We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Continental Guest House
Ranked #197 of 334 Kolkata (Calcutta) B&B and Inns
Malda, India
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Nice place to stay”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Entrance is a bit weird.But the rooms of the hotel is clean.They provide towels to use but they don't provide soaps.Behavior of the Manager & attendance is good.Both the adults need ID Proof.PAN Card is not accepted.Bed is comfortable.Shortly nice hotel to stay though the room are not spacious.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
1 Thank Subhojyoti S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    16
    9
    8
    25
See reviews for
7
13
24
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hyderabad
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed March 30, 2013

hotel continental was extremely satisfying as they even offered me free of cost in rescheduling my dates. overall its excellent budget hotel in kolkata and worth for money. next time i would prefer to stay in the same hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
Thank Srinivasulu M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013

It is pretty much in the best place of the city and definitely a very good value for money.
Do remember, it is a low cost hotel so things are pretty much according to low cost only.
All the important business places are very by to the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
Thank Anil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhubaneshwar
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

The double room which i had is too small, apart from the bed there isn't any real space to keep the luggage.
The bath room was not having a heater or a mirror.
The bed was having a smell of kerosene, which is of the disinfectant they used.
The cable connection was not working.
The good thing is that,its close to park street.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
Thank Joe F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
1 review
Reviewed February 21, 2013

well i have been to this hotel several times and there is no doubt about the services and the location being exceptionaly good.one of the best budget hotels in the surrounding.markets ,transportation makes it a easy and comfortable hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
Thank Asif A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jagjit S, Owner at Continental Guest House, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear Mr Asif
We appreciate your valued comments from the bottom of our heart. In fact it makes us all the more committed to serve you even better in the future. Looking forward to see you soon.
Thanking you
Your's sincerely
Jagjit Singh Komal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata
1 review
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Reliable: when i come to kolkata i prefer to stay at the continental guest house. Ive been staying there whenever i come to kolkata, since 1994. Ive stayed at other places in the sudder street area also, however i prefer the continental where i feel safe and sound. the staff are helpful and completely trustworthy. its a nice break from the usual chaos of India travel. rooms are clean and the bathrooms are always very well kept. It says in the lonely planet guide that there is only one common bathroom, however this should be updated since there are now 2 toilets and 2 showers for the common bath hotel rooms. the owner is quite knowledgeable about the area and has helped me out when i need directions or require a taxi to the airport. room prices are reasonable. so i recommend the continental when staying in kolkata.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jagjit S, Owner at Continental Guest House, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear Mr Ian
We thank you for your warm and kind remarks. It is the love and affection of people like you that makes our ordinary and simple guest house into a special one. It has been a pleasure and honor to serve you for almost two decades and will always look forward to make you feel at home when ever you are in Kolkata.
Thanking you
Your's sincerely
Jagjit Singh Komal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

Terrible experience. Stayed there for 2 nights. The staffs behaved aloof. Never changed old bedsheet on second day morning. When we asked to change a dirty blanket they simply said they can't as there are no more blankets instead they gave us a white bedsheet and asked us to adjust. Never clean the bathroom. The list is on and on and on.

Moreover when we ask them if we can keep our luggage for an hour after checkin so that we can quickly grab a lunch they simply demanded Rs. 20 per luggage per hour!!!

Location wise it's good. If you are planning to come to this area if Calcutta then better you come and book the rooms yourself in person. There's no need to book them online as there's a plethora of guest houses in this area. The room in which we stayed were stinky and filthy. And they charged us 850 per room. Absolutely nonsense.

The foreign tourists has no idea about prevailing market rates and businesses like these are takin advantage of their lack of information.

In one word just chose something else than this hotel. None of the hotel staffs shows up but as we were leaving those shameless morons asked for tip! I denied it with a straight face. I had enough.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank aringhosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jagjit S, Owner at Continental Guest House, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Mr Arin
I don't know what compelled you to write such false comments. To put the facts right, you stayed in room no 6 at our guest house and I give an open invitation to everybody reading this response to come and judge the facts for themselves. In fact number of good reviews written are from the guests who have stayed in that room !!! Secondly You were given almost new blankets and one of them had a small spot on it but mind it, it was not dirty still we gave you a fresh double bed sheet . Please don't distort the facts, we don't charge Rs 20/- per hour for the luggage , we charge it for the whole day but my manager still agreed to keep it without any charge for you. Lastly the waiter who took all your luggage all the way down to the main road and put it in a taxi and in return if the poor guy wished for a paltry tip, you call him a shameless moron !!!. Well I need not say anything about you because your comments amply reflect your personality.
Thanking you
Your's sincerely
Jagjit Singh Komal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kolkata (Calcutta) hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kolkata (Calcutta) hotels
7.9 mi away
East Palace Hotel
East Palace Hotel
#180 of 221 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
24 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ashreen Guest House
Ashreen Guest House
#94 of 334 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
71 reviews
11.7 mi away
Vedic Village Spa Resort
Vedic Village Spa Resort
#19 of 221 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Oberoi Grand
The Oberoi Grand
#1 of 221 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
2,026 reviews
5.7 mi away
The Hotel Avisha
The Hotel Avisha
#47 of 221 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
94 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata
The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata
#5 of 221 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
1,087 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Continental Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Continental Guest House

Property: Continental Guest House
Address: 30A Mirza Galib St | Entrace Sudder Street, Kolkata (Calcutta) 700016, India
Location: India > West Bengal > Kolkata District > Kolkata (Calcutta)
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #197 of 334 B&Bs / Inns in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Continental Guest House 1*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is a budget guest house with attached and shared toilet rooms. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Continental Guest House India/Kolkata (Calcutta), Asia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing