazing! All members of the staff were very accommodating and ensured that we were treated like royalty. Rooms are big and comfortable and serviced twice a day. Service & comfort is absolutely consistent right from the staff managing the reception to the housekeepers.

A special mention to the staff managing the breakfast buffet restaurant. They were very sweet and helpful and remembered how I liked my eggs and tea and went out of their way to serve us every morning. The hotel gives you absolutely no reason to complain. 5 stars indeed!

Room Tip: Rooms on a higher floor will give you a great view of the hotel lawns.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RMS83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ITCSONAR, Hotel Management at ITC Sonar, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2012

Dear Valued Reviewer,

Warm Greetings from ITC Sonar, Kolkata!

Thank you for sharing your recent experience on Tripadvisor. We at ITC Sonar are committed to providing you world-class facilities backed by courteous and efficient services. We look forward to welcoming you back to Kolkata & ITC Sonar. Whether you stay with us on business or on leisure, we offer distinct facilities that will help you make the most of your visit. Should you like anything specific during your next stay, please do let us know when you make your next reservation.

Warmest regards
Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

I have stayed in other ITC hotels, but this was the first time here. The rooms, cleanliness, comfort are comparable to the best. But what makes it impressive is the quality and service of associates across all parts of the hotel. I got sick one evening and the response from the front office staff, doctor and room service was outstanding. Despite being located on a busy highway, the design of the hotel makes one forget the noisy and busy scene outside.

Room Tip: I was on the 14th floor of the Executive Club. Very comfortable and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hrishibhattacharyya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ITCSONAR, Hotel Management at ITC Sonar, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2012

Dear Valued Reviewer,

Warm Greetings from ITC Sonar, Kolkata!

We appreciate your valuable feedback and we are pleased to learn that you had an enriching and distinctive experience while staying at ITC Sonar and that our team looked after you very well.
ITC Sonar is the ultimate business getaway – the finest ‘Business Resort’ in the country. Exemplifying this term, this is a place that has all the trappings of a business hotel, along with the ‘feet-up-feel’ of a resort. Whether you stay with us on business or on leisure, we offer distinct facilities that will help you make the most of your visit.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our warmth and indigenous hospitality in the near future.

Warmest regards
Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

ITC Sonar offers the best in class on all fronts - infrastructure, rooms, restaurants, food, spa but the USP of the hotel is its service. The staff here makes you feel at home with their bright smile and enthusiasm. Their energy is infectious and your mood is uplifted when you walk into the hotel.

Everyone - from door man to security guard to concierge to servers to the chefs is very friendly that they make your stay in the Hotel pleasant.

It is by far the best place to stay in Kolkata if you are in the 'City of Joy' for business.

Room Tip: a Lily pond facing room gives you an excellent view in the mornings and late evenings
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nitin_kulsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ITCSONAR, Hotel Management at ITC Sonar, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2012

Dear Valued Reviewer,

Warm Greetings from ITC Sonar, Kolkata!

Thank you for your patronage. We at ITC Sonar are committed to providing you world class facilities backed by courteous and efficient services. Our staff is trained to render exemplary and personalized service and our endeavour at all times is to provide our guests with a “Home away from home experience”

Look forward to your next stay with us.

Warmest regards
Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2012

I am just back after a short & sweet stay at the ITC Sonar Bangla in Kolkata.

The stay though short reminded me of earlier stays there from a couple of years back and i must admit, the experience of the service & comfort is absolutely consistent even after so many years !!

Comfy & Clean room - absolutely no reason for complaints there. Although in hind sight it was probably a little smaller than the room i had previously stayed in when i there last - a few years back.

Had dinner at the West End Grill and only one word to describe it - Fantastic !! We were personally attended to by the chef there and both dishes ordered (me & my boss) were absolutely fabulous. The breakfast selection was also equally impressive and good. You may not be able to eat it all but even then maybe the quantum of choices was a tad lesser than what you would see at some other 5 start breakfast buffets. No end to expectations, right ;-))

The smoking room is a creative new addition that is a very good idea to satisfy the craving of regular smokers and who find it quite painful to have to walk all the way outside the building for a smoke.

Overall stay was satisfying. Would i like to go back there again - Sure !!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank forenns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ITCSONAR, Hotel Management at ITC Sonar, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2012

Dear Valued Reviewer,

Warm Greetings from ITC Sonar, Kolkata!

Thank you for the appreciative note. We at ITC Sonar are committed to providing you world class facilities backed by courteous and efficient services. Our staff is trained to render exemplary and personalized service and our endeavour at all times is to provide our guests with a “Home away from home experience” . At ITC Sonar, we offer an array of award winning cuisines, catering to all tastes - ranging from Peshawri, that brings robust flavours of the North West Frontier & Dum Pukht, showcasing ' The Grand Cuisine of India ' to West View Bar & Grill .Pan Asian showcases the flavours of East Asia.

We also offer the Welcom-e-Concierge Online Service Initiative, wherein your preferences are noted in an endeavor to personalize your stay.

Warmest regards
Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2012

ITC Sonar is an outstanding hotel. I have stayed in top hotels over the years in many different countries but have never experienced such consistent outstanding service. Every staff member was personable and had such friendly and helpful personalities. The hotel itself is an oasis and the comforts are endless. The food is outstanding and the beds and facilities are luxurious. I would highly recommend this hotel to anybody.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 007Egg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ITCSONAR, Hotel Management at ITC Sonar, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2012

Dear Valued Reviewer,

Warm Greetings from ITC Sonar, Kolkata!

Thank you for the kind words. Inspired by the golden era of Bengal, during the reign of the Pala dynasty, an age of extraordinary advancement in culture, ITC Sonar pays homage to this great moment in history through its grand Pala period replica statues prominently celebrated in the lobby and the corridors.
Warm, efficient services, combined with the understated elegance of architect Kerry Hill’s minimalist design and an exquisite landscape featuring the lily studded water bodies inspired by Bengal’s picturesque ruralscape to which ponds are integral, contribute to an ambience which conveys an alluring sense of Kolkata’s many-layered cultural and historical legacies.

We look forward to your next stay at ITC Sonar.

Warmest regards
Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2012

Sonar is really Sonar (Gold)! Smiles and welcome right from the Airport (ITC Sonar Airport Representatives) to the doorman and to the Reception and to the room, makes one forget the flight and road journey. While Eden Pavalion provided the best spreads for breakfast by the courteous and smiling ladies and gentlemen looking after the guests, Darjeeling lounge is a feather in the cap.
Management has to be complimented for the excellent upkeep especially the numerous water bodies in the Hotel. It is no mean achievement to manage such a vast and good property which mostly spreads horizontally.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ravi1603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ITCSONAR, Hotel Management at ITC Sonar, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2012

Dear Valued Reviewer,

Warm Greetings from ITC Sonar, Kolkata!

Thank you for the appreciative note. We at ITC Sonar are committed to providing you world class facilities backed by courteous and efficient services. Our staff is trained to render exemplary and personalized service and our endeavour at all times is to provide our guests with a “Home away from home experience”

Look forward to your next stay with us.

Warmest regards
Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kolkata (Calcutta) hotels
3.2 mi away
The Oberoi Grand
The Oberoi Grand
#2 of 235 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
2,167 reviews
0.3 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Kolkata
JW Marriott Hotel Kolkata
#4 of 235 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
544 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata
The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata
#1 of 235 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
1,918 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kolkata
Hyatt Regency Kolkata
#11 of 235 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
1,333 reviews
4.1 mi away
Taj Bengal Kolkata
Taj Bengal Kolkata
#5 of 235 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
1,937 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Park Kolkata
The Park Kolkata
#14 of 235 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
1,981 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ITC Sonar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ITC Sonar

Address: Haldane Avenue, Kolkata (Calcutta) 700046, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > West Bengal > Kolkata District > Kolkata (Calcutta)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#2 Family Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#3 Luxury Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#3 Spa Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Price Range: $146 - $404 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — ITC Sonar 5*
Number of rooms: 238
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your ITC Sonar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Itc Sonar Hotel Kolkata (Calcutta)
Itc Hotel Kolkata
ITC Sonar India/Kolkata (Calcutta), Asia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing