We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very good hotel in Kolkata”
Review of Jameson Inn Shiraz

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Jameson Inn Shiraz
Ranked #17 of 224 Hotels in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 22, 2014

We have stayed two nights at this hotel in January'14
When you enter to the hotel a very nice and safety ambience meet you.
The rooms are very clean and funitures in the hotel are very nice.
The breakfeast is realy excellent,you can find very rich international and Indian breakfast. Dinner is same as well.

Thanks to Tulip Inn-Kolkata.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sule-istanbul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (347)
There are newer reviews for Jameson Inn Shiraz
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

271 - 277 of 347 reviews

Reviewed February 7, 2014

Newish hotel in an old area of Kolkata. On Park Street, very near to main attractions.

Rooms were clean, comfortable and attractively decorated in brown and cream colours. Very good bed and choice of pillows. However, the fit out shows poor workmanship skills, and the use of poor quality fittings. The bathroom is starting to show signs of wear and tear. Waste water in the shower did not drain away fast enough, and began to flood the bathroom floor. We notified reception. Workmen were sent promptly to clear the blockage.

Exceptional breakfast foods in an attractive dining room. Varied selection of choices available, Indian and western. Something or everyone. Also had room service in each evening as we were unwell. Meals arrived in 20 minutes - hot and delicious.

All hotel staff were attentive, polite and welcoming.

Free wifi.

We were placed in room 201, which was at the front of the hotel facing the street. It was exceptionally noisy from car horns from very early morning until late evening.

Would definitely stay here again, but would request a room at the back of the hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms on the street are very noisy.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LRMcK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2014

[Note: Tulip inn has changed it's name to the Shiraz Hotel, although they haven't yet changed the sign. When booking online, it might be found under either of these names.]

Nice place. It's not great, amazing, or perfect, but it's nice.

I arrived from the airport rather late, at about 12:00am and the hotel almost appeared to be closed. The driver honked at the security guard, who then opened the gate for us and let us in. Most of the standard rooms seemed to be taken that night, so I was upgraded to a suite (the only one in the hotel, I'm told).

The room was massive. In fact, way too big for even two people. It included two washrooms, two TV's a sitting room, bedroom, and the enormous entrance and closet. It was in fine condition, but a little rough around the edges. The bed was great and the room temperature was fine.

Breakfast was served on the 1st floor (2nd floor for most other nationalities) and was mostly a mix of Indian and continental. I was feeling sick that day (not the hotel's fault) so I only took some fruits, The quality of everything was nice.

Staffs were nice and always asking if everything is ok, etc. They were especially helpful when getting a taxi to the airport (again) and ensuring that I pay "Indian price!" and don't get ripped off.

Next time I'm back in the city, I will probably stay here. Good location + breakfast + good staffs.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank manh_attan04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2014

Stay as usual was very good. Was travelling with my colleague hence had requested for twin rooms which was very well honoured. We checked in around midnight and it was very smooth. Got the room within 5 mins. Was very much eager to meet Prosenjit who is always available during breakfast but my bad couldn't meet him the 1st day. But yes, on the remaining 2 days did meet him. The breakfast spread as usual was good. But this time it was a bit disappointing. The spread was almost the same everyday. Not the same as last time when I had visited in June 2013. But still ok. Otherwise, rest of the stay was good. Will surely book Tulip Inn for future stays. :)

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Surajeet_P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2014

Stayed for couple of days on a business tour. My first impression was "Oh God" since the hotel is bang on the road and Kolkata roads and in particular Park street can be very very noisy. But to my delight the rooms are sufficiently sound proofed for a light sleeper like me. The check in was a breeze. With a show of an SMS, I was checked in and I was prompted by the staff to use the free WI-FI. Small but delightful gesture. The staff is brilliantly trained and there are no qualms about the designations. The room service was excellent. On ordering food, if they think you are over ordering, they recommend to scale the quantity down and provide excellent options. Not many places I have visited, provide that. They will go out of their way to assist. Courteous and warm would be an under statement to label the staff. The rooms are small but very neat and tidy. The food was good. the breakfast is a decent spread. Over all a good hotel to stay and definitely a strong recommend

Room Tip: Take the rooms that are not facing the Main rood. It can be very noisy
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dipesh G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2014

We stayed the Tulip inn for a day and the experience was good. The hotel is conveniently located with clean & cozy rooms. Park street and Victoria Memorial are close by. The staff is polite and prompt.

The breakfast buffet was sumptuous and with a good spread.

The lobby area on entry is slightly cramped though.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AbhayTilwankar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013 via mobile

The room was clean and cosy. Stayed there for two nights during my official meetings at Kolkata. The complimentary breakfast was satisfactory with not much of a variety. When I checked in, I was told that every morning they will refill new drinking water and coffee maker but to my surprise, they didn't do it at all.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
Thank VajrayanaMMXII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kolkata (Calcutta) hotels
1.7 mi away
The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata
The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata
#1 of 224 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
1,663 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Park Kolkata
The Park Kolkata
#14 of 224 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
1,938 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Peerless Inn
The Peerless Inn
#15 of 224 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Park Prime Kolkata
Park Prime Kolkata
#115 of 224 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
426 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata
Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata
#19 of 224 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
583 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Oberoi Grand
The Oberoi Grand
#2 of 224 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
2,109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jameson Inn Shiraz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jameson Inn Shiraz

Address: 56 Park Street, Kolkata (Calcutta) 700017, India (Formerly Tulip Inn Kolkata)
Phone Number:
Location: India > West Bengal > Kolkata District > Kolkata (Calcutta)
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#15 Best Value Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#16 Luxury Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Price Range: $63 - $209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Jameson Inn Shiraz 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cygnett Hotels is partaking in a bit of the joy in Kolkata. Jameson Inn Shiraz, the first hotel in India of the leading American budget hotel brand, 'Jameson Inn', stands grand and proud on Kolkata's veritable lifeline, Park Street. It is close to many of Kolkata's famous landmarks, the shopping havens, and business hubs. Business and leisure travellers alike will enjoy the advantages of its location complemented by the unmatched comfort of the accommodation, made possible by the exacting attention to the quality of every guest's experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Jameson Inn Shiraz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jameson Inn Shiraz India/Kolkata (Calcutta), Asia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing