We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best location”
Review of The Park Kolkata

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Park Kolkata
Ranked #15 of 221 Hotels in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best location”
Reviewed January 8, 2013 via mobile

The staff ate very helpful. We were upgraded to a suit. It was a fantastic room. I think they can improve in their breakfast.

Best location as everything is nearby. I will certaintly go back to this hotel and would like to thank Mr Dutta for his wonderful service

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shindyvij
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PramodeB, General Manager at The Park Kolkata, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent stay and valuable feedback!

Nothing gives me more pleasure than to note that you had an excellent stay with us and were really happy with the facilities and services at the hotel.

I did also note your feedback on the breakfast and I would want to assure you that we shall take corrective steps to bring about a complete change in it.

The entire team at Park Kolkata works together to ensure that each and every guest staying with us has a flawless and memorable experience. The feedback from you would work as a great boost for the whole team to strive and achieve higher standards of customer service and hospitality.

We look forward to your visit back to The Park Kolkata!

Warm Regards

Pramode Bhandari
Executive Manager
pbhandari@theparkhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,895 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    885
    546
    255
    124
    85
See reviews for
257
173
202
1,074
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (409)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Best thing about The Park: Location
Other good points:
- In general, friendly staff.
- Overall, clean room, but greater attention to detail required (clearing shower plug hole - not pleasant but its the small things that matter)
- Food in The Bridge restaurant was good

Points that make me question how this is a five star:
- 30 minutes to get food in the restaurant despite it not being that busy. Also, a bit pricey for what it was. (We also visited the Oberoi for lunch and food was better and same/less money with impeccable service). Plus it took an age to get the bill, such that one of us would always stay behind so the rest could go and get on with the day!
- Loud dance music played in reception at all times (why?!). Music matched the disco type decor so perhaps this was the idea but a good hotel can offer good music for a range of tastes without the need to play such music in areas where people will naturally be trying to congregate/meet/plan and also acclimatise.
- The pub/bar was a great space to relax after a day out but, again, the music was so loud that you struggled to hear the person next to you, let alone across the table. Think English pub at 5pm playing loud Prodigy. No need. Good range of beers stocked - perhaps if you drink enough you drown out the music?
- The Street cafe is a walk-through with snacks, not a cafe. And this is the main entrance to the hotel for a pedestrian - absolute madness.
- The room was decorated in black. I see that some people have called this hotel artistic/trendy which I agree if you look at the reception but do I need to feel like I'm sleeping in a gothic cave? No. The bedroom is for relaxation, what designer would choose black for this? (Plus the 'wardrobe' door was actually just metal chains that were supremely impractical, another case of a designer gone mad, who also doesn't actually have to USE their design).
- Noise from the swimming pool kept us awake.

Would I recommend this?
I wonder to whom. The actual hotel would suit a young group but they are not likely to pay the higher room/restaurant rate compared with other hotels. We were a family and don't think it was that suitable apart from literally a place to sleep - a five star hotel should offer more than this. So maybe its good for a business traveller who just needs a bed - but if that were the case I would suggest staying at the Kenilworth (where I have also stayed) as it is more peaceful (I have no affiliations with the Kenilworth!). If you want to go clubbing you can maybe go to The Park ;)

Room Tip: Get a suite for normal five star expectation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PramodeB, General Manager at The Park Kolkata, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent stay and comprehensive feedback!

It is indeed disappointing to note that we were not able to meet your expectation during your recent stay with us.

We are grateful to you for taking the time out and mentioning the issues faced in detail. This definitely gives us an opportunity to work on these mentioned areas of concern and make amends.

Thank you for the kind words about the friendliness of the staff at the hotel, and quality of food.

The entire team at The Park Kolkata joins me in assuring you that we shall certainly bring about a radical change, which would be evident during your next visit.

We look forward to your visit back to The Park Kolkata

Warm Regards

Pramode Bhandari
Executive Manager
pbhandari@theparkhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

I belong to Kolkata and had good previous impressions of The Park, hence decided to book it for my family in December for their trip. I even booked at the Park in New Delhi for the trip (review posted elsewhere)
It was evident that change had swept the hotel and previous impressions were not immune from their assault. I have listed some key aspects of our stay below:
1. arrival: formally greeted, swiftly ushered to our rooms. We had booked 3 premium rooms, 1 triple and 2 doubles and were surprised by the compact nature of the rooms. The triple barely accommodated a cot for the 3rd guest.
2. we had arrived upon a busy stint in the calendar (with pre Christmas activity brewing and a cricket test match between England and India attracting fair amount of attention) and this ensured the place was active and noisy. The rooms were suitably insulated from the noise except for a regular thudding of the walls from the busy pub/ lounge/ disco downstairs.
3. the decor can be defined as chique/ post modern/ pret... if you are enticed by bright lights illuminating uneven strews of plastic, steel and glittered dark marble, complimented by bright pink and red leathered upholstery, this may be the place for you.
4. The reception staff struggled to keep tab of the busy place and this resulted in delays. I would also agree with another reviewer who has observed that they found it easy to agree with their regulars (mostly airline personnel)
5. The reception appeared fairly noisy and (for some elusive reason) played fairly loud dance music
6. restaurants: we tried 'the bridge' and 'the street' during our stay (expecting a break from the 'curry' overwhelm). Both the venues struggled to cope with the busy stints.
eg. Bottled water was served after half an hour despite prompts. the salads did not appear fresh, and my family suffered the inevitable 'kolkata splutter', we also witnessed sporadic vocal protests about the service from the guests. The bar was well stocked despite the busy season and we had little to complain.
7. Room service: The staff was well versed in English, prompt and friendly.Do not expect freebies- we requested for a mobile charger and a pair of slippers and were promptly refused.
8. Parking: the management pointed out that they wouldn't allow our cars/ taxis to wait/ park!
9. Transfer to/ from rooms: 2 of the bags were broken, the bellboy was quick to dish out the quintessential Indian ''sorry sir'' and disappear.
10. The rock pub (Some place else) was a hit with the family. They churned out quality music and was attended in force by the 'barmy army'
11. Membership club: The reception offered us a form for their membership club (Preferred at the Park) and assured that they would tally the points for the stay upon check out. I was requested to apply as the bookings had been undertaken by me. Upon check out, I was informed that they will not be able to update the points as I had physically not stayed in the 3 rooms!
Summary: The Park benefits from it's prime location in the busy commercial hub of Park Street in Kolkata. The hotel ensures a decent service amidst a backdrop of glitz and activity. It would pass for a business hotel.
However the random decor, noise and 'out of breath' service does not allow for a relaxing stay. We also longed for a personal touch to the service/ hospitality. This has been highlighted in some of the other reviews.
It is safe to assume that we were not 'preferred at the park' and wouldn't return.

Room Tip: kindly consider alternate venues in the vicinity (including 3 and 4 star options) some of which are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank overlordoftherings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PramodeB, General Manager at The Park Kolkata, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent stay and comprehensive feedback!

It is indeed disappointing that we could not meet your expectations during your recent visit. It has been our continuous endeavor to ensure that each of our esteemed guests has an excellent experience while at The Park Kolkata. I do realize that we could have gone a long way in meeting up with your expectations.

I did take a note of the general delay in service mentioned by you and assure you that we are already putting measures and processes to ensure that no other guest faces the same issue.

The rooms and public area has been done by internationally reknowned designer Conran & Brothers and has a 360Degree design element. I apologise if the same was not to your taste.

The entire team at The Park Kolkata requests you for a visit back again and assures to exhibit changes and improvements.

Warm Regards

Pramode Bhandari
Executive Manager
pbhandari@theparkhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We stayed here for a couple of nights. The room was comfortable and a good size, but a bit worn. It was wedding season in India when we stayed, so both nights the room was throbbing with party noise. Probably management should have put their international customers on higher floors, so we could have been further from the festivities. The staff at the hotel was very friendly and constantly asking what we needed. However, they often failed to follow through. For example, we asked for hand towels twice, but they never arrived. I cannot say anything about the cost of the room, as it was part of a package tour.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank greenjulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PramodeB, General Manager at The Park Kolkata, responded to this review, July 13, 2016
Dear Guest

We are sorry to note that your stay was less than satisfactory.

We do hope you give us another chance to serve you better. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm Regards

Pramode Bhandari
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shillong, India
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Park Hotel is a home away from home, the staff here make you feel so comfortable. The food is good and the amenities is just .... everything that you need. They even have special food for infants. For the ones that like to party, well its all in the house from live music to a nightclub....

Room Tip: rooms on the south are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Williamonly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PramodeB, General Manager at The Park Kolkata, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent stay and valuable feedback.

It is indeed a pleasure to note that you had a memorable experience and that you enjoyed every bit of your stay with us.

This encouraging feedback from such an esteemed guest would go a long way in motivating the entire team at The Park Kolkata to further excel and ensure that each and every guest has an equally memorable stay.

Thank you for your kind words and we sincerely hope to have you very soon back with us at The Park Kolkata.

Warm Regards
Pramode Bhandari
Executive Manager
pbhandari@theparkhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012

we spent two nights in Park hotel. the hotel is suitable for business traveller. The staff cannot hope with the amount of people during the breakfast. The staff could not cope with the order for coffee or tea. We waited a 30 minutes for the food and despite asking the staff two or three times.The breakfast room was noisy and is not pleasant to have early morning breakfast.In the evening, when you want to leave the hotel its crowded with a lot of people trafficking in and out.Its not up to the five star.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sivalingamsingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PramodeB, General Manager at The Park Kolkata, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent stay and valuable feedback!

It is indeed disappointing to note that we could not meet your expectations during the recent visit to The Park Kolkata.

The feedback about the breakfast is being closely looked into. I would want to assure you personally to we would ensure to bring about changes hence avoiding any guest discomfort.

The Park Kolkata, is located right in the Heart of the City, and we have one of the best known Food and Beverage options in the city, which makes it a very famous place amongst the people of Kolkata too, hence we have a lot of elite guests who do grace by their presence at the hotel.

The entire team joins me in welcoming you back to The Park Kolkata.

Warm Regards

Pramode Bhandari
Executive Manager
pbhandari@theparkhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2012

The Park is the luckiest of all in Kolkata to boast of an excellent location, Park Street.
The sales staff is very competitive and understood my requirement very well. I must mention the weekend parties of The Park - they are just too special....
Excellent food and good service.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vishwesh1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PramodeB, General Manager at The Park Kolkata, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent stay and valuable feedback!

Nothing gives us more pleasure than knowing that our esteemed guests had a memorable experience while staying with us at The Park Kolkata.

Thank you for your kind words about the food and the Food & Beverage outlets. This comment would really help my entire team to work further towards guest satisfaction and ensure that each guest has an equally memorable stay.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to The Park Kolkata.

Warm Regards

Pramode Bhandari
Executive Manager
pbhandari@theparkhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kolkata (Calcutta) hotels
0.5 mi away
The Oberoi Grand
The Oberoi Grand
#1 of 221 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
2,055 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata
The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata
#2 of 221 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
1,354 reviews
1.6 mi away
Taj Bengal Kolkata
Taj Bengal Kolkata
#5 of 221 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
1,858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kolkata
Hyatt Regency Kolkata
#11 of 221 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
1,268 reviews
7.9 mi away
Swissotel Kolkata
Swissotel Kolkata
#9 of 221 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
1,442 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Peerless Inn
The Peerless Inn
#22 of 221 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Park Kolkata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Park Kolkata

Property: The Park Kolkata
Address: 17 Park Street, Kolkata (Calcutta) 700016, India
Location: India > West Bengal > Kolkata District > Kolkata (Calcutta)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#14 Luxury Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — The Park Kolkata 5*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Park, Kolkata, offers urban luxury at the best downtown location, which allows you to access the main commercial and entertainment districts of the city. Its rooms and suites are all lavishly furnished, offering exclusive services to guests, and is a popular destination for the young business traveler and those from the fashion and entertainment fraternity. Known for its exciting after hours entertainment, it is home to 4 nightlife destinations under one roof, which creates a buzz for itself around the country. Someplace Else – the British style pub with live bands every day of the week, Tantra - a 5000 sq ft international nightclub, Roxy – the cocktail bar & lounge and Aqua – the al fresco bar and dining option ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your The Park Kolkata reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Park Kolkata Hotel Kolkata (Calcutta)
Park Hotel Kolkata
The Park Hotel Kolkata
The Park Kolkata India/Kolkata (Calcutta), Asia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing