We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most comfortable stay in calcutta”
Review of The Park Kolkata

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Park Kolkata
Ranked #14 of 235 Hotels in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Park Hotel is a home away from home, the staff here make you feel so comfortable. The food is good and the amenities is just .... everything that you need. They even have special food for infants. For the ones that like to party, well its all in the house from live music to a nightclub....

Room Tip: rooms on the south are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Williamonly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PramodeB, General Manager at The Park Kolkata, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent stay and valuable feedback.

It is indeed a pleasure to note that you had a memorable experience and that you enjoyed every bit of your stay with us.

This encouraging feedback from such an esteemed guest would go a long way in motivating the entire team at The Park Kolkata to further excel and ensure that each and every guest has an equally memorable stay.

Thank you for your kind words and we sincerely hope to have you very soon back with us at The Park Kolkata.

Warm Regards
Pramode Bhandari
Executive Manager
pbhandari@theparkhotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,988)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,624 - 1,630 of 1,988 reviews

Reviewed December 28, 2012

we spent two nights in Park hotel. the hotel is suitable for business traveller. The staff cannot hope with the amount of people during the breakfast. The staff could not cope with the order for coffee or tea. We waited a 30 minutes for the food and despite asking the staff two or three times.The breakfast room was noisy and is not pleasant to have early morning breakfast.In the evening, when you want to leave the hotel its crowded with a lot of people trafficking in and out.Its not up to the five star.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sivalingamsingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PramodeB, General Manager at The Park Kolkata, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent stay and valuable feedback!

It is indeed disappointing to note that we could not meet your expectations during the recent visit to The Park Kolkata.

The feedback about the breakfast is being closely looked into. I would want to assure you personally to we would ensure to bring about changes hence avoiding any guest discomfort.

The Park Kolkata, is located right in the Heart of the City, and we have one of the best known Food and Beverage options in the city, which makes it a very famous place amongst the people of Kolkata too, hence we have a lot of elite guests who do grace by their presence at the hotel.

The entire team joins me in welcoming you back to The Park Kolkata.

Warm Regards

Pramode Bhandari
Executive Manager
pbhandari@theparkhotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2012

The Park is the luckiest of all in Kolkata to boast of an excellent location, Park Street.
The sales staff is very competitive and understood my requirement very well. I must mention the weekend parties of The Park - they are just too special....
Excellent food and good service.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vishwesh1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PramodeB, General Manager at The Park Kolkata, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent stay and valuable feedback!

Nothing gives us more pleasure than knowing that our esteemed guests had a memorable experience while staying with us at The Park Kolkata.

Thank you for your kind words about the food and the Food & Beverage outlets. This comment would really help my entire team to work further towards guest satisfaction and ensure that each guest has an equally memorable stay.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to The Park Kolkata.

Warm Regards

Pramode Bhandari
Executive Manager
pbhandari@theparkhotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2012

I really enjoyed my stay at this hotel. The rooms are clean and comfortable. The hotel, though quite old now, still feels fresh and has a good design. The best thing about this place is its location: its slap bang in the middle of the vibey part of the city. You step out of the hotel and you are instantly plunged into the melee that is Kolkata.
It has a nice pool. The restaurant is good with a great selection and quality of food.
There are 2 bars in the hotel itself, one of which hosts live bands every night of the week with some of Kolkata's finest musicians regularly playing there.
There are also 3 bars next door.
The staff are friendly and helpful and the rates are reasonable (for an expensive hotel)

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nckog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PramodeB, General Manager at The Park Kolkata, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent stay and valuable feedback.

It is indeed a pleasure to note that we were able to meet your expectations during your recent stay with us. Undoubtedly "The Park" has many Food & Beverage options and they are definitely the best that the "City of Joy" can offer.

We would love to have you at our poolside alfresco "AQUA" on your next visit and we assure you that it would be even more memorable.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to The Park Kolkata

Warm Regards

Pramode Bhandari
Executive Manager
pbhandari@theparkhotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2012

Give this one a miss grossly overpriced both food and drink. Service with a smile but not much else, they could not cope with the amount of people there. Breakfast choice very bad you had to wait about 15mins for one cup of coffee. Its certainly not a 5 star hotel and the reception staff never had an answer or explanation of random overpricing, then on booking out tried to charge us another night. Give this one a miss

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yvonne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PramodeB, General Manager at The Park Kolkata, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent stay and valuable feedback

Please accept my sincere apologies for all the inconvenience caused to you during your recent stay with us.

I have taken the liberty to share your valuable feedback with all my colleagues. We are looking into all the issues caused very minutely and would immediately instigate corrective action, hence would ensure that no guest in future ever faces any such problems.

Since your rooms were booked till a day prior hence a request of paying an additional night was made. However I am definite that on disputing, it would have been immediately waived off.

Request you to kindly allow us the privilege of having you at The Park Kolkata once more and hence give us another opportunity to exhibit the changes and improvements.

Looking forward to your visit.

Warm Regards
Pramode Bhandari
Executive Manager
pbhandari@theparkhotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

This is a boutique style hotel in a central location of the city. I prefer more traditional hotels but price was a factor for my stay so stayed here. Staff OK, but was never made to feel a valued guest in a 5* Hotel (which it is not !). Even the room was OK and the bed was comfortable which for me is a real plus as I need it just right. THe main problem was the noise. One side of the hotel is located above the nightclub which clearly has no soundprooifing and the bass echoed through the building to the extent that my toiletries on the bathroom shelf could be seen to move ! I was on the 4th floor - god knows how bad it must have been on lower floors. This goes on EVERY day until 2am. If you like ultra loud house music it's perfect - if you don't avoid.
ps Having read all the views on TA about this place all those scoring 3 and below are a much more honest reflextion of this place than the higher scores. Mmmmmm !

Room Tip: Ask for a room not above the nightclub !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brillinsing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PramodeB, General Manager at The Park Kolkata, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent stay and valuable feedback.

It is indeed disheartening to note that we could not meet your expectations during your recent stay with us, and we sincerely apologize for all the inconvenience caused to you.

We assure you that we are looking into the feedback in detail and the issues faced by you would be addressed with immediate effect.

We sincerely request you to allow just another chance of being at service and exhibit the remarkable changes that have been implemented post your feedback.

Assuring you a comfortable stay in future and looking forward to your stay.

Warm Regards
Pramode Bhandari
Executive Manager
pbhandari@theparkhotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Worse ever. Avoid it like the plague ! Terrible service all around hotel, very poor breakfast selections, always running out of juice, fresh fruit and other items. Extortionate prices compared to other local hotels and bars/ restaurants. Staff provided in the Chinese restaurant 2 different menus with 2 different prices - trying to get us to pay the more expensive one with no explanation. Poolside is positioned where the sun doesn't shine on it and the pool is freezing. Awful internal design with lots of soft lighting masking numerous different floor levels and very easy to trip and fall over. And finally to add insult to injury staff tried to charge us an extra days stay without explanation or apology. Never any manager on site to make your complaint issues too. Truly terrible. Never coming back. At least England won the Third Test so trip not totally spoiled ! Y

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PramodeB, General Manager at The Park Kolkata, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent stay and valuable feedback!

It is indeed disappointing to note that we were not able to meet your expectations during your recent visit to The Park Kolkata. We as a team try to ensure that each esteemed guest staying with us has a memorable experience and we are able to exceed guest expectations. From your recent stay and comment it is very evident that we could have done lot more to ensure a comfortable stay.

Our Oriental Restaurant ZEN indeed has two separate menu, however it is for 2 completely different cuisines. One is for Thai and Chinese and the other one is for Japanese and hence based there is certainly a difference of costing for both the menus.

Apologies once again for the inconvenience caused at the point of departure for the request of paying an additional night. It was just because the room was booked over for the next day too and hence an early departure was requested to be paid. However I am definite that on disputing, it would have been immediately waived off.

We assure you that we would work towards the scope of improvements mentioned by you and shall bring a complete turn around in our services.

Looking forward to your visit.

Warm Regards

Pramode Bhandari
Executive Manager
pbhandari@theparkhotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kolkata (Calcutta) hotels
1 mi away
The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata
The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata
#1 of 235 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
1,974 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Oberoi Grand
The Oberoi Grand
#2 of 235 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
2,183 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Peerless Inn
The Peerless Inn
#31 of 235 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata
Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata
#20 of 235 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
597 reviews
1.6 mi away
Taj Bengal Kolkata
Taj Bengal Kolkata
#5 of 235 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
1,946 reviews
7.9 mi away
Swissotel Kolkata
Swissotel Kolkata
#7 of 235 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
1,666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Park Kolkata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Park Kolkata

Address: 17 Park Street, Kolkata (Calcutta) 700016, India
Location: India > West Bengal > Kolkata District > Kolkata (Calcutta)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#14 Luxury Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Price Range: $130 - $852 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Park Kolkata 5*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Park, Kolkata, offers urban luxury at the best downtown location, which allows you to access the main commercial and entertainment districts of the city. Its rooms and suites are all lavishly furnished, offering exclusive services to guests, and is a popular destination for the young business traveler and those from the fashion and entertainment fraternity. Known for its exciting after hours entertainment, it is home to 4 nightlife destinations under one roof, which creates a buzz for itself around the country. Someplace Else – the British style pub with live bands every day of the week, Tantra - a 5000 sq ft international nightclub, Roxy – the cocktail bar & lounge and Aqua – the al fresco bar and dining option ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Park Kolkata reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Park Kolkata Hotel Kolkata (Calcutta)
Park Hotel Kolkata
The Park Hotel Kolkata
The Park Kolkata India/Kolkata (Calcutta), Asia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing