We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Continental Guest House
Ranked #197 of 343 Kolkata (Calcutta) B&B and Inns
New Delhi, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“nice experience”
Reviewed November 11, 2012

i keep going to kolkata, hv seen many hotels but then i found this guest house on net so i gave it a thought n went there..
aftr that i have been there for 3 times.. n will stay if i will go to kolkata..
cheap tariff and rooms are good.. nearby metro station..
so nice place to stay..

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vipulchauhan7040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jagjit S, Owner at Continental Guest House, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear Mr Vipul
We appreciate your review from the bottom of our heart. Thank you very much. We will be more than happy to serve you whenever you in kolkata. Looking forward to see you soon.
Thanking you
Your's sincerely
jagjit Singh Komal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    16
    9
    8
    25
See reviews for
7
13
24
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ahmedabad, India
1 review
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Its really value for money really it was a nice stay for me there. I will be back to this place whenever i am in kolkata again.. Mr.Singh the owner was really really a decent person with a very good personality .. thank you sir

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edwin426
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jagjit S, Owner at Continental Guest House, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear Mr Edwin
Thank you for such a sweet review. I wish you all the best for your future. God bless you.
With warm regards
Jagjit Singh Komal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
1 review
Reviewed October 25, 2012

I reached Kolkata on Durga Pooja occasion and found that there is no entrance for the travelers as major economy hotels got closed the booking for new comers. Thanks to Continental guest house for a superb hospitality with a economic tariff and amenities. Its on the heart of Kolkata and welcoming you for your "trip to Kolkata"................

Very nice...
Thanks to Continental Guest house for the hospitality with affordable price.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
Thank anupam_broy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jagjit S, Owner at Continental Guest House, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear Mr Anupam
We really appreciate and thank you for your invaluable review. I admire the way you write. It will always be a pleasure for us to serve you whenever you come to Kolkata. Looking forward to see you soon.
Thanking you
Your's sincerely
Jagjit Singh Komal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guwahati, India
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

We stay this hotel 19th to 21 September, for our own Travel Industry business, we book A/c with double bad. Room clean, Bath room Clean only one thing is Small room, but cheap and affordable because Rs.999 A/c room. Service no need for us so we don't no about service location is very good nearest new market.

Room Tip: A/C Room with Double Bad
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AnkYatraTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jagjit S, Owner at Continental Guest House, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Dear Sir
Thank you for your invaluable review. We will make sure that you get a much bigger room on your next visit. Looking forward to serve you better.
Thanking you
Your's sincerely
Jagjit Singh Komal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012

The place was padlock closed at night . We had to shout so the owner open the padlock. he complaint and at 2 in the morning told us we couldn't have one room for both but had to rent two rooms! There were people sleeping in the corridors, the bathrooms were filthy.
Next day I left.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GuilleNiebla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jagjit S, Owner at Continental Guest House, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Dear Sir
We appreciate your valuable comments because it makes us aware of the problems guests face and at the same time it makes us aware that how unaware foreigners are about the normal norms and conditions that prevail this side of the world as padlocking the gate at night is a normal norm for all the budget guest houses here which means you are secured. It is a normal norm to call the staff to open the gate especially when it is 2AM at mid night, sorry you had to shout.. Being an Indian it doesn't make me any proud to say that for security reasons we are reluctant to give room to foreigner with Indian as for bad experiences many foreigners have had in the past.And lastly one should be mentally prepared when he books a shared toilet room that it not possible to find the common bathrooms clean all the time not because of lack of cleanliness but because of lack of civic sense which I am afraid is very poor in this part of the world.
I wish I could make your experience better.
Your's sincerely
Jagjit Singh Komal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kolkata (Calcutta) hotels

Mumbai
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2012

I have written this review sitting in room no. 2 of this guest house. In a bustling and noisy street dotted with hotels, guest houses and assorted stay options, this is one of the shabbiest and most ill kept places in the Sudder St. area. I had paid for 4 nights, but I am checking out to shift to another place after just 1, having spent an anxious night with bed-bugs and sundry insects roaming freely on the bed.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank amitabha_singh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jagjit S, Owner at Continental Guest House, responded to this review, August 25, 2012
Dear Mr Amitabha
You posted this review on 17th of august while sitting in the room !!!! Sir for your information you checked out on 13th of august. When inquired by our staff regarding your check out you had very politely said that the propose for which you had come to kolkata had fell through that is why you are checking out. Its quite intriguing that of all the people bed bugs chose only you to bite !!! cause from the day you checked out there is not a single complaint about bed bugs from the room you stayed in and what is more intriguing is that inspite of all this you did not complain to the manager or any staff !!!! they were completely taken by surprise by your comments. Its seems that you were more interested in badmouthing us rather than resolving the issue if there was any in the first place. Sad really sad.
Yours sincerely
Jagjit Singh Komal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhubaneswar, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2012

I booked This hotel through Cleartrip.com .I visited in April and June 2012 .It is better in tariff n best in service. rooms r clean n neat. The staff r very co operative.Hotel Situated in a good shopping Area .Very near to METRO station n many more important Place.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bhabagrahi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jagjit S, Owner at Continental Guest House, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Dear Mr Bhabagrahi
Thank you for your kind words. It was a good experience for us also whenever you have stayed with us. Hope you are doing well. All the best.
Regards
Jagjit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kolkata (Calcutta) hotels
7.9 mi away
East Palace Hotel
East Palace Hotel
#188 of 224 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
24 reviews
5.7 mi away
The Hotel Avisha
The Hotel Avisha
#47 of 224 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
96 reviews
11.7 mi away
Vedic Village Spa Resort
Vedic Village Spa Resort
#20 of 224 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Oberoi Grand
The Oberoi Grand
#1 of 224 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
2,068 reviews
3.5 mi away
Tatvam Residency
Tatvam Residency
#17 of 224 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
277 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata
The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata
#2 of 224 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
1,460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Continental Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Continental Guest House

Property: Continental Guest House
Address: 30A Mirza Galib St | Entrace Sudder Street, Kolkata (Calcutta) 700016, India
Location: India > West Bengal > Kolkata District > Kolkata (Calcutta)
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #197 of 343 B&Bs / Inns in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Continental Guest House 1*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is a budget guest house with attached and shared toilet rooms. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Continental Guest House India/Kolkata (Calcutta), Asia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing