We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Lilly Pond” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of ITC Sonar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
ITC Sonar
Ranked #4 of 217 Hotels in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Certificate of Excellence
Noida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The Lilly Pond”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2011

ITC Sonar is always special. Its Lilly Pond with water lilies and with fish playing inside with gay abundance is always a relaxing site. The staff are very hospitable and I would go at length to make you feel at home.
ITC properties, specially ensures that their guests get a good night sleep. This is the most important thing for me, since without a proper restful sleep, I would not be able to keep up with the grueling days schedule while travelling.

The Gym is well equipped and their food very authentic. I love to be there!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tech_Evangelist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ITCSONAR, Hotel Management at ITC Sonar, responded to this review, April 16, 2011
Dear our valued reviewer,

Warm Greetings from ITC Sonar, Kolkata!

Thank you for the recognition. The story behind ITC Sonar is very compelling – Bengal is the inspiration & ITC Sonar is ITC’s tribute to the City of Joy. Water is the very being of Bengal. Its food, fish comes from it. Love blossoms around the lakes. Even Goddesses are given fond farewells in the waters. Inspired by this, ITC Sonar consists of several reshaped water gardens that serve as the heart of the Hotel. ITC Hotels offers the discerning traveler traditional Indian hospitality combined with globally benchmarked services. “ Sleep like a baby” is one such, introduced at all ITC Hotels to ensure that those staying with us can attend to their business refreshed by sound sleep

We welcome you back to ITC Sonar to experience the warmth of luxury as ‘ Nobody gives you India like we do ‘

Warmest regards

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,657 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,179
    337
    76
    33
    32
See reviews for
239
135
145
1,011
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (411)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2011

My two recent stays at the Sonar have been great. Leave aside all the external splendour and glory...which is expected from an ITC class hotel. The service-starting from the moment one enters the hotel , the room , the food and the exit all are just great. What particularly impressed me is the very minute attention to details - in almost about everything in the hotel- finding your way into your room might be a little confusing since the property is sprawling but thats made up by some one assisting you to your room. The gym is great and the pool welcoming.Most importantly- its extremely good value for money for business travellers. Great place to stay during short family vacations. Keep up the class!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank amoorthy1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ITCSONAR, Hotel Management at ITC Sonar, responded to this review, April 4, 2011
Dear our valued reviewer,

Warm Greetings from ITC Sonar, Kolkata!

Thank you for the encouraging feedback. ITC Sonar is the first Business resort in the country. It captures the essence of Kolkata through its greenery and water gardens, full of floating water lilies. An ideal setting for business and at the same time a haven in a busy metropolitan city. Kaya Kalp – The Spa at ITC Sonar, spread over 15000 sq feet promises to rejuvenate your body, mind and soul while offering a delightful retreat from the pressing modern world.

Thank you for choosing ITC Sonar. We look forward to your next stay with us.

Warmest regards

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhubaneswar, India
Level Contributor
62 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2011

i have stayed there thirece , i have also stayed alsmost in every 5 star at kolkata but never had such a bad expereeince. we reached gtheir at moarning 5 o clock, we got in room at 9 am . and the staff were treating like they doing an obligation .

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank arvind19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ITCSONAR, Hotel Management at ITC Sonar, responded to this review, April 3, 2011
Dear our valued reviewer,

Warm Greetings from ITC Sonar, Kolkata!

Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us on Trip Advisor. We sincerely regret your reported experience and would request you to treat this as an isolated incident, and not let it mar your overall impression of ITC Sonar. We truly value your patronage, and would request you to give us another opportunity to excel. We have also shared your feedback with our team to enhance your next stay with us.

On behalf of the ITC Sonar family, we look forward to welcoming you back to our warmth and indigenous hospitality in the near future


Warmest regards

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haridwar, India
Level Contributor
142 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2011

The hotel is at a very convinient location from Airport and has excellant ambience. The rooms are very well laid with no disturbance from outside. The check in process was very smooth and took no time as it was done directly in the room itself. The staff at reception and house keeping was very efficient and met my expectations. The room had all the desired facilities needed for a comfortable stay. Over all experience was more than expected.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AK G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ITCSONAR, Hotel Management at ITC Sonar, responded to this review, April 4, 2011
Dear our valued reviewer,

Warm Greetings from ITC Sonar, Kolkata!

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us on Trip Advisor. We at ITC Sonar strive to deliver the best of services backed by courteous and efficient services. At a gastronomiqe plane, we offer the finest yet the most diverse cuisines in settings that would interest the modern yet also the more traditional connoisseurs of fine taste.
Indeed ITC Sonar promises to be full of little surprises. Sonnets of Seduction. Poetry in service. Tagore’s awakened land.
Much like Kolkata itself.

Warmest regards

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2011

Everything is perfect. Besides it is an Eco-friendly hotel.

  • Stayed April 2010
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Olivier L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ITCSONAR, Hotel Management at ITC Sonar, responded to this review, March 15, 2011
Dear our valued reviewer,

Greetings from ITC Sonar, Kolkata!

Thank you for endorsing ITC Sonar’s philosophy of ’Responsible Luxury’. As responsible corporate citizens, we recognize our commitment towards maintaining a greener and healthier environment. WelcomEnviron is our vision for a green world, a multi-faceted programme started in order to propagate environmental causes in the cities where ITC-hotels are located. The guiding principle is ‘Reduce, Reuse and Recycle’.

We look forward to your next stay with us.

Warm Regards

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2011

ITC Sonar is a very open, quiet and green hotel. Across my room in ITC One is the green lawn, bushes and water body. This gives a comfortable feeling and soothes the eyes. There is greenery even in space next to the wash rooms which again give a soothing comfort to the eyes. As the hotel is quite open we geta fresh air and good exercise for the body. Even in the spa it is full of greenery which is open all around.
The staff in general are very warma nd affectionate and are always eager to serve the gueats.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nvrajashekar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ITCSONAR, Hotel Management at ITC Sonar, responded to this review, March 29, 2011
Dear our valued reviewer

Greetings from ITC Sonar, Kolkata!!

Thank you for the lovely feedback. ITC Sonar embodies “Responsible Luxury” it is the first hotel in the world to be registered by UNFCCC for Carbon Emission Reductions. We are happy that our repertoire of services & facilities combined with the warm hospitality of our associates exceeded your expectations. ITC Sonar, A Luxury Business Hotel, provides guests with an experience, comparable with the world’s finest in a uniquely Indian, eco-friendly and secure environment, blending luxury with cutting edge technology and exceptional service. The hotel’s Food & Beverage brands collectively with Kaya Kalp – The Spa, deliver an overall superior and unmatched experience.

We look forward to your continued patronage.

Warmest regards

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2011

The hotel gives you a great sense of space everywhere - lobby, corridors, room/bathroom, spa... The food at the hotel is amazing, with all of ITC's signature restaurants - Peshawari, Dum Pukht, Pan Asian, West View. There was a winter barbeque night event happening at the hotel during my stay where dinner was served in the open in the hotel lawns next to water bodies. The ambiance was truly exceptional, and naturally it was very expensive! The decor of the hotel is simple and elegant and is true value for money. The health club is also good - the hotel has a well equipped gym, an outdoor swimming pool and a spacious spa.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rohit_85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ITCSONAR, Hotel Management at ITC Sonar, responded to this review, March 21, 2011
Dear our valued reviewer,

Warm Greetings from ITC Sonar, Kolkata!!

Thank you for the appreciative note. We are pleased to know that you have appreciated the services of the hotel and hospitality displayed by our associates. When we embraced the blueprints of ITC Sonar, we were mindful that in term of sheer architecture, we would embody the contradiction that is Kolkata. The story of ITC Sonar is very compelling. Architecturally designed by Kerry Hill & Associates of Singapore, it belongs in a collection of precedents, yet speaks for itself. It seeks to embody a special sense of place by referring to its past through suggestions and associations, rather than replications.
It would narrate a story. ITC Sonar is a pioneer in offering the best cuisine appreciated by true connoisseurs of the world. We have combined extensive research and the exceptional skills of our chefs to offer a variety of food & beverage promotions on a regular basis.

It gives me immense pleasure to welcome you back to the ITC Sonar experience.

Warmest regards

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kolkata (Calcutta) hotels
4.1 mi away
Taj Bengal Kolkata
Taj Bengal Kolkata
#2 of 217 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,724 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Oberoi Grand
The Oberoi Grand
#1 of 217 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,922 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata
The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata
#5 of 217 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kolkata
Hyatt Regency Kolkata
#9 of 217 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,194 reviews
6.4 mi away
Swissotel Kolkata
Swissotel Kolkata
#6 of 217 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,309 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Park Kolkata
The Park Kolkata
#17 of 217 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ITC Sonar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ITC Sonar

Property: ITC Sonar
Address: Haldane Avenue, Kolkata (Calcutta) 700046, India
Location: India > West Bengal > Kolkata (Calcutta)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#2 Business Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#3 Spa Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — ITC Sonar 5*
Number of rooms: 238
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood APAC, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your ITC Sonar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Itc Sonar Hotel Kolkata (Calcutta)
Itc Hotel Kolkata
ITC Sonar India/Kolkata (Calcutta), Asia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing