We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Does not meet expectations”
Review of The Park Kolkata

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Park Kolkata
Ranked #15 of 219 Hotels in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Guwahati, India
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Does not meet expectations”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Had stayed at The Park for a night recently. I am sorry to say the hotel does not meet the standards of a Five Star hotel. First impression - it took forty minutes to check in in spite of prior reservation ! This is way too long. About the decor , it is dark and dreary, though I suppose that's a matter of personal preference. Room service is poor and the front office/housekeeping phones are perpetually engaged. Mosquitoes in the room and it took an hour to get a repellent. Positives- excellent location and a very good buffet breakfast spread. Except for these, nothing really to recommend about The Park.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peekaygee4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PramodeB, General Manager at The Park Kolkata, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your stay and feedback.

We are disappointed to know that you have had a less than pleasant stay with us. We have noted down all your feedback and will be taking this up with the entire team.

We apologise for the inconvenience and request you to treat this in isolation.
We assure you a comfortable stay on your next visit.

Warm Regards,

Pramode Bhandari
Executive Manager
pbhandari@theparkhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,819 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    842
    524
    250
    122
    81
See reviews for
241
166
197
1,031
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (395)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
geneva
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013

the hotel is in a great location in the centre of the city. while i enjoyed the funky interior decoration, half of the rooms still await renovation so you have to ask for those in the renovated side. the nightclub downstairs meant it was relly pretty noisy and rowdy at the entrance. for me the restaurant was the highlight. Breakfast wasn't great but the evening meal in the cafe was great, we even ate there twice. Loved the welcome aperatif. Service was good

Room Tip: ask for the recently renovated rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katwinka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PramodeB, General Manager at The Park Kolkata, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your stay and feedback.

We are glad to know that you have enjoyed your stay at the hotel. We have noted your feedback regarding the rooms and the restaurant breakfast service and will share the same with our team.

We look forward to welcoming you again to The Park Kolkata!

Warm Regards,

Pramode Bhandari
Executive Manager
pbhandari@theparkhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guwahati, India
Level Contributor
27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013

The hotel is centrally located in the famous Park street of the city.The hotel has really nice interiors and rooms,as well as couple of good lounges.Service isgood,it also has a good cafe in the entrance and has overall good value for money.However the breakfast is average,not enough options as compared to other hotels of its stature.Room was awesome but lacked a view(facing an isolated corridor or so),overall a good option.

Room Tip: Ask for a complimentary upgrade(if possible) and a room facing the parking,pool or main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rhino_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PramodeB, General Manager at The Park Kolkata, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your stay and feedback.

We are delighted to know that your have enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for the kind feedback regarding your experience at our cafe, The Street. We will pass on your comments to the team.
We have noted your concerns about breakfast and assure you the same would be taken up with the management.

We look forward to welcoming you once again to The Park Kolkata and assure you of a comfortable stay on your next visit to the city!

Warm Regards,

Pramode Bhandari
Executive Manager
pbhandari@theparkhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guwahati, Assam, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2013

Whenever I am in Kolkata, which is at least once a month/two months, I always stay at The Park. It is value for money and more importantly, I am made to feel very welcome, Everything about the hotel is perfect. The only issue I had was during the breakfast at the coffee shop, which, was always a chaotic experience till recently. However, I am glad to note that the hotel management has even improved this area significantly and I don't have any complaints any longer.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Shankhadeep C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PramodeB, General Manager at The Park Kolkata, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your stay and feedback.

We are delighted to know that you have enjoyed your stays with us whenever you are in Kolkata and would like to thank you for the kind words.
We are happy to know that we were able to meet your expectations regarding our breakfast service. It is feedback from guests that helps us improve.

We look forward to welcoming you again to The Park Kolkata and thank you for your continued patronage.

Warm Regards,

Pramode Bhandari
Executive Manager
pbhandari@theparkhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 5, 2013 via mobile

We booked this hotel through an agency thinking it was one of the best in Kolkata, but realized it was far from that. The entire decoration of the hotel looks like a night club, apparently it has one inside that is popular in the city, but does not look look like a 5 star hotel. It doesnt have views or windows, no natural light what so ever. The rooms are very small and not well mantained, and they have a pretty strong smell that can be annoying. We asked for a change of rooms and after 1 hour of waiting we got someone to show us different rooms. The only rooms that didnt smell were located on top of the nightclub, and decoration there was even worse. This rooms are cleaner, at least.
The bridge restaurant, on the other hand, is not very nice and its a little dirty.
I would never recommend this hotel, there are much better options in Kolkata as well located as this one.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ffrraanncciissccaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PramodeB, General Manager at The Park Kolkata, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your stay at The Park Kolkata and your feedback.

Firstly, please accept my most sincere apologies for the inconvenience you faced during your stay with us.

It is very unfortunate that you did not like the décor and architecture of the hotel as it is one of the finest in the city and has been designed by Conran & Partners who are international landmarks in urban design & architecture.

You feedback has been shared with the team and we assure you a comfortable stay on your next visit.

Warm Regards,

Pramode Bhandari
Executive Manager
pbhandari@theparkhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013

I was upgraded to the club room. Upon entering the room, i was a bit disappointed looking at the room. It definitely did not give a 5 star feel and comfort. The interiors were old and the bathroom fittings were rusty. You don't expect that kind of thing in a 5 star. Enjoyed the Breakfast in the morning and fully equipped gymnasium. The service levels are much to be desired. You have to ask everything atleast 3-4 times and wait for long to get it. Not only they are exorbitantly expensive compared to the quality you get, but even the service is far from Average. Except the location, nothing is good as it appears on the site. Would definitely not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dipesh G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PramodeB, General Manager at The Park Kolkata, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your stay and feedback.

We are disappointed to know that you had a less than comfortable stay with us. We have noted all your feedback and would be taking up the same with our entire team. We apologise if we were not able to meet up to your expectations.

We request you to treat this in isolation and assure you that this is not the standard of The Park Hotels. We hope to welcome you again in the future and assure of an enjoyable stay.

Warm Regards,

Pramode Bhandari
Executive Manager
pbhandari@theparkhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Supposed to the best and most recommended hotel in Calcutta; however, kindly note my experience and decide before booking your stay.

1. Booked the Presidential Suite. Receptionist welcomes by saying that the perks mentioned in the hotel website (under presedential suite) is not applicable, since I booked through agent. I had to sternly correct her.
2. Booking the best room in the hotel, nobody escorts you to the room. Had to find your own way.
3. Wecome drink was not given - had to ask for it.
4. Wine bottle was not given - had to ask for it.
5. Happy hours was not given - Initially hotel denies the concept of "Happy Hours"; took 4 phone calls, to find someone who knew where it was, though snacks were not provided.
6. Website mentions Mercedes car airport- pickup/drop - Indigo was provided instead.

Reception staff was not at all friendly.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DrEugeneJacob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PramodeB, General Manager at The Park Kolkata, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent stay and feedback.

We are disappointed to know that you had a less than pleasant stay with us. We would like to apologise for the inconvenience you had to face and assure you that this is not the quality of service we are known for. We have noted down all your feedback and will be taking this up seriously with our entire team.

I request you to treat this incident in isolation and to allow us to serve you better on your next visit to the city. We look forward to welcoming you again to The Park Kolkata and ensure you a pleasant stay.

Warm Regards,
Pramode Bhandari
Executive Manager
pbhandari@theparkhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kolkata (Calcutta) hotels
1.0 mi away
The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata
The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata
#6 of 219 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 910 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Oberoi Grand
The Oberoi Grand
#1 of 219 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,006 reviews
1.6 mi away
Taj Bengal Kolkata
Taj Bengal Kolkata
#3 of 219 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Swissotel Kolkata
Swissotel Kolkata
#8 of 219 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,372 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kolkata
Hyatt Regency Kolkata
#11 of 219 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,233 reviews
0.8 mi away
Jameson Inn Shiraz
Jameson Inn Shiraz
#18 of 219 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Park Kolkata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Park Kolkata

Property: The Park Kolkata
Address: 17 Park Street, Kolkata (Calcutta) 700016, India
Location: India > West Bengal > Kolkata District > Kolkata (Calcutta)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#14 Luxury Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — The Park Kolkata 5*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Park, Kolkata, offers urban luxury at the best downtown location, which allows you to access the main commercial and entertainment districts of the city. Its rooms and suites are all lavishly furnished, offering exclusive services to guests, and is a popular destination for the young business traveler and those from the fashion and entertainment fraternity. Known for its exciting after hours entertainment, it is home to 4 nightlife destinations under one roof, which creates a buzz for itself around the country. Someplace Else – the British style pub with live bands every day of the week, Tantra - a 5000 sq ft international nightclub, Roxy – the cocktail bar & lounge and Aqua – the al fresco bar and dining option ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Expedia, Agoda, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Park Kolkata reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Park Kolkata Hotel Kolkata (Calcutta)
Park Hotel Kolkata
The Park Hotel Kolkata
The Park Kolkata India/Kolkata (Calcutta), Asia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing